We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not what it was told to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
Save
You added Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera to your Saves list
Ranked #1,726 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Noord-Brabant
1 review
“Not what it was told to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The website of the hotel promisses things you don't get. It says there is a private parking, a breakfast and no pets alowed. The first two things are absolute nonsense. There was no parking space whatsoever, and there was also no breakfast.
Then in the small reception there is a cat walking around. He fortunately doesn't come in any of the hotel rooms, but still, I think if you don't allow pets in your hotel you shouldn't have a cat walking around yourself.
Then one of the staff members was very unfriendly. This was not only our experience but from more of the guests we spoke to. He is unfriendly to everyone and not helpful at all.
The rest of the staff we spoke to were nicer, but this man makes the stay much less pleasant.
The rooms were clean and we even had a balcony (this is only on the top floor, the rest of the rooms has a french balcony you can't stand on). The only thing you could say is that they aren't very big, and tall people cant stand underneath the shower because it's not high enough. The last doesn't bother me though, because you don't spend a lot of time in the hotel. It's just a place to sleep and shower.
The location of the hotel is good. The metro is within a 5 minute walking distance, and there are shops and cafés within this area as well.
I recommend having breakfast in a place I don't remember the name of, it's on the corner of rue de montholon and rue de lafayette. It's really good and not expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    9
    15
See reviews for
8
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Ness, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Seemed to cheap to be true .... and it was, relatively good location. Looks okay from the outside but inside you can't help feeling its a bit dingy and hostel like. There is a computer with internet access, but it wasn't working when we were there. The room was meant to be a quad, but it was a triple with an extra bed, this meant that three of the beds were pushed right up next to each other. The mattresses were rock solid, we'd have been just as well of f sleeping on the floor. To make things worse, the room was an extremely weird shape, and there was nowhere to put things (e.g shelves, cupboards), although overall cleanliness was good. There is no mini bar, it is simply a fridge. The bathroom was tired and dated, and yet even it didn't serve it's purpose well, there was no shelve above the sink, only the brackets, and the shower was in the bath, but you couldn't have a bath because there was no plug or tap, all you could do was have a shower, with a loose hose (not fixed to the wall), but it wouldn't stretch far enough up to use standing. The street was very noisy outside, lots of scooters (although you do get that everywhere) and there was loud building works going on. There was a very good cafe/restraunt at the end of the street which is worth mentioning. The staff initially seemed a bit frosty but were always there to help, they did help and in the end were very friendly indeed. If you are looking for a boutique hotel this is not one, or the one for you, but if you are looking for something on a budget, that is clean and simple, this should do you fine. But I still wouldn't go back though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRACKER2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

I must say it's not the best hotel but not the worst one either. Those people who say it's the worst place in the world are wrong. Yes, the rooms are tiny and not so modern, but they're quite clean and comfortable. You're not going to stay at the hotel all day long, right?
We stayed there in april and the weather wasn't that great. At night it was veeery cold in the room, but i asked for an extra blanket and the staff gave it immediately. The staff was quite polite and friendly. The area is GREAT! it's well-situated and in general quite good.
We spend there 5 nights and it was ok for the price.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cold7an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC, USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Great location, metro closeby, multiple restaurants, bakeries, in the heart of Montmarte. Rooms small, doesnot seem to be 3 star hotel as reported, but nicely cleaned each day. Price reasonable, but not cheap compared to the size and luxury (lack of luxury)of the room. May be really hot in summar as no AC. Smell from all nearby bakeries inside the room, may not be able to keep the windows open. Staff extremely rude, they insist answering in French, although they do know and speak English. Last day, we were almost late for our flight as on call hotel manager refused to make more phone calls to find us a taxi claiming there was no available taxi in Paris at that time! He literally left the reception area not to deal with our taxi problem! Luckily, next door hotel manager I asked for help recommended us to walk to the nearest Taxi stop, where we were able to find one. I would recommend this hotel only for location if you don't care for anything else.

  • Liked — Great location, metro, taxi, bussto, restaurants, night life all closeby. You can go anywhere in Paris in 15 min.
  • Disliked — Staff rude, not helpful at all, internet not working as staff cannot find the right password!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StellaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Worst place in Paris!!!! I would never advise anyone to stay there even my worst enemy!!!! The rooms are a mess and the place is run by the owner who is not a customer friendly.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank barcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

It must be the most terrible place in Paris.
We booked the hotel by phone. Was waiting for confirmation for a week!
When we arrived, it was night already, but even though we found out that bed sheets were dirty, unchanged, stinky and wet! Towels at bathroom at least a week old. Room dirty, no cleaning, really stinky and nosy.
We decided to stay for a night as had no idea where to go and tired after a flight. We had to sleep dressed and with no cover. Next morning at 7 a.m. we came down to the reception to get money back (as paid for a week) and check-out. No breakfast was proposed, even we paid for. Nothing of the sort! The owner refused to return money, he was rude, said no apologies, didn't even try to fix problems. We was shocked and couldn't contadict and ask for any service as he "forgot" English. We had to invite police!!! But as we were foreigners, police guys gave an advise us not to get into official conflict. They were kind and helped with check out. We had to move to another hotel, having lost half of the day, money and nerves.
So, if you are going to Paris, stay away from that hotel.

  • Liked — N/a
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Katisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

The first night the hotel was booked out, so they put us in a 2 star hotel, Jeff hotel. For the understanding they gave us free breakfast, which was nice. The owner (I guess) is really nice, funny and friendly but now to the hotel, it is dirty and old (not only the building also the blankets and the furniture).

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank morena_del_sur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Bergere
Hotel Royal Bergere
#1,624 of 1,812 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Maxim Folies
Maxim Folies
#849 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#561 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Villa Opera Drouot
Villa Opera Drouot
#511 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Pavillon Opera Grands Boulevards
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#207 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera

Property: Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera
Address: 12 rue Geoffroy Marie | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,726 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geoffroy Maria Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Geoffroy Maria Opera Paris
Geoffroy Maria Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing