We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“review of budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Hotel Gare du Nord
Ranked #1,302 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“review of budget hotel”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

For a low budget hotel with no frills and some areas that could be improved (such as the bed and pillows) it was still a pleasant experience mainly due to the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff in all areas. The gentlemen at the reception desk all spoke good English and were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to be helpful tourist guides. The air conditioning worked and the bathroom and toilet were newly refurbished, fresh and clean. The breakfast was basic but again the staff were friendly and obliging in the extreme. Further it is across the road from Gare Du Nord and extremely convenient if using the Eurostar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    110
    115
    37
    48
See reviews for
80
133
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is true. It just has been renovated maybe a year ago. When we got there , the top floors were not ready. But it was a very quiet place. We almost thought that the hotel was empty.

Price of the room is what you can expect in Paris.

This renovated hotel is very very conveniently situated in front of the Gare.
So when you are getting off the RER from the airport, you can easily and rapidly walked to this hotel. With heavy baggage, that is useful. Otherwise you can store them at the airport. It as what we did as we stayed in Paris just for two nights.

Beware, don't miss the hotel at first time because this sign is not big , neither the entrance which is tiny (entrance on the side). Breakfast is what you get for 7 euros. Basic but okay.
Some supermarkets nearby, but the surroundings of the Gare are not nice. Just a transit place for travellers. Not too much dining options too. Take the metro to eat somewhere else

The room was clean. Lino floor. No tired and dirty carpet. Flat small TV. Restroom separated from the shower. All the rooms in Paris are small, this one was no exception. As the elevator.

The reception young guy is very friendly.

Two negative points though. I do not think that the lino floor was cleaned and mopped every day of our stay. Also the bedding is okay but a bit tired

Oh one last but important thing, beware pickpockets in Paris. They are everywhere. Be careful.
And read carefully your menu as most of the restaurants , specially touristic ones, serve you reheated and industrial food. Even desserts such as Fondant au chocolat is not made at the restaurant.

Room Tip: At the back, inner side of the building. And upper levels. Very quiet. Ours, I think was level 6 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niuhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
647 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was my third stay here, the last being five years ago. The pros were the update of the tiny bathrooms to tile and chrome. A/C in the room and I think the windows and drapes were new.
The terminal is across one Blvd and a few steps more. It could not be easier to return to after a day and night of sightseeing. The Metro and RER are at your doorstep. The lift, while tiny and charming now works. But the cons, the people standing around the front of Gare Du Nord terminal look like they are sizing you up. They have no luggage or packs and lean against every pole or post. They never bothered us, could be our demeanor. But my wife, an experienced traveler, was shaken. We stayed four days, but this will be our last stay here. We went thru four terminals on this trip for different things to see and do. Next time I will research those.
This room rate used to be under 100 euros, in the eighties, now it was in the low 120 range. For that kind of rate, I can do better. We love Paris, We'll be back. Just not here.
PS. The staff is excellent, english spoken well and will do most anything to assist you. The shuttle
to CDG is very easy and a great rate. 36 eu door to door for two travelers.
Merci

Room Tip: Advise them ahead of time you don't want to be transferred to another hotel is case of overbooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked on the photo of the entrance to the hotel but we were taken around the corner to another hotel,when we questioned this we were told it was the same group. The only reason we stayed was that we had been flying for 27hours plus 6 hours in airports so tiredness and limited French made a change out of the question. I would advise future travelers not to stay there. Leslie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Montiny sur aube
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After one hotel had lost my booking I was in Paris on a Saturday evening with no hotel room! Fortunately the receptionist at this hotel was extremely helpful and luckily they had 2 rooms available. Rooms perfectly adequate and with air conditioning unit which was great in august. Room and bathroom clean & tidy, breakfast good value for money. Would stay here again :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Positives: I found Ben on the reception desk very helpful and friendly and quite frankly he was the one good thing about the hotel, apart from its location and our bathroom (which had fortunately been refurbished). That said, the breakfast represented quite good value for money compared to nearby eateries, and the lady who kept things running in the small dining room worked hard and was friendly.

Negatives: I found our bedroom quite small, very basic and quite scruffy. There were lots of scuff marks on the vibrantly painted walls, staining on the upholstery, and chewing gum on one of the bed frames. When I mentioned it on our first night to the couple who were covering the reception desk, they were totally disinterested but eventually agreed to get it cleaned off the next day. It was not cleaned off during the whole of our stay. I hated the fact that there was lino on the bedroom floor rather than carpet, and it was unclean - clearly it was not swept or wiped each day. Crumbs that had been on the bed sheets our first day were still there when we removed the bed cover after the room had been supposedly cleaned. Two of the pillow cases had what looked like blood stains on them (not our blood!), and the towels that were left did not always look clean. The lack of cleanliness is inexcusable! Despite liking Ben and the view from our bedroom, I would definitely not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking gare du nord - ours had mini balcony which almost made the bedroom bearable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous8070347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,489 of 1,798 in Paris
216 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#803 of 1,798 in Paris
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#413 of 1,798 in Paris
656 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
Kyriad Paris 10 - Gare Du Nord
#1,559 of 1,798 in Paris
349 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel des Belges
Hotel des Belges
#1,504 of 1,798 in Paris
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Gare du Nord

Property: New Hotel Gare du Nord
Address: 40 rue de Saint Quentin, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,302 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Hotel Gare du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing