We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“accomodation nice, staff average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Royale
Ranked #492 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“accomodation nice, staff average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

accomodation was very nice, big bubble bath in our bathroom, a pity that the french don't know the difference between german and dutch tv channels (told us there were but I guess not)
breakfast was disappointing, out of croissants first day and baguettes were very tough, second day no baguettes available and croissants were not worth of their name, same story with the coffee. further very friendly staff.

Room Tip: This neigborhood is busy during the night, we had the penthouse and could barely hear it, but on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Dear Guest,


We thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Hotel Villa Royale.
We are concerned about your comments in regards of your experience in our Hotel.
Your comments have been escalated to the concerned Managers, in order to guarantee the best quality service to our guests.
Again, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feelings with us.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    237
    88
    44
    34
See reviews for
30
398
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I read so many negative reviews on this hotel after booking at really good rates on Expedia, that I worried a bit. After the initial mix up of being given the room without a jacuzzi when we had paid extra we were given a large spacious exotic room. The air conditioning was amazing to walk in to after a really hot day, as was the large jacuzzi. There was no problem with noise either with windows closed. Bed was comfortable and everything was lovely and we loved the decor. Wi-Fi a bit hit and miss in the room. There was a room to leave luggage before and after check in. Girl on the desk didnt speak much English but had a nice smile. The Directeur when called to sort out booking problem had a brisk manner and no apologies but..well.. I was given another key and this was Paris. Easy for Metro and Restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyofthebann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied by the service provided by our Hotel Villa Royale.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is a few steps from a metro station and ~400m to Moulin Rouge/Montmartre. The area is generally safe even for walking at night; however, it is right at the middle of the red-light district so single women might feel uneasy. The room is so tiny even to Paris standard but clean. Most of the time, the front-desk people can’t speak English. By any standard, this is a THREE-star hotel at best. Overall, it is an OK hotel to stay but you can find nearby hotels at lower price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTravelerinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Dear Guest,


We thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Hotel Villa Royale.
We are concerned about your comments in regards of your experience in our Hotel.
Your comments have been escalated to the concerned Managers, in order to guarantee the best quality service to our guests.
Again, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feelings with us.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A sexy little hotel, for a sexy weekend with my wife! Moulin Rouge, c'est fantastic! Lovely stay, will recommend. Love the decor too. Will definately be back in 2014 to celebrate our 5 years wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikesurrey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,

What a generous comment you have shared with us! We do thank you for taking the time to do so.

We are thrilled to read that you had an amazing stay and that you enjoyed all the facilities and services we have on offer for our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and guarantee you another perfect stay at Hotel Villa Royale.

The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

although this hotel is critisied for it location... I felt for a Paris holiday it was super... We stayed for a week and found everything we needed and more. I have stayed in Paris on a few occasions and always found bed-rooms quite small.... This was spacious, airy, bright , clean and central to supermarket, coffee shops, bus to Montmartre, underground,parks and night-life... all literally within a few steps. The room decor was as it is shown in the pictures... Fab! we had got a really good deal on the rates... which made the stay even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chelle0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
Further to your comment, we would like to thank you for your kind words.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied by the service provided by our Hotel Villa Royale.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

It was the week of our wedding, and this was the place we picked for our pre honeymoon getaway. We have been to Paris a few times prior and always experienced kindness and helpfulness from the hotel staff in other boutique hotels. This was NOT the case here. Upon arrival, we were greeted by vomit in one of the plants in front of the hotel main entrance as well as a drugged up homeless woman passed out on one of the hotel window cills. Perhaps something that should be addressed. The hotel itself is miniature and gaudily decorated, which I found charming. The room was nowhere near clean, with dust built up to a quarter of an inch in the bathroom, dirty tub, a cracked toilet seat, and what looked to be semen on the back of the bed wall. Naturally we went down to discuss this and to see if we can change rooms, only to be received with hostility and complete rudeness, like we were making this up! My fiancé was told the entire hotel was booked. When I went down a bit later, they said they had another room we could have instead. We arrived at the Louis Vuitton suite which smelled like sewage, had no working a/c or a balcony. We decided to stay with the first room and deal with what we were provided with and focus on roaming around the romantic city of Paris.

I do not speak french, and perhaps that is a good thing because the woman behind the front desk preceded to talk obviously about my fiancé and I to another woman there every time we came downstairs. No matter, we did not let this bother us until the last day. We were late for breakfast, which consisted of pre packaged cheeses, yogurts and baguettes. Thinking it would be alright, considering its part of what we paid for, we made ourselves cheese sandwiches. As we sat eating them, one of the staff came downstairs with a look of outrage and quickly disappeared back upstairs. Not a moment later, the front desk lady comes down to scold us for not abiding by the 3 hour window. It's laughable really now that I think about it. 2 packages of Pre packaged cheese and a couple of stale baguettes and they were all up in arms as if we demanded eggs Benedict!

Moral of the story, Paris will always hold a dear place in our hearts and we will continue going back. However, this hotel lives up to the French stereotype to a T. These are the people giving the French a bad name. Until new management is hired and customers treated like they a valued, I would stay far away from this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank kwoliczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable relations publiques at Villa Royale, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay at Hotel Villa Royale.
However, we are saddened to read that it did not live up to your expectations.
We are sorry for the different troubles that occurred during your stay - your remarks will help us to improve our service for future guests.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My partner booked this hotel and on reflection it probably wouldnt be our 1st choice for another trip to Paris. On exploring we would stay in the st Germain de Pres area next time. Be warned it is right in the middle of the red light area near to the Moulin Rouge, however there is a metro station 50m away which was great for travel. Close to Mont Martre area with a fab view of the city.

Hotel decor is themed on a theatre - with lots of fabric swags and silk on the walls- not for the faint hearted! Room was small but clean and bed comfortable quite dark decor being boudoir like, but bathroom was a good size and nice fittings.

Breakfast is in the basement no no natural light and again on the theatre theme, food fine standard continental with bacon and eggs also.

Guy at reception on arrival very helpful but other girl next day a bit terse and was smoking at the doorway on more than 1 occasion - not what i would expect for a 4* hotel!

Overall we weren t in hotel that much so it was fine, but I wouldnt say it deserves the 4* rating it says it has - very small communal areas and minute reception desk!

Room Tip: all rooms are named after stars we had the naomi campbell room at front of hotel so was a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerning09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Royale, Responsable réception at Villa Royale, responded to this review, April 17, 2016
Dear Guest,


We thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Hotel Villa Royale.
We are concerned about your comments in regards of your experience in our Hotel.
Your comments have been escalated to the concerned Managers, in order to guarantee the best quality service to our guests.
Again, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feelings with us.
The Villa Royale Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#628 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Gobelins
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Villa Lutece Port Royal
#1,349 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Le Pigalle
Le Pigalle
#334 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Declic
Hotel Declic
#153 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Villa Opera Drouot
Villa Opera Drouot
#368 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Carlton's
Hotel Carlton's
#945 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale

Property: Villa Royale
Address: 2 rue Duperre, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#277 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#634 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Royale surrounds one of the most legendary squares in Paris, Place Pigalle, the heart and soul of a district that’s both touristy and trendy. Because of the shape of the building, most of the rooms have a view on Montmartre and Sacré-Coeur.In their time, Toulouse-Lautrec and Picasso frequented the establishment. The décor takes its inspiration from the world of the theatre. Details are numerous and the rococo style is clearly evident. Deep reds, tassels and tufted velvets are omnipresent, as is the decorative gilding, which even surrounds the plasma TV screens.In the Suites, a fireplace adds to the cosy atmosphere and a whirlpool bath invites guests to let laziness take over. Another option: fall asleep below the star-studded ceiling of the de la “Michou” room, blue, of course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Paris
Royale Hotel Paris
Villa Royale Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing