We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Magellan
Ranked #290 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just came home from a great 4 nights in Paris. Hotel is located close to metro and bus terminus, and only 15mins stroll from Arc de Triomphe. Most of the time we walked everywhere, and then caught bus back - see much more of Paris then on Metro. Excellent hotel in a quiet location. Staff very friendly and efficient. Room size not bad for European city centre, with nice bathroom. If arriving at Gare du Nord, take bus 43 to "Pereire + Porte Maillot" - couple of minutes further to walk but avoids change on Metro and carrying luggage up and down stairs.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a sight seeing holiday in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tes50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    362
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
73
356
58
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Only spent a night in this hotel, however I feel it deserves a lot of praise! Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean and the staff were always so friendly (despite staying a night I was always in and out on my bike). There is room to lock up bikes round the back, exploring Paris on a bike is in my opinion the best way to see everything - nothing's too far away that way. Lots of choice for breakfast. Next time I visit Paris, this will be the first Hotel I check for availability!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with another three people. It is located in a quiet place near metro station (at the beginning we were little bit confused to find a hotel).Hotel was clean, staff friendly, nice area next to Arc de Triumphe. Definetely will recomended to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012 for 5 nights. We were 2 couples who got the train from Charles De Gaulle Airport out to Pereire Levallois (RER) Train Station with a Zone 5 train ticket valid for unlimited travel for 5 days. There is 2 train stations in this area Pereire Levallois (RER) and Pereire (Metro) so you have to have the 2 rail timetables and maps. You can also catch the metro bus service it has a depo exchange just down the road from the hotel. All in close walking distance. So we got around Paris at all times of the day with these services. If you do not mind staying a little away from the tourist strip of hotels. This hotel is for you. There is a grocery shop around the corner (good to get snacks and drinks alcoholic or non alcoholic), variety of restaurants if you do not want to go down to the Latin Quarter (which has fantastic meal deals 3 course Euro 10-15, 1/2 price drinks at different times of day, we tended to eat in the Latin Quarter).
Hotel rooms were big enough for 2 people, clean and well presented, bed was comfortable, clean bathroom, hotel was on a quite side street. Breakfast was a fantastic continental breakfast, we took a piece of fruit, cheese or biscuits/cakes/danishes for a snacks during the day. We sat outside in the garden area in afternoon had a couple of drinks before heading out again. Most of the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravelling12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent five nights in this hotel. Located in a quiet (too quiet ?) district, near metro station, Arc de Triopmhe and Palais des Congres (can be reached on foot). Good breakfast. Clean, queit and comfortable room. Very friendly staff. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaBgd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My son and I vacationed in Paris two weeks ago and stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights. It was perfect! We have no complaints whatsoever. Clean, modern, the terrace is lovely, the staff friendly enough (considering how rude Parisians usually are!), breakfast was great, quiet neighborhood, and best of all, the metro is only a few minutes walk. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikkiesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Quiet and charming. Gives a different perspective of Paris. Efficiently run. Clean. Good breakfast. Lovely neighborhood. Well located for travelers wanting kosher food options

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomiheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Armoni
Hotel Armoni
#326 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Hotel La Villa des Ternes
#210 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,084 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#520 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel le Mireille
Hotel le Mireille
#461 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Champerret Elysees
#556 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magellan

Property: Hotel Magellan
Address: 17 rue Jean Baptiste Dumas, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#269 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Business Hotel in Paris
#506 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARMING HOTEL WITH INDOOR GARDEN, A SHORT WALK FROM THE PLACE DE L'ETOILE AND THE PALAIS DES CONGRES. Near to the Arc of Triumph and the Congress center from Porte Maillot, the hotel offers guests an unexpected garden in the heart of Paris's 17th arrondissement. Whether you are in Paris for business or leisure, you will find all the benefits and services of an attractive privately run hotel at the Magellan, at the crossroads of the main business centers and tourist attractions. Next to the Boulevard Pereire Gardens, the hotel is in the style of the surrounding Hausmann architecture, sheltered from bustle of Paris's busier streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magellan Hotel Paris
Hotel Magellan Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing