We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but clearly not a 4-stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur
Ranked #1,222 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok but clearly not a 4-stars hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights. It's ok but clearly not a 4-stars hotel, more like 2.5 - 3 stars. Rooms are small & outdated but clean. If you're traveling on a budget, this is adequate. However, there are probably better 4-stars offerings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank ATLTravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel V, Directeur général at Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank s for your comment. Following the new french criterias we are ok to be classified 4 stars.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    252
    141
    66
    49
See reviews for
76
310
42
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My Wife and I are in our early fifties (still 18 in mind though !) and on paper/screen, this hotel ticked all of our boxes as, In our opinion, Montmartre is by far the best district in Paris. As the Hotel is situated a stones throw from the metro it combines the ease of access to the Parisian must sees but still seeing the real city in all its glory. The hotel and staff were all A*. We are not hotel inspectors but could not fault a thing, comfy bed, good strong shower, wall mounted hairdryer. We, like most, look up the hotel/area etc on trip advisor prior to booking, but always with a very open mind. Like films, all very personal and others opinions can easily be so different to your own.
With that thought in mind, I will try and be very general about the hotels surroundings. Poverty in parts yes, affluence too, as for prostitutes we did not see one and if we had tbh I very much doubt if it would have been a traumatic experience ! Racial diversity yes, ever feeling unnerved, hassled or threatened no, friendly real people just getting on with their day to day lives yes. Go enjoy.....please

Room Tip: Room 201, apart from the normal noise of other guests room doors shutting you could hear a pin drop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel V, Directeur général at Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
If all the guests could be like you...
Thank you very much.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of the very few European hotels offering a Japanese breakfast (and, in the same restaurant, lunch or dinner, if you are insterested), apart of the usual European crowded breakfast hall. It is woth trying. The hotel is clean and quiet, though it is placed in not a very Parisian environment, being placed in a little skyscraper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsnitulescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel V, Directeur général at Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
That's a very nice comment. Thank you and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was pretty good, close to the metro which is only a couple of stops away from Gare de Nord (Eurostar) and very easy to get around Paris.

The room itself was small but clean and did the job for a three night city break.

The area wasn't great (red-light area) but we didn't get any hassle at all even though it was just my friend and I, even whilst walking back at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahra_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel V, Directeur général at Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice comment.
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I returned from my Paris trip last Wednesday 21st August and stayed here for 2 nights with my brother and my 10 year old niece, and firstly i'd like to say a big thank you to PAPERTEC from Germany for his review as I have just read it today. He softened the blow for me as I was so angry reading the previous comments about being warned about the 'black people' hanging around the area. He is absolutely 100% correct in everything he said about this cosmopolitan, vibrant, fresh and interesting area where 'everybody' is just going about their business!?!! The hotel was immaculate, staff friendly helpful and accommodating especially the lovely gentleman on the reception last week I've forgotten his name, fabulous choice of breakfast, clean modern rooms with air conditioning. Like Papertec said if you want a white only, middle class, pretentious, money orientated kind of holiday stay in the Champs Elysee and do not venture out anywhere other than this area. Thank you Best Western for a pleasant and memorable stay, my niece thoroughly enjoyed her little holiday and we all enjoyed every aspect of our Paris break. I'm just sorry you have to endure such unjust bile from a lot of bigoted people who probably have never ventured much passed their own front doors much. In fact, I will go one step further and say all the reviewers who warned about the 'blacks hanging around on the street corners' are all racists who wouldnt know what a multicultural society means if it was tattooed on their faces.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel V, Directeur général at Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you , thank you and congratulations for your openmind!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
yes the hotel is located in the very nice aera.
Come back when you want.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel, with a friendly staff, very nice rooms, and what I consider both an affordable and handy location. It's on a main street, but even the rooms facing the street are perfectly soundproofed (we were on the 1st floor...one up).
I am fascinated by all the comments about the neighbourhood being "dodgy" and "not the best." No...it's not populated by the chic and trendy like the Champs Elysee, and yes, it's 95% African, but in all our metro trips (2 blocks away) and walks up to and back from Montmartre, we and our kids never felt threatened, nor were we ever accosted or even noticed, by the residents of this cosmopolitan part of Paris. I found the mix of mobile phone shops and hair salons (my daughter was fascinated by the hair extensions!) amusing, and the sidewalk activity in mid-June was fun to walk through.
So if you want "white-bread" and "bland" Paris, surrounded by Chinese, Brits and American tourists, don't come here. If you want to see a safe, affodable and pleasant real neighbourhood in a global city, you'll love it. (Did I mention the hotel's fine? The breakfast is also pleasant and plentiful!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Papertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmanuel V, Directeur général at Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for this very nice comment. You have understood everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Best Western Opera Batignolles
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Aulivia Opera
Best Western Aulivia Opera
#883 of 1,802 in Paris
247 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
Best Western Allegro Nation
#838 of 1,802 in Paris
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur

Property: Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur
Address: 66 boulevard Barbes, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Doree)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Paris
#474 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the cozy atmosphere the Best Western Montmartre, our team strives to reserve you a warm and personal welcome. Relax in one of our comfortable and stylish rooms or enjoy the HappyTime with an espresso machine at your disposal. Come to enjoy a unique moment at the Best Western Montmartre and leave with unforgettable memories of the Paris's most iconic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Montmartre Sacre-Coeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris Montmartre Hotel Paris
Doree Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing