We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #303 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

For what you pay, you will have a clean room, good breakfast, good location and excellent service - everybody at the reception was very nice and the lady serving the breakfast were very friendly.
I recommend this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Magellan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 752 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent four nights here in April 2012. Over all I was satisfied with this hotel. Very clean, updated rooms. Nice service. Good breakfast every morning.

The only real negative I had with this hotel was the location. It was about a 15 minute walk to the metro, and once you got there it was at least 20 to 30 minute ride to most of the tourist attractions. That doesn't seem like much, but after a few days it does get a little old.

So if you do pick this place, definitely get the unlimited metro pass and pack your walking shoes.

Room Tip: Had room at the front of the hotel, but the only thing to look at is a street and the building acros...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclark1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Hotel was really sweet and in a lovely quarter. We arrived very early into Paris on a night train and went straight to the hotel. Despite being much too early for the published check in we deposited our baggage (2 big bike boxes) and had some breakfast; in fact, we were leaving very early for a flight on our last morning and they let us have that breakfast on the day of our arrival instead. By the time we finished breakfast a room was almost ready and they actually let us into the room at 1100, 4 hours earlier than published. I really commend this hotel and will almost certainly stay here again. (Plus, there's a really cute bar/bistrot at the end of the street called Le Ba'Yen - turn right out of the hotel!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for day 3 and 4 of our Paris trip. We were so busy, we didn't really get to enjoy the courtyard. It's so romantic and quiet. The room was adequate for size and the bathroom was excellent. The only negative was it didn't have air conditioning and you couldn't close the blinds with the window open so it was a challenge.

Loved it just the same. Staff were nice and helpful.

Would go back in a second.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 315 and were central to the courtyard. Don't know if that's good or bad.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moemoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked this hotel through Aa Eurostar break. I chose hotel based on reviews! It was as promised a lovely quaint hotel, which was perfect for me and my mum. I liked being in a more residential district although it had its drawbacks in august as none of the local French restaurants were open! I think the directions on website could be much better, however once we had found it we didn't have any trouble negotiating Paris from there!
Lovely breakfast and fab garden. V reasonably priced bar! Both mum and I would be happy to return to hotel and would recommend. Only slight issue was lack of aircon. We were ok as we were on a high floor so we felt safe to leave window open! Thanks for great stay in Paris

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dowlingre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is set in a quiet backstreet - well it was certainly quiet during August - but is still very well-placed to get anywhere around Paris. We walked nearly everywhere from the hotel including as far as the Place des Vosges and Jardin de Luxembourg. The nearest Metro station is Porte de Champerette, although Pereire is almost as easy to get to. Hotel staff are all very friendly and accommodating. Rooms spotless with modern bathrooms. Breakfast is plentiful, even at the hands of overindulgent guests.
Rooms are shuttered with full-height windows, which is great for ventilation, but unfortunately can mean early morning street noise, which is a normality in Paris, could be a distrubance during summer months.
Overall we would strongly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: If morning noise is a real concern, request a room at the rear, or in the annexe.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just came home from a great 4 nights in Paris. Hotel is located close to metro and bus terminus, and only 15mins stroll from Arc de Triomphe. Most of the time we walked everywhere, and then caught bus back - see much more of Paris then on Metro. Excellent hotel in a quiet location. Staff very friendly and efficient. Room size not bad for European city centre, with nice bathroom. If arriving at Gare du Nord, take bus 43 to "Pereire + Porte Maillot" - couple of minutes further to walk but avoids change on Metro and carrying luggage up and down stairs.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a sight seeing holiday in Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tes50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#366 of 1,804 in Paris
519 reviews
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#294 of 1,804 in Paris
199 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Ampere Paris
Hotel Ampere Paris
#206 of 1,804 in Paris
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Niel Hotel
Niel Hotel
#691 of 1,804 in Paris
305 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,115 of 1,804 in Paris
162 reviews
Hotel Vivaldi
#1 of 9 in Puteaux
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#268 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#505 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $133 - $1,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing