We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gonzalo's review”
Review of Hotel du Cygne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Cygne
Ranked #1,079 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice hotel, very well located to Paris' main attractions; close to RER, metro and buses stations; clean and with friendly people at counter. The only minor issue is the shower. We were happy to spent 5 days there.

Room Tip: Call in advance to get a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonzalo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 198 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the suite, the room was very nice, clean and tidy. The price was fine for the kind of room. The people in the reception were very helpfull and they took very good care of us, giving us directions, maps and advice, plus there is always someone there. The hotel's location is also very good, close to a metro station and the RER train from the airport; is also close to the Seine river, the Louvre and Notre Dame.
Cons: The stairs can be tricky if you have much luggage. We were carrying 2 large bags and we had kind of a hard time going up the narrow stairs up to the 3rd floor. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel because it seemed to us that 8 euro was a litlle overpriced.. there are less expensive places to have breackfast.
Another con, the wifi was imposible to connect to, maybe it was because we were in the top floor.
Overall: It's a great choice for a hotel according to other prices and taking account of the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kari_Cba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very central - I stayed for a weekend when I was over visiting friends and wanted to be nice and central and was only going to be using the hotel to sleep.

I had a tiny room over reception - the street can be quite noisy as it's a pedestrian street and people walk past talking. Otherwise no concerns.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thisnamecantbetaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

PROS:
Hotel du Cygne is the 4th hotel I have stayed at in Paris, and it is by far the cleanest. This is very, very important to me! It is also secure, with someone on the desk 24/7 to buzz open the door. I like the personality of the place, with the exposed beams and décor in the rooms and the lovely lounge area. The location is fabulous!

CONS:
Can be a bit noisy—it’s easy to hear the neighbors and trucks on the street. The cigarette smoke from my neighbor’s room came through the bathroom vent into my room. The breakfast is a bit basic for 8 Euros: croissant, short baguette, orange juice, pot of tea, butter and jam. I did not like having to say when I planned to eat breakfast; I do not want to set an alarm when I’m on holiday.

BOTTOM LINE:
If you are used to staying in something like an executive suite, you will find du Cygne small and lacking in amenities. If you, like me, have spent years staying in hostels and budget hotels, this place will seem like a big step up

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Location was perfect, really in the middle of all sights and action. Small but very clean room with good bed. We stayed for 5 nights and room was cleaned daily but would have wished they would have changed the sheets and towels at least once during our stay - that was the only minus. Breakfast was very small for big price - but you can choose whether to take it or not. From the Cafes near by you can get the same bread and croissant and coffee for 3-4 euro instead of hotel's whopping 8 euro. Service and staff was helpful and friendly. Overall would highly recommend hotel to people who value good clean hotel in the centre of Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

good location. staff wasn't overly friendly and wouldn't let us check in early (which is fine since we were early, but always a bonus when a place will let you - especially since we had been travelling for several hours prior to arriving and hadn't been able to shower, however they did let us use a bathroom to clean up a bit but no shower); stored our luggage before and after check in but not super secure as was just in the side room in the lobby where any one could access it; rooms seemed clean enough - very small and outdated looking; excellent location - felt very safe walking around at night & convenient to attractions. probably a good price for Paris but not fancy. also it was pretty quiet which was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XtinaplusDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stay at this hotel for two nights with my wife (Room No. 21). Very good location for halal restaurant. Great location -- main tourist attractions just around the corner. Will come back for more!

Cleanliness - Good
Size of the room - a bit cramp
Toilet- shower, very clean
Double layer windows - soundproof -- for a better sleep at night!
Pricewise - slightly pricey (99eur/nite)
No airconditioner
No elevator
Breakfast for 8euros/person - croissant, coffee, orange juice, butter

Will i recommend this hotel to you? --Please check-in here if you can get the promotion price e.g 50eur/nite or 60eur/nite.... Yes.. this hotel is great except the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jengka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,328 of 1,802 in Paris
303 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,117 of 1,802 in Paris
266 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#622 of 1,802 in Paris
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,191 of 1,802 in Paris
406 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#325 of 1,802 in Paris
193 reviews
Les Halles
Tonic Hotel Louvre
Tonic Hotel Louvre
#1,381 of 1,802 in Paris
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cygne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cygne

Address: 3 rue du Cygne, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,079 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $96 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Cygne 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The timelessness of the place, the warmth of the fabrics and materials as well as the presence of wooden period furniture carefully gathered from years of going round the Clignancourt flea market, they all take part in the maintenance of a cosy atmosphere here at the Hôtel du Cygne. It is an invitation to relaxation and well-being and your host Isabelle has made sure everything has been taken care of so that you feel completely at home. What is more, this lifestyle can be enjoyed in the 20 rooms of the hotel, each one being specifically furnished with taste. Hence, every room has a unique character due to the attention paid to each one of them. For example, a writing desk in the French Empire style can be found next to a piece of polished Provençal furniture or even an Art Deco occasional table. Or you may also like how a particular bedspread actually matches curtains which are delicately adorned with ribbons or even the small bag of lavender that we put in the cupboards so that the rooms carry around the sweet smell of bygone days… Each room has a television set, a telephone and a safe for you to put your valuable items. They also have a bathroom with all the modern comfort that you will need : a shower or a bath, toilets and a washbasin standing on marble slabs that are assorted with the tiled floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Cygne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Cygne Hotel
Du Cygne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing