We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner in Paris”
Review of La Mere Michele - CLOSED

La Mere Michele
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $55
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner in Paris”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thank you, thank you Michelle for a memorable and romantic dinner in Paris! My husband and I along with my sister and her husband enjoyed our dinner date immensely. The ambiance of her little restaurant is warm, inviting and cozy. Michelle is a very gracious hostess and quietly attentive to all our needs. Her dinner menu selections are small and unpretentious, classic dishes prepared with elegance and attention to maximum flavour! I encourage diners to have a sampling from her entree menu, down to the dessert and espresso. We came away very satisfied without feeling uncomfortably full. The French really know how to respect their ingredients and use each to its full potential. La Mere Michelle gave us very special memories of our time in Paris. Most assuredly, we will return. Merci beaucoup Michelle!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    56
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English Creek, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A meal worthy of the glowing reviews”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found Mere Michele through the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, and dined there Nov. 5. The meal met - and exceeded - all expectations. We had a fabulous three-course dinner, including a homemade pate to die for. The duck breast (pictured) could not have been better. This tiny restaurant is a real find, and Michele is a gracious hostess who goes out of her way to explain dishes and make guests feel at home. It is small, so reservations are probably a good idea.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

During our recent visit to Paris we were staying in a hotel in the 7th arrondissement. One evening as we were walking around we came upon Le Mere Michele. We have always preferred small intimate restaurants. Le Mere is exactly the type of restaurant we look for. Small maybe ten tables, low lighting, exposed brick walls and a kitchen that is open to the dinning room. That night when we walked in the place was fairly full, but there was a table available, so we had the good fortune to eat there. The hostess/owner sat us and explained the menu options 2 course entrée/main or main/dessert or 3 courses. The prices were so reasonable we both decided on the 3 course option. My wife had a piece of fish she raved about and I had risotto with shrimp that was perfectly executed. I had the dessert sampler which was probably more than one person should order, but it was great. The service was attentive and friendly without being over bearing. Although she had her hands full with the dining room the hostess/owner/server found time to stop by our table and socialize. Our meal was wonderful, the pace of service was just right. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and time at Le Mere Michele. As I mentioned this is a small space with an open kitchen consequently, as the night progressed it did get a bit warm in the dining area. Regardless, we’ll go back to Le Mere Michele whenever we are in Paris.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This delightful small restaurant is one of those "finds" that we return to whenever we are in Paris. The owner is warm and gracious, paying attention to detail. The menu changes monthly and provides a short list of truly wonderful choices that are delicious and presented beautifully. It is easy to find, near rue Cler, and whenever we visit, Michele makes us feel as though we've returned home--truly it should not be missed. She sets and high standard and always meets it with grace and a genuine level of caring for her guests.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Glorious Food”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to this restaurant after reading the reviews. I emailed and received confirmation for Friday night. The restaurant is tiny, and the kitchen is minuscule. Not sure how the chef manages to create such tasty meals in a confined space. Mdm Michele is a very friendly and warm hostess. Never intrusive, but always available. We had a 3 course meal, and by the end of it, we were bursting at the seams! The menu changes monthly. There's a fair choice of starters/mains/desserts. I had the pumpkin soup - divine..... the prawn risotto...so creamy and naughty, and a meze of desserts. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Michele also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing