We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Again with Stay at Hotel Magellan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magellan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #290 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy Again with Stay at Hotel Magellan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Initial misunderstanding was sorted out by the lady at reception.
Thank you for making an executive decision.
Easily done when you are in charge :-)
Comfortable rooms
Free working WiFi (always a bonus)
Slightly disappointed with reception at breakfast and feel that had we not commandeered an empty table we would still be standing there now.
Redeemed by fresh orange juice.
Will remember to go down to breakfast earlier next time as there was a reluctance to replenish as the time allotted for breakfast was approaching its close.
Room service prices are just ridiculously extortionate for the portions offered.
Driving and Parking in this part of Paris was very easy.(weekend parking is free)
Loads of restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Excellent Farmers market (off Avenue Niel) within 5mins walk with seriously good food on sale.
Parking very easy
Enjoyed my Birthday weekend and will come back again

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the street which real make you feel like you are overlooking a Parisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totallyjamdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your comment via Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive notes in regards to the location and the atmosphere of our hotel's surroundings.

We hope we will host you again very soon.

Do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page or our official website for special promotions and our best rates!

Once again, thank you very much and we already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    362
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
73
356
58
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The good rating is appropriate, this hotel blends very well several ingredients:
Very convenient location being 5-10 mins from the Arc de Triomphe.
The nearest Metro/RER station (Pereire) is just 5 minutes away.
A special mention to the breakfast, almost everything you want, including a fresh orange juice made on the spot, good bakery products and a very nice hall.
The white bed linen is a plus.
The staff is very attentive and welcoming.
The rooms are small but this is the obvious compromise to pay in a big city, the rooms have good layout and enough space for your belongings and luggage.
I imagine that the inner garden in spring and summer is lovely, but I have been there in January....
the wifi works well, the free option is good enough for general purposes.
definitely recommended to leisure and business travellers.
very effective blinds/shutters

Room Tip: book early to get good rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank besyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments through Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Le Magellan.

We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and services.

We sincerely hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Two minutes walking to the Metro and five or six Metro stations to the city center.
Very nice hotel, friendly staff. Quiet neighbourhood. Confortable and cosy accomodations with a nice patio. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Le Magellan for your recent stay in Paris and for taking time to share your experience.

All the staff was happy to make your stay enjoyable and thank you again for your comment.

Kind regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
406 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is your classical little snug hotel in Paris. This area of Paris is quieter but it is about ten minute walk to Arch de Triomphe. There is parking available at around 20 Euros a night. Free wifi and small rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to register your feedback online.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With Kindest Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is a real find, tucked away on a quiet street in a safe and quiet area of Paris. The staff was friendly, check-in was quick. The rooms small but excellently maintained, offer free wifi, flat screen tv, ironing board and iron, in room safe, comfortable beds, bath with shower. A fantastic buffet breakfast is served each morning including freshly squeezed orange juice, a variety of meats and cheeses, soft boiled eggs, pastry and a variety of breads, plus other items. If you prefer, breakfast can be served in your room or you may take breakfast on the nice garden patio weather permitting. The hotel is also 100% non smoking. It is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station Pereire on line 3. You certainly won't be disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Le Magellan during your recent trip to Paris. We would also like to thank you for your great feedback regarding this stay.

We are delighted to know that you appreciated the room and its different equipments.

All the staff is very happy to have made your stay enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the hotel.

With kind regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel located in a nice and safe neighbourhood very close to Pereire station, in the area you can find local restaurant and couple of supermarkets as well.
Breakfast was superb, room cozy and clean, staff polite and helpful.
Surely I ll come back on my next visit to Paris.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nando1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really want to thank for your lovely comment regarding your stay.

All the staff was delighted to make your holidays special.

We are pleased to know you have found our essential double room cosy and comfortable and you have appreciated the location of our hotel.

We hope we will host you again very soon and invite you to contact us directly in order to get the best offer possible.

Best Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hotel is perfectly located, my room was clean, breakfast was good and tasty. The only issue I met was poor sound isolation in the room - it was uncomfortable hearing noises from hallway and other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knapiki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comment via Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive notes in regards to the location of our hotel, our facilities, and breakfast.

If you wish to be informed about our latest news, feel free to follow us on our Facebook page and visit our website to benefit from the best rates for your next trip to Paris.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon at Le Magellan.

Best regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#326 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#210 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,084 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#520 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel le Mireille
Hotel le Mireille
#461 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Champerret Elysees
#556 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Property: Hotel Magellan
Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#269 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#506 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing