We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design great location”
Review of Hotel Jules & Jim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jules & Jim
Ranked #140 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very nice concept for this small hotel. The location is very central and convenient. Great breakfast friendly and helpful staff at front desk. The rooms are Paris size but very comfortable. The Hi Macs rooms are really neat, fun bathroom with little balcony. Lots of great details. Also tried the "sous les toits" rooftop rooms. The view is wonderful but they are very small so only for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 352 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ahhh, this was one of the most beautiful boutique hotels I've stayed in. The space has a sophisticated cozy vibe to it. The interior is simple and funky at the same time. Very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The room was tiny, but I already expected that. We stayed in the main building. I loved everything about it, even the surrounding area and the proximity to metro stations.

I would definitely recommend staying there if you're into cozy little sophisticated hotels, but don't forget that breakfast isn't included and it's 18 euros for croissants and coffee, so I suggest you breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gastronomica_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the HiMacs rooms in Oct 2012, very cosy and comfortable rooms (they're small, but great layout and all amenities you need). Hotel staff was very helpful with restaurant bookings and friendly, breakfast is good with fresh fruit, warm bread, freshly squeezed juices and spreads. Good location within easy walking distance of the Louvre / Notre Dame. Saturday afternoon we had a drink in the small courtyard, lovely atmosphere. Beautifully designed hotel but at a fairly steep price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the first time that we stayed this hotel. All I have to say , what GREAT HOTEL it is!!! They gave us a beautiful and nice room. The reception guy that received us for the check in could not be better. He was very friendly and attentive. The facilities are great. The room was very neat and clean. The location is great and the neighborhood of Marais is beautiful. We had a GREAT STAY and some SUPERB days in this hotel!! Jules & Jim Hotel, thank you for all the attentions and for a wonderful stay in Paris!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPHEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay at Jules & Jim was ok’ish, there were positives and negatives aspects to our stay but overall I was a little disappointed having read some of the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor.

We didn’t receive a warm reception or even a smile during check-in but at least we were able to check in a couple of hours early.

Our room (72 - a HI MAC room) was the smallest hotel room I’ve ever stayed in, I couldn’t decide if it was cute or claustrophobic. I appreciate most hotels rooms in Paris are small and I’ve stayed in a fair few but this really was tiny. That said, it was nicely decorated although it didn’t have a mini-bar/fridge so couldn’t keep our drinks chilled.

The hotel provides Molton Brown amenities which is very nice but then they have two cheap plastic disposable cups wrapped in plastic (Best Western style) next to the sink which lowers the tone.

Annoying we couldn’t open any of the windows so we were effectively sealed in and wholly reliant on the air con to regulate the temperature. Also, the lights behind the white plastic walls flickered when we used the dimmer switch.

The hotel bar opens at 5pm which is annoying if you want a drink in the afternoon after shopping, but the guys working there in the evening were nice and friendly with a good selection of drinks available.

On our last day we returned to the hotel to wait 1/2hr or so for our taxi back to the train station, the receptionist asked if we would like some water which I thought was a nice touch. Well, until she asked us to pay 8 Euros for the two small bottles as we were about to jump in the taxi.

The location is good if you want to explore Le Marais but the street the hotel is on is a rather odd mix of mainly run down handbag wholesalers/retailers.

Clearly a very mixed review from me, perhaps we had a bad room/bad day but based on our experience I would struggle to recommend it to a friend, which is a shame as I really hoped to love this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ryanpa_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Jules et Jim for a long weekend and were not disappointed. It is a modern chic hotel where no expense seems to have been spared - nice touches like Molton Brown toiletries and a Loewe flat screen tv on the wall. The staff were very helpful and arranged things like dinner reservations without the usual irritation one can experience in other hotels. The hotel is very well positioned and you can easily walk into the St Jermain/Notre Dame area where there is plenty to see and do - including some surprisingly reasonable restaurants. We did say though that the best meal of the trip was in a place near the hotel as there are several local family run restaurants that cater for locals and the food was that bit better because of the fact that you are just outside of the tourist area. Our only negative for the J & J was that the breakfast was ridiculously over-priced for what it was (€18 a head) but you could easily take a 5 minute walk and get something nearby. That aside, this is a great place to stay and highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ianandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice hotel and good location, very close the the Arts et Metiers subway station. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The atmosphere of the room is very soothing thanks to the HI MAC concept (plastic walls lighted from behind). The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertrand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#61 of 1,804 in Paris
213 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#85 of 1,804 in Paris
230 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#20 of 1,804 in Paris
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel du Petit Moulin
Hotel du Petit Moulin
#391 of 1,804 in Paris
448 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#589 of 1,804 in Paris
47 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#396 of 1,804 in Paris
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jules & Jim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules & Jim

Address: 11 rue des Gravilliers | between Place des Vosges and Centre Georges Pompidou, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $224 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jules & Jim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing