We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the price”
Review of Hotel du Cygne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Cygne
Ranked #1,075 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a small privately owned B&B type hotel in an excellent location near Les Halles and the Louvre. There is a public underground car park nearby which is reasonably priced.

The decor of the public areas of the hotel is lovely. The rooms are simple but be warned that they are exceptionally small. This is fine for a one or two night stay if you're out all day exploring the city but I'm not sure a couple would want to share a room for any longer than that. Also be aware that there is no lift and the staircase is very steep and narrow. I'd really not recommend this hotel with any difficulties in getting up and down stairs.

Otherwise the staff were friendly and helpful and so generally I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Cygne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 194 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a convenient central location, close to excellent transport links, and within walking distance of the main tourist attractions if you are visiting for a holiday. Staff are pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a quaint character, which some people might find a little twee or outdated, but I was quite happy with the small but clean room. The en-suite in my single room was small but very modern and clean. My only issue was with the noise from the street. The nights were very warm when I staying, and with no AC in the rooms the only option was to leave the window wide open. My room faced onto a busy street below. I am a deep sleeper and was just too tired in the evenings during my stay to be distracted by this. However lighter sleepers may wish to check in advance which direction the window of their room is facing. I thought the price I paid was very reasonable given the good location and the time of year I visited (mid-July). I did however book in advance.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper then double check you won't be in a room facing onto the busy stre...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sightsandsounds28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

In this location for that price I believe the hotel is hard to beat.

Reception is friendly and efficient. The checkin worked fine. Wireless for every floor. The rooms are charming and the sleeping experience was good. We slept with open window and there was no noise. Our bathroom might want to be renovated in a few years. But again for this price nothing to complain. Breakfast was simple but pretty much what you need to get started.

All in all nothing to complain!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klaus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just stayed there and we loved the location. The price was good for the location. However, there is no ventilator, no AC, no nothing LOL. Just the bed and the bathroom. There is no place to hold the shower head, so we need to take a shower holding on the shower head too (good luck with that!). Staff in the morning very very nice, not so nice at all during the late afternoon.
Overall was the best price for that location... and was clean!

Room Tip: Be prepared to have no room to move around. You get a very small room without any extras. The locati...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaPortland_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice hotel, very well located to Paris' main attractions; close to RER, metro and buses stations; clean and with friendly people at counter. The only minor issue is the shower. We were happy to spent 5 days there.

Room Tip: Call in advance to get a nice room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonzalo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the suite, the room was very nice, clean and tidy. The price was fine for the kind of room. The people in the reception were very helpfull and they took very good care of us, giving us directions, maps and advice, plus there is always someone there. The hotel's location is also very good, close to a metro station and the RER train from the airport; is also close to the Seine river, the Louvre and Notre Dame.
Cons: The stairs can be tricky if you have much luggage. We were carrying 2 large bags and we had kind of a hard time going up the narrow stairs up to the 3rd floor. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel because it seemed to us that 8 euro was a litlle overpriced.. there are less expensive places to have breackfast.
Another con, the wifi was imposible to connect to, maybe it was because we were in the top floor.
Overall: It's a great choice for a hotel according to other prices and taking account of the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kari_Cba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very central - I stayed for a weekend when I was over visiting friends and wanted to be nice and central and was only going to be using the hotel to sleep.

I had a tiny room over reception - the street can be quite noisy as it's a pedestrian street and people walk past talking. Otherwise no concerns.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thisnamecantbetaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,353 of 1,804 in Paris
300 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#293 of 1,804 in Paris
183 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,097 of 1,804 in Paris
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,038 of 1,804 in Paris
360 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#523 of 1,804 in Paris
568 reviews
Les Halles
Karraz Hotel
Karraz Hotel
#1,481 of 1,804 in Paris
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cygne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cygne

Address: 3 rue du Cygne, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,075 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $113 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Cygne 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The timelessness of the place, the warmth of the fabrics and materials as well as the presence of wooden period furniture carefully gathered from years of going round the Clignancourt flea market, they all take part in the maintenance of a cosy atmosphere here at the Hôtel du Cygne. It is an invitation to relaxation and well-being and your host Isabelle has made sure everything has been taken care of so that you feel completely at home. What is more, this lifestyle can be enjoyed in the 20 rooms of the hotel, each one being specifically furnished with taste. Hence, every room has a unique character due to the attention paid to each one of them. For example, a writing desk in the French Empire style can be found next to a piece of polished Provençal furniture or even an Art Deco occasional table. Or you may also like how a particular bedspread actually matches curtains which are delicately adorned with ribbons or even the small bag of lavender that we put in the cupboards so that the rooms carry around the sweet smell of bygone days... Each room has a television set, a telephone and a safe for you to put your valuable items. They also have a bathroom with all the modern comfort that you will need : a shower or a bath, toilets and a washbasin standing on marble slabs that are assorted with the tiled floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Cygne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Cygne Hotel
Du Cygne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing