We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Avoid the Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Ranked #441 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location - Avoid the Breakfast!”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The hotel is very well located, great proximity to both St Michel Metro station and the Latin Quarter – surrounded by great restaurants, reasonably priced. There’s a real Parisian atmosphere – so would recommend. The hotel itself is nice, the staff were friendly and helpful – and it’s positioned just off the main area, so quiet enough for those looking for peace (unless your room is next to the lift which is a bit noisy). Free Wifi was particularly useful for late night/early morning research etc.

The only downside was upon departure being charged just shy of £80 for the breakfast (3 days 2 people) – which had it been great we would have been fine with, however here it’s just a couple of croissants, half a French bread, a yogurt and a very small and relatively poor fruit salad (obviously including tea and coffee).

In hindsight we should have just asked how much it was first, but after the first morning I was convinced this could have only been complimentary!

We’d be happy to recommend this place, however my only suggestion would be to avoid the breakfast as you’d get much better (quality and price) just around the corner!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    101
    23
    17
    12
See reviews for
49
214
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Finding a good hotel is not easy ! But this one is different . First of all, the staff : always friendly and ready to help ! The location of this small boutique hotel is unique : right in the center of ther Latin Quarter and close to the major Parisian spots such as Notre Dame & Musee d'Orsay ( do not miss it , - the front desk also sells tickets to skip the long lines ! ). We had a wonderfull stay in this hotel : we loved our room ( on the fourth floor, N° 46 , I think ? which had an amazing decoration - traditional country French I would say . This was an experience, so exotic, so romantic, so French !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

After finding ourselves stranded in Paris for three days unexpectedly during the snow blizzards, we located this hotel on line from the airport. We chose it for its close location to the RER station from the airport, and the fact it offered a triple room. We were pleasantly surprised at how charming it was. We had a delightful suite with a single room connected to a double room. The decor could be described as 'overwhelming french'. The same floral fabric was on the walls, curtains and bedspreads which made it quite a relief to turn out the lights at night!

There was wifi in the room which worked very well. The bathroom was a good size, had a spa bath and was spotlessly clean. They provided robes and slippers as well as a good range of toiletries.

The location is brilliant: walking difference to everything and in a quiet but charming street. Very easy access to the airport on the RER.

I wasn't very charmed by the welcome, however. There was a young woman who basically handed us our key. No warmth or chit chat. I was dying for a cup of tea, and had my own teabags, but she was unwilling to provide us with a cup of hot water, so we had to wander out into the snow to get any sort of refreshment at all. After being up all night at the airport I wasnt impressed. I would have thought a small, expensive boutique hotel like this could have offered a bit more service. We didn't bother with the breakfast, but headed around the corner to a cafe.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location and the well appointed good sized rooms, particularly if you are three people traveling together.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We loved this charming little hotel. The best thing about our stay at The Vieux Paris was taking the continental breakfast in our room while planning our day using the free wifii which is now rare in hotels. The room was really cozy with the wall fabrics and beams. We stayed a week so we had time to talk to the owner and listen to her tell us about the " Beat Hotel " !! My husband is in the whole beat generation thing so he chose this hotel when he saw it on internet and it was really a wonderful surprise.
What was amazing is that you feel like home when you pass the door, but you are actually in Paris with all the nice things to visit so close !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Hidden gem. Right in the latin quarter, in small hidden street, so it’s very quiet. It is close to the Seine and Rue Saint-Andre des Arts, which is very popular among young people, especially due to many small bars, caffe, etc.. The stuff is very friendly and nice. There is small elevator which is good because there are five floors. Rooms are  small, as all rooms in Paris:-) but very romantic and cosy. The furnitures are nice and stylish. And the bathroom is small, but clean. I I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutSpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This was a fabulous hotel in the heart of the vibrant Latin quarter. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff and the room was old Parisian with a modern bathroom. We were 20 metres away from the Seine, ample eateries and shops. We were walking distance from the Louvre, Musee du Orsay, Notre Dame, Champs Elysee and we also managed the Eiffel Tower. At was a magic, romantic four nights with very accommodating hosts who were very ready to suggest activities and eateries. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel - it is worth the little extra for the location but the hotel ambiance made it even more special.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noshtalgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have stayed here six times, and consider it one of the most charming finds in Paris. yes, you pay for suite amenities in the always expensive 6th arrondisement, and the living space is, well, bijou, but it is nicely luxurious and full of character. And it's quiet!

We love the service, and we love the 'hood.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StillTheOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
#955 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
Hotel Villa d'Estrees
#331 of 1,802 in Paris
326 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#583 of 1,802 in Paris
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#639 of 1,802 in Paris
545 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,802 in Paris
1,210 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris

Property: Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Address: 9 rue Git le Coeur, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, built in 1480, recently remodelled, 13 rooms, 6 suites, wall-fabrics - exposed beams - marble bathrooms, massage showers, jacuzzi in suites, view over rooftops, located near Saint Germain des Pris, Notre Dame, river Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing