We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, clean, friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #287 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good, clean, friendly hotel”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with family on the weekend of the Prix de l'Arc. Very nice and clean hotel. Rooms modern and relatively spacious. The hotel is situated on a quiet, residential street, with a couple of nice restaurants in the neighbouring streets. It's a 15min stroll to the Arc de Triomphe. Good breakfast and staff were very friendly and helpful in booking taxis, restaurants and tours. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms look out onto the courtyard at the back, not the front street - if you want a a gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magdonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    367
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
74
357
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here every couple of years for probably 20 years. It keeps getting better, and rooms get renovated from time to time. This year we stayed for five fights in a room that was larger than we were offered before. The hotel is on a very quiet side street a short walk to either Pereire or Porte Maillot metro stops in the 17th arrondissement. Our room faced a courtyard, and we kept our windows open for fresh air. Our room seems to have been recently renovated with a double bed, plenty of room for clothes, a desk, and a bath with shower. There were just enough outlets for phones and a computer. Breakfast was in a large well lit room with a good selection of quality food. Staff were fluent in English and very helpful. We will continue to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBob-cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms are small but big enough to feel comfortable, everything is clean, the breakfast was good. The location is within a walking distance from the Arc of Triumph (aprox. 10 min) and also the public transportation is available in the near!
The hotel is in a quiet location so the sleep was great!

I recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First time in Paris and we stayed here for 10 nights. Rooms are quite small but very clean, bathroom is as big as the our room but I know there are bigger rooms (e.g. 201 and 301), we were at the back of the hotel looking over the courtyard and it was very quite, good night sleep. Breakfast is a buffet and we found it very nice with the breakfast staff very accomodating. Reception staff greet you but dont expect anything more, there is a small bar near the reception area and we had some friends visit and they asked us to keep the noise down in respect of other guest, it was 7.30pm at night and we were just talking and have a laugh nothing too loud so be warned they like very low key guests. All in all a good hotel and would stay here again but would have drinks there.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter and the bigger rooms on floor 2 and 3 are 201 and 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntheaMarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoangelxoabbs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wasn't blown away by this hotel, but it was pretty good. The room was small, but clean. The breakfast was very good. The staff is helpful, but only if you go out of your way to ask particular questions. Otherwise, they do not really talk to you. The location is so so, the roads are confusing and in a residential neighborhood. It took about 3 trips to get the route down to the metro. Don't use the company they offer to set up airport transfers with. They never picked us up (our flight was delayed...) and still charged us $75... We had to get another taxi at 1:30 a.m. which charged another $75.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupcake985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sometimes uk, sometimes japan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here 1 night on business. Fairly centrally located, clean, efficient check-in and -out. Room was small and relatively expensive, but I think that’s standard for Paris. Breakfast was extortionate. Free (unsecured) wifi in the room was a bonus. I had a quiet room and a good night’s sleep, but a colleague staying in a different part of the hotel complained of noise in the early hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

For what you pay, you will have a clean room, good breakfast, good location and excellent service - everybody at the reception was very nice and the lady serving the breakfast were very friendly.
I recommend this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#334 of 1,800 in Paris
190 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#364 of 1,800 in Paris
512 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#204 of 1,800 in Paris
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Les Jardins de la Villa & Spa
Batignolles-Monceau
Niel Hotel
Niel Hotel
#741 of 1,800 in Paris
299 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,103 of 1,800 in Paris
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Property: Hotel Magellan
Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#268 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing