We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and a great location!”
Review of Hotel Clauzel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Clauzel
Ranked #1,562 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our vacation in Paris. The hotel is located in a great place just 2 mins away from Notre-dame de lorette Metro station and 5 mins walk from Pigalle. Between these two stations you can cover and transfer with the whole metro network of Paris. There are a lot of places to eat and nice little cafes to spend some quality time on the street just around the hotel. It is in a 15 min walking distance to sacre coeur and a 8-10 min drive from the Paris Nord railway station. The rooms are small compared to north american hotels but it was clean and tidy and the linens were clean. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good. Overall we had a

Room Tip: Go for a room which does not have a window or balcony on the roadside to avoid noise in the night as...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna_2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Clauzel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for a good location at a reasonable price, consider this small hotel. The rooms are small but adequate for those who are not spending much time in the room. After all, you are in Paris, why spend time in your room? There are fine cafes nearby and it is conveniently located to Metra lines. When we returned from Strasbourg and arrived at Gare de l'est, we transferred easily to the Metra and took the train to St. Georges. From there it was a short walk. If you travel rather light, then there is no need for a cab. We booked the rooms on Expedia so we were able to study the maps in advance to find our connections and walking directions. The hotel put out a fantastic breakfast, much better than some other stops we have made. The elevator is small and good for two, or one with luggage. If you can not negotiate the stairs, you may have a short wait for the elevator. I would consider this place again.

Room Tip: 1st floor up from the lobby would be a good idea so you are not dependent on the small elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihjtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is close to the subway (in fact there are 3 subway stations within walking distance). The room was a bit stuffy, as there was no AC, had to sleep with the windows wide open (consequently there were lots of mosquitoes and it was a bit noisy). Had some trouble with an order I had delivered at the hotel (bought Paris Museum Passes online) - staff simply had no idea if it had arrived or not, even though I sent an e-mail before placing the order to make sure they would receive and keep it until my arrival (which they said they would). Only when the person who had received it arrived did we manage to get our passes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a room with windows that opened onto the street which gave us an awesome view of the street. If it was noisy (as you might think it could be), I didn't notice. The staff were friendly and forgiving of our poor French. Just down the street we ate some jaw-droppingly good pizza; I took an evening stroll up the street and enjoyed the sounds of friendly conversations coming from the neighborhood's many cafes. Breakfast was served in a lovely bright room and was perfectly fine. There are two pianos in the lobby!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you're looking for a place just for your basic needs while travelling, this may be one option

(+): good location, near Notre Dame de Lorette Metro, lots of shop near by as well as Carrerfour
(-): the room is too small, no a/c and if you're staying at 1st or 2nd floor, it'd be a disaster since you can not open the windows for some air due to the noises and engine fumes. Breakfast is also not good

Room Tip: Should only book this hotel if the weather is cool, there's no A/C
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have never done a review before but feel obliged to forewarn people of what they are getting into before booking this hotel. We stayed at Hotel Clauzel for two nights this past week and were sorely disappointed. I think saying it is a two star hotel is pushing it - it is closer to a 1.5 star. I am not picky but this was not an enjoyable experience at all. The hotel room we received, room 11, was unclean and was not even close to the pictures on the Expedia or hotel websites. We arrived as three adults and when we entered the room I immediately asked for the bathroom to be recleaned - i have never done this before- as there was hair all over the shower. I opened the bathroom window for airflow and it was falling out of the wall, hanging only by one hinge and i was worried a 40 lb window was going to fall on us when we were in the bathroom so i had to keep it closed. The lack of air conditioning was stifling but we could only rarely open the other windows as the diesel fumes from the cars and the noise from people and cars all night was purely awful. The walls had patch jobs on them that looked shoddy, the rug was peeling up off the floor and was dirty, and the bathroom was very poorly redone. There was no hot water in the mornings for the shower though as a positive the water pressure was good. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, but the location was excellent! The street it is on is full of specialty shops and good places to eat; it is close to the train stations and fairly close to the Metro. The front desk staff were semi-friendly, but we just about missed our pre-scheduled taxi ride to the airport as they told the cabbie we did not book a cab when he arrived!! This would have been disasterous as we were traveling with bike boxes and luggage. Why they chose to do this i will never know, but i am glad i did not miss my flight. Again, please know that this hotel is nothing like its pictures and is not a good choice whatsoever. I base this on years of experience travelling through Europe numerous times and never had i complained about a hotel before.

Room Tip: Not worth your money
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teacher35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff greeted us which was nice! Spiral stairwell and building had character. Room space was tight but had everything we need. Located a 40min walk from central Paris but trains near by. Lovely wee street with lots of eateries, supermarket, bakery etc. Bathroom clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jok419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#311 of 1,804 in Paris
713 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Arvor Saint Georges
Hotel Arvor Saint Georges
#234 of 1,804 in Paris
632 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#381 of 1,804 in Paris
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
Les Matins de Paris & Spa
#268 of 1,804 in Paris
253 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Brittany Hotel
Brittany Hotel
#876 of 1,804 in Paris
436 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#253 of 1,804 in Paris
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clauzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clauzel

Address: 33, rue des Martyrs | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,562 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $85 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Clauzel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clauzel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clauzel Hotel Paris
Hotel Clauzel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing