We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with all the basics and good location”
Review of Hotel du Cygne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Cygne
Ranked #1,075 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed here with friends in May 2012. Great location – very close to Etienne Marcel Metro station, walkable to river and Notre Dame. Lots of cafes around for breakfast. Nice welcome, helpful and generally friendly staff.
Rooms were small but had everything required: bed, desk, wardrobe, mini safe, suitcase stand and most importantly clean bathroom. We stayed in rooms on the street side and as it was a hot weekend we had the windows open. Yes there was street noise expected from the location but we came prepared: friends had a white noise app on their phone and I went old school with earplugs.
Good value for money, I will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londonfilmbuff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Cygne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

The room is small (just like any other hotel in Paris) but it's clean. Bathroom is small but it's functional. We moved a table in the room to make space to open our suitcase. We had a street facing room but did not find street noise annoying, I am a light sleeper.

The hotel reception staffs were excellent! Very helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel, just make sure that you are not fuss about the dated interior decoration, it's dated but very clean and comfortable.

Did not have breakfast there.

Location is wonderful but anywhere you stay in Paris, as long as it's close to metro station, it wil be good enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyTasteHisTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The location is better than wonderful and the hotel is super neat. A little cozy but considering the location and the high demand of space in Paris it was SUPER. The attention was good but as always it depended on the person.

Room Tip: Rooms 35 for more $$$. 16 was very good.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zipabuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was small and not as nice as I had hoped. The neighborhood was a little noisy. Overall if you're looking for a budget hotel this is not a bad one. We've just seen better for only a little more money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel but it wasn't wonderful. The rooms are small and rather old looking, however they are extremely clean. The bed was uncomfortable and sagged towards the middle. The location was okay. We were near many shops and restaurants but there were also a lot of sex shops and graffiti in the area. We did discover on our last night that we should have ventured in the opposite direction when we were walking around because there was a really cute area about 5 minutes away. We enjoyed the cafe Etienne right down the street from the hotel. The food was good and reasonably priced. We did not have the hotel breakfast but were told it was a croissant, jam, & coffee for 8 euros. The cafe Etienne to had omelettes for less.

The noise in this hotel was least enjoyable part of our stay. You can hear people talking, coughing, flushing, etc. and the noise outside can hinder a good night's sleep. Like someone else mentioned, we were awakened more than once by the street cleaners and emergency vehicles.

The staff at the hotel was very helpful, especially Antoine. He was more than happy to assist us with our needs. There were two girls who were also very helpful but I didn't ask their names. Some of the other staff members were just okay, but everyone was easy to communicate with and they were polite enough.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ttslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The only reason I booked this place even though it was a bit pricey was because it was in central Paris. I do not know whether it was the dispassionate and quite unhelpful guys at the reception we encountered on both the days or the limited breakfast or the matchbox like structure of the rooms that made our stay a bit sore. The room was small and not very clean, but since we were just a couple of backpackers we did not mind. But the good part is it is in the middle of all action. Restaurants which are open late, bars, pubs, bus stop, train station everything is just a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambidextrous_cripple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We loved it and we'll be back! The only downside is that the breakfast is not generous - very limited French breakfast (no continental b'fast available).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eromes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,359 of 1,803 in Paris
300 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#280 of 1,803 in Paris
183 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,102 of 1,803 in Paris
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,041 of 1,803 in Paris
360 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#575 of 1,803 in Paris
569 reviews
Les Halles
Karraz Hotel
Karraz Hotel
#1,480 of 1,803 in Paris
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cygne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cygne

Address: 3 rue du Cygne, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,075 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $112 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Cygne 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The timelessness of the place, the warmth of the fabrics and materials as well as the presence of wooden period furniture carefully gathered from years of going round the Clignancourt flea market, they all take part in the maintenance of a cosy atmosphere here at the Hôtel du Cygne. It is an invitation to relaxation and well-being and your host Isabelle has made sure everything has been taken care of so that you feel completely at home. What is more, this lifestyle can be enjoyed in the 20 rooms of the hotel, each one being specifically furnished with taste. Hence, every room has a unique character due to the attention paid to each one of them. For example, a writing desk in the French Empire style can be found next to a piece of polished Provençal furniture or even an Art Deco occasional table. Or you may also like how a particular bedspread actually matches curtains which are delicately adorned with ribbons or even the small bag of lavender that we put in the cupboards so that the rooms carry around the sweet smell of bygone days... Each room has a television set, a telephone and a safe for you to put your valuable items. They also have a bathroom with all the modern comfort that you will need : a shower or a bath, toilets and a washbasin standing on marble slabs that are assorted with the tiled floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Cygne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Cygne Hotel
Du Cygne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing