We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #393 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The rooms are well appointed, the windows are brand new, the bed is comfortable. The bathrooms are spotless. Yes, there is no a/c but the other strengths offset this issue. The front desk is always staffed and cleaning staff are ever present and always working. I' ve read some of the other reviews. A few are off-base. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it. At these reasonable room rates, you will not find a better hotel in Paris.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read that you had such a great time here at the Magellan Hotel. We greatly appreciate it and we can’t wait to see you around our lobby again very soon! We encourage you to add us on Facebook to learn about all the great things we have going on in our city!

Sincerly,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 750 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

hotel fine for a short stay went in july,had problems with the room would not lock but got moved,rooms very hot no air-conditioning,a little noisey on street side,free safe,all you can eat continental breakfast,meats cheese,juice yoghurt,no hot food only eggs is you boil your self,small rooms but you only sleep in them,5-8 minute walk to nearest metro 10-15 minute walk to ARC DE TRI0MPHE,where you can pick the hop on hop off bus which goes round the main attraction 44euro for 2 days,watch our for people asking you to sign a form for the deaf near the eiffel tower it is a CON we saw people sign it then they give money,then they walk away and give money to the main man

Room Tip: garden view.not much of a garden just a court yard avoid over looking main road noisey as you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robby14789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments.
Several customers complained about the heat this summer in Paris and inside the hotel. We are studying the possibility of installing the air conditioning. It should work before the next year.
We gave all summer to our clients ventilators and we regret that you were not able to obtain one from your room. The hotel is considered as being very for the quiet, particularly in our garden. It's rare to find in Paris hotels which have a garden and all our clients appreciate very much this place. You certainly had no luck with the noise pollutions that to evoke you and we are sorry about that. Nevertheless, we hope we can welcome you next time during a next visit in Paris.

Sincerly,

Hélène Dequaire,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Magellan July 19-23 2013. I chose this hotel because of location to the Champ des Elysees as we were in Paris for the finish of the Tour de France. This hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Arc de Triomphe. It is a small hotel with small rooms, narrow hallways and no ac as we were there during a heat wave. The breakfast was included in our package and it was ok. The restaurant/bar at the end of the street was good, I think the name was BA-YEN. Paris is very compact as we walked everywhere and did not try the subway system.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattoox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with my sister to Paris for 4 nights and our stay in Magellan was great. We stayed at a room on the ground floor that faced the courtyard. At first I was unhappy about the ground floor but when I came into the room I was surprised. The view is ok, the room is spacious, the bathroom is nice and everything is absolutely clean. Breakfast is fantastic and fresh. However, the only problem that could be one for some people is the fact that at night one can hear otherd outside their own room. I was so tired every night though so I didn't mind (and I'm a light sleeper). Metro stations are close by and so is the arc de triumphe. We also walked to sacre coeur and the eiffel tower for approximately one hour to each place. The staff is nice and almost all speak english well.

2  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your compliments about our hotel during your recent stay and are delighted to learn that you appreciate our installations and our services.

We hope to have again the pleasure of you welcomed.

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the magellan hotel paris for three nights in what must have been the hottest weekend, so we really could have done with air conditioning but that aside every thing else about the hotel was as we were expecting, friendly and helpful staff, ,its also got a very nice courtyard. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the arc de triomphe

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Sir,

We are delighted to learn that your stay was pleasant to you. I shall not miss to transmit your compliments to my associates. We thank you for your comments and we are impatient to welcome you again in our hotel !

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Was hoping for a nice stay at a hotel in a local neighborhood. Was sorely disappointed. No. Air conditioning, room like a sauna in July!.. To top it off went to courtyard to escape heat in the room and was told we had to buy a drink from the bar or leave! Ridiculous..

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Sir,

We are really disappointed to know we did not meet your expectations but the last two weeks were particularly hot. We know the lack of air conditionning is our most bad point and normally it previous to set up in 2015. Meanwhile the only thing we can purpose to our guest is fan and I understand that is not the best when you have to support this kind of weather.

As regards the incident at the terrace, I am really surprised to learn the welcome you have received because it is not the picture of our quality of service we usually give to our guests. That is true we ask to our guest to order drink at the bar than buy something outside and drink at the terrace but in any case we forbid to our guest only to sit at the terrace. You can be sure I will do a reminder to my front desk team.

In despite of all the inconvenience, I hope your stay in Paris was pleasant and if you think back in our beautiful city, I hope you will give us a second chance.

Best regards

Hélène DEQUAIRE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My friend and I spent a week there. We simply loved the hotel. The staffs are very kind and friendly. The metro is very closed and there are lot of restaurants close by.
The room is very good and I felt like home.
I highly recommend this hotel and especially if you are planning to travel to Paris to explore its gorgeous history.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anakerolyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNDEKER, Directeur général at Hotel Magellan, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comment comment stay and are delighted that your stay passed well.

Everything is made here to try to satisfy all our customers, our hotel is a place of very pleasant and peaceful life.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon among us.

Regards,

Hélène Dequaire
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#248 of 1,805 in Paris
233 reviews
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#147 of 1,805 in Paris
402 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#181 of 1,805 in Paris
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#418 of 1,805 in Paris
547 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#296 of 1,805 in Paris
649 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#49 of 1,805 in Paris
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#267 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#443 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $111 - $1,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Péreire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing