We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uhmmm. Needs to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Young & Happy Hostel
Ranked #39 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The people were very nice and the breakfast!!! So good! I enjoyed it. The area around the hostel is amazing. Easy to access to the metro and Notre Dame. Nice bars and places to eat. The only thing is the shared bathroom. They could work on it and make have it cleaner. Have more outlets because I only had one for 6 people which was very disappointing. They need to work on keeping the place much cleaner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

hello
thanks for your review. We have improved our service into the shared bath and toilets, we hope it is much more better now. We still do our best for more comfort. We hope to welcome you to enjoy a new stay with us !
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 532 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have just returned from three nights here, after booking the first hostel mentioned in my Lonely Planet Encounter guide. I travelled on my own, but was never alone: everyone was really friendly and sociable, whilst staff were polite and sociable. Teens, students and people in their thirties were all here and mingled nicely. The hostel is superbly situated on the Rue Mouffetard in the middle of the Latin quarter, a short walk from the Sorbonne, Notre Dame, Les Jardins de Luxembourg and the famous Shakespeare and Co. bookshop. Great nightlife on a very historic street with easy metro access and an incredibly good creperie just around the corner.
It's not luxurious (hostels seldom are), but it is safe, friendly and welcoming with decent enough facilities, free breakfast and a large communal area. I would recommend and go back again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hello
Thanks to share your opinion with us and many other travellers. We hope you enjoyed your stay and do not hesitate to let us know if you come back !
We work on special events, especially when you travel by your own, such as happy hour time, a very good moment to meet other guests, or moovie night, games and other things...
See you soon !
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I traveled to Paris with my friends and stayed for two nights in Young and Happy. It's decent hotel for budget travelers so don't stay in here if you wish for fancy stuff. Location is very good, it is easy to look for nice restaurants, street food, shops, and convenient store. Decent breakfast is always served every morning, toilets and rooms are clean. Unfortunately, there is not lift in here and one of my friend got bedbug during his stay. I think it's because the bed rarely get the sunlight. But overall it's okay.

Room Tip: Third floor room in the corner is sunny and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melminian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngandhappy M, Responsable réception at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest
thanks for your review. In fact our building, located into the Quartin Latin is a Parisian one, no lift, all the buildings are like this in the area. Fortunately, we do not have too many floors !
We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and take into account your comment to deal with the problem that occurred. Let us kinow if you come back in Paris !
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Don't understand all the bad review actually. This hostel is descent, the rooms were clean (also the bathrooms), the staff is super friendly and helpful. If you're willing to get out of your bed before 9:30 you even can have a free breakfast. And If you're travelling alone it's not very difficult to meet people to hang out with. Oh yeah, and the location is great, in Rue Mouffetard, a street right in the middle of Quartier Latin (Sorbonne area), with a very relaxed atmosphere and it's close to Jardin du Luxembourg.
And okay I've been in hostels that were better and a lot cheaper, but you can't expect the same price-qualtiy rate in Paris as in Eastern or Southern Europe. Paris is expensive, face it. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziegelstein188666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngandhappy M, Responsable réception at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest
thanks for your review. In fact, we have improved all our services for some time, following advices like yours. Paris could be expensive at this time, so we advise to book as soon as possible onto our website to benefit from special offers. We hope to welcome you soon for another good experience with us !
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Location's very good, it is situated in the less fancy part of Paris but still pretty in its own way. Pantheon, Notre Dame, Luxembourg Garden all less than 15 minutes by foot from the hostel. Loads of good food along the street leading up to the hostel, alongside a couple of convenient stores and a few pubs literally right across the hostel.

Receptionist spoke fluent english and was really friendly as well. Descent wifi in the lobby (not accessible from rooms). It was not exactly a very cheap stay but compared to other accommodations in Paris it's one of the cheapest I found with a good location.

Only thing I did not like was the room, it's quite old, the shower is a weird one where you have to push the button every 10-20 seconds. The lockers are situated outside the rooms at the ground floor which makes things a bit inconvenient. There's no individual lights next to the beds like how they usually have in dorms.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, would return if I ever revisit Paris! :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank ShaneLow93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest
Thnaks a lot for your time to let us your feelings about your last stay with us. Improvements will be done step by step as new plugs ... so we hope you will be able to come back to enjoy the news !
Let us know !

The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was my last stop on a two week backpacking trip and I thought the toilets were filthy, the worst on the whole trip! Also really windy staircase so struggled to get up with luggage. And only 1 plug in a 6 person dorm!

You do however get what you pay for and it was one of the cheapest hostels I could find. Location and a nice breakfast helped make this stay bearable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Guest
We thank your for taking time to let us your feeling about your stay. It is very important to know what works well and what was wrong in order to improve all the time.
I sent you a private message in order to exchange more about the discomfort you had, Unfortunately, i haven't received any news from you yet. Feel free to contact me by email.
Since your last stay, we hope we heve improved some points, and you are welcome to make a new experience with us.
Let us know !
Sabine_the Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great location, tons of nice people, great atmosphere. While it was not luxurious, it was clean and the staff was helpful. We could open up our window and watch as people walked down the street, which was incredible. Breakfast was simple but good (coffee, croissants, cereal). Our room for two of us allowed for a little privacy, but the bathrooms were shared. We met so many people from around the world by hanging out in the lobby and ended up spending a couple of days with them, which I would highly recommend. If I came through Paris again, I would absolutely stay here again. Inexpensive and a great hostel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngandhappy M, Responsable réception at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest
Thanks for your review about your last stay with us. We hope to see soon to benefit from all our services and taking part into the good atmosphere we try to do for eveyone (with events as movie night, happy hour, music quizz and games...) This summer will be full of events !
The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#23 of 187 in Paris
464 reviews
Arty Paris
#13 of 187 in Paris
637 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 Ducks Hostel
#22 of 187 in Paris
346 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#34 of 187 in Paris
238 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 187 in Paris
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Young & Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young & Happy Hostel

Address: 80 rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $33 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Young & Happy Hostel is in the 5th district in the Latin Quarter where you can find a very lively atmosphere, with restaurants all along the street Mouffetard, a market on Place Monge every Wednesday and Friday morning. We are also located few minutes ago from touristic areas, Pantheon, Notre Dame, the Luxembourg Gardens...Have fun with us, meeting guests from all over the world, during the Happy Hour that we organize every day from 6 pm ! We have also other events, quizz, fuzeball tournaments, movie night... Enjoy ice creams and snacks while watching sports on the big tv screen! The reception is open 24/7, everyone can book, in advance, a Parisian breakfast (French baguette and other pastries, honey and jam...). We have FREE wifi everywhere, FREE luggage room and lockers for your valuables. Use our laundry service at the best rate in the neighbourhood. No need to get out from the hostel! Please note that we don't accept guests under the age of 18 without an adult companion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Young & Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young And Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hotel Paris
Young Happy Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing