We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and dark access to the rooms”
Review of Hotel Clauzel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Clauzel
Ranked #1,563 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old and dark access to the rooms”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there because the price and location was ok for us but I do not recommend the hotel, the loft is very small, the room are very basic and the entrance to the rooms are not clean, old and dark.
During our nights there we can hear plp tall all night and sometimes do mot feel safe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    54
    77
    33
    33
See reviews for
46
93
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Understanding that I had chosen a budget hotel for a short stay, my expectations for Hotel Clauzel were pretty low. Unfortunately, even those expectations weren't met. The hotel met my basic expectations with regard to location and the staff, which is fine as long as you don't have to sleep there.

The Good:

Location - the location is actually not bad, within a few minutes walk to at least two Metro stops, and close to many restaurants and a couple good markets.

The staff - as others have said, the staff is cordial and as friendly as required, but not overly helpful.

Cleanliness - for an older, budget hotel, the rooms and the bathrooms are clean and well-kept.

The bad:

The rooms - the beds are old and uncomfortable, even by European budget hotel standards, with worn out linens and towels, many frayed and with stains.

The ugly:

One word: Noise - With budget hotels normally having no A/C, you usually have to choose between a stuffy, but quiet room or a noisy, but comfortable one. It didn't matter here. There was an unbearable amount of noise from both the halls and outside, windows open or closed. To make matters worse, a hotel supplier was making deliveries at 2 am right below and underneath us. As a note, the only room available was on the 1st (US 2nd) floor, so you might have better luck on higher floors, but considering the amount of noise, I doubt it.

The end result is that I can't recommend Hotel Clauzel unless you can't find any better option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronanderson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Clauzel was adequate for a two star hotel. It seemed dated, but it was clean. However, the mattress was very lumpy and the street was noisy in the morning. The metro was a bit of a walk away but there were restaurants nearby. The staff was very helpful and the free WiFi was useful. We'd probably look for other options next time, but for one night it was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel was disappointing.
The staff was cordial enough but not very friendly with extra advice on traveling the city.
The lift up is really small! It can fit 2 adults or 1 adult + 1 luggage. Do not attempt to take this life if you are claustrophobic! The ride up and down can be a little too slow.
The stairs were not any better. Narrow winding stairways that were dim even in the day.

The rooms were decent size. But felt really old and moldy.
The towels and linen were old and did not feel clean.
The shower area was really tiny! and dark. Water pressure from shower was decent.
There was a tv in the room with limited local channels.

I had a room on the 5th floor facing (what i presume) is the courtyard. There was zero view, as the windows were facing other windows. Making is a little uncomfortable to just leave the windows open.
When people talk outside, it can be very noisy.

It is a fair bit of walking from all the main attractions. And abt 15-20mins walk to the central train station.
There was alot of choices for food around this area. And also a supermarket nearby

This hotel was very touch and go. Alright for a one night stay on a budget. But i would not recommend this place nor will i return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our vacation in Paris. The hotel is located in a great place just 2 mins away from Notre-dame de lorette Metro station and 5 mins walk from Pigalle. Between these two stations you can cover and transfer with the whole metro network of Paris. There are a lot of places to eat and nice little cafes to spend some quality time on the street just around the hotel. It is in a 15 min walking distance to sacre coeur and a 8-10 min drive from the Paris Nord railway station. The rooms are small compared to north american hotels but it was clean and tidy and the linens were clean. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good. Overall we had a

Room Tip: Go for a room which does not have a window or balcony on the roadside to avoid noise in the night as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna_2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for a good location at a reasonable price, consider this small hotel. The rooms are small but adequate for those who are not spending much time in the room. After all, you are in Paris, why spend time in your room? There are fine cafes nearby and it is conveniently located to Metra lines. When we returned from Strasbourg and arrived at Gare de l'est, we transferred easily to the Metra and took the train to St. Georges. From there it was a short walk. If you travel rather light, then there is no need for a cab. We booked the rooms on Expedia so we were able to study the maps in advance to find our connections and walking directions. The hotel put out a fantastic breakfast, much better than some other stops we have made. The elevator is small and good for two, or one with luggage. If you can not negotiate the stairs, you may have a short wait for the elevator. I would consider this place again.

Room Tip: 1st floor up from the lobby would be a good idea so you are not dependent on the small elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihjtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is close to the subway (in fact there are 3 subway stations within walking distance). The room was a bit stuffy, as there was no AC, had to sleep with the windows wide open (consequently there were lots of mosquitoes and it was a bit noisy). Had some trouble with an order I had delivered at the hotel (bought Paris Museum Passes online) - staff simply had no idea if it had arrived or not, even though I sent an e-mail before placing the order to make sure they would receive and keep it until my arrival (which they said they would). Only when the person who had received it arrived did we manage to get our passes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Victor Masse
Hotel Victor Masse
#1,035 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,459 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#987 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#342 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Antin Saint Georges
Hotel Antin Saint Georges
#1,380 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,138 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clauzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clauzel

Property: Hotel Clauzel
Address: 33, rue des Martyrs | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,563 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Clauzel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Clauzel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clauzel Hotel Paris
Hotel Clauzel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing