We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Vivienne - would we stay again - definitely Not.”
Review of Hotel Vivienne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vivienne
Ranked #437 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Vivienne - would we stay again - definitely Not.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Vivienne - Paris - Would we visit it again - Definitely Not. Initial reception was not welcoming., Reluctant help with map locations. etc. However another member of reception was more user friendly, and offered a smile. The room was extremely hot/humid with no a/c. Noise from local bars at night. Room floor on an extreme angle and in need of some maintenance. No safe or fridge was available to us. Wifi was available but we could not send or receive emails.

Room Tip: In summer do not accept a top floor front room - all day full sun and extremely hot/humid, no a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine72, Directeur général at Hotel Vivienne, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Terribly sorry for unwelcoming personnel. I must admit that it's not what we're known for but it must have been a bad day.
The room was hot but then Paris has been going through an unusual heatwave, the first in three years. At the Hotel Vivienne's price point we can't supply air conditioning for such a rare occurence.
If you couldn't send or receive any emails either wifi wasn't working or you didn't know how to connect. Assistance would have been provided if you had asked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    236
    54
    17
    9
See reviews for
102
197
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the start of our two week vacation in France. The room and bathroom were clean (both fairly small in size), but the bathroom smelled slightly of mold. The bed is somewhat hard, but comfortable enough. In our second floor room facing the street we slept with the windows open at night without too much noise disruption. The staff at the front desk was available and attentive to our needs. They made a dinner reservation for us one night and upon checkout, printed directions to our hotel in Provence. The website states that each room is equipped with a safe for passports/valuables, but we did not have one in our room. The front desk staff does, however, maintain a locked room for these items, available for access until 8pm each day. Breakfast is served in the lobby dining area (11 Euro) and we opted to have it on the last morning. The other mornings we had crepes at a nearby street cart and bread/croissants at a local cafe (there's an abundance of places to eat in the area). Two days after our stay, the rate dropped from 105 Euro to 89 Euro for the remainder of the summer. I emailed in advance of our arrival and asked for the lower rate, but was not accommodated. Overall this is a good location (near the Opera, two subways, and very vibrant part of town) and a solid option for a no-frills hotel room. I would have liked it more for a cheaper price, but it served our needs well enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here on our Paris-leg of the Tour de France. Location was good as it was walking distance (15-20mins) from the Champs-Elysees.

However, the standard of the rooms was diabolical and on complaining we only received a 15 EUR discount - which I guess is better than nothing.

Issues with the room:

- No air con.
- Busy and noisy street (very noisy until 3am)
- Dirty (wet pieces of rolled up toilet roll on the carpet and clothes tags left on the floor)
- Carpeted floor did not go all the way up to the walls
- Paint peeling off the ceiling
- Plastic peeling off the bathroom mirror/sink furniture
- Broken toilet cistern
- Lamp hanging off the ceiling
- Mould on the bathroom walls and ceiling
- Bath seal yellow and peeling away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RissaKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLODETTE72, Propriétaire at Hotel Vivienne, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
many thanks for your review. i'll try to answer each of your points:air conditionning: you are in a 90 euros room in the center of Paris. We have extreme temperatures for two weeks every 3 years. you were unfortunate in that you arrived during a heat wave.

noisy street: i suppose you slept with your windows open given the heat, sorry about that one!

dirty: as the receptionist told you she gave you the room early and the cleaning was not finished! but perhaps you don't remenber.
for all the other points the room is going to be redecorated in august as we do every summer i hope you return to the vivienne and we'll put you in the same room so you can make new photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were generally very happy with this hotel. After comparing prices and reviews, this one seemed to be our best option to book. The staff were very helpful and friendly (they came to our room immediately when we could not get the TV to work - turns out the prob was just that the antenna was not plugged in) and the room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. The soft furnishings are a pretty dated in a goldy/browny colour which could easily be changed to freshen up the appearance and feel of the room. The elevator is tiny but apparently most are and the room itself was quite small (after pulling the trundle bed out for our 2 children to sleep there was no space to walk around the beds, but once folded away there was enough space to make it comfortable for the short time we actually spent in it). The bathroom was a good size for a small family. The location is excellent and we walked everywhere from here. The Metro is very handy if you don't feel like some of the longer walks (or walks back to the hotel at the end of a busy day with tired kids). Our room did overlook the street and there were times when there was quite a bit of noise from people hooning in the street (even at 3am!) but this couldn't be avoided unfortunately as at that time of year (July) we really needed to have the balcony door open during the night for air (no aircon). The noise didn't seem to affect the kids or my partner's sleep, and I was generally so exhausted from our active days I'd go back to sleep easily anyway. Would definitely recommend this hotel as an affordable, clean, well located option for a short stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hf2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Mixed feelings abt this hotel. Pretty close to Lafayette, and served by 2 metro lines, so it's quite convenient. Room size is perhaps 'big' compared to other paris hotels. But it's very close to the main street so noise is a problem. I know they stressed about the sound-proof windows, but without air-conditioning the only way to get some fresh air is to open the window, and so noise hit you.

We stayed on the first floor on the first night. Throughout the night we heard people chatting, laughing, motorbikes engines, and even a man who sang loudly on the street at 3am! We did not sleep well. We talked to the staff on the next day abt the problem. He seemed quite shocked abt it, thinking there shouldn't be a problem with their sound-proof windows, while we kept telling him that we couldn't close the window because we needed fresh air. Maybe it's Europe's culture to sleep in an air-tight room?

Anyway, I have to say that although they found our comments strange, they remained friendly. Eventually they moved us to the sixth floor on the third night, facing the inner side of the street. The room was smaller, but the bed was bigger, and we managed to have better sleep there.

You can try it if u don't care abt the noise, or you don't need any ventilation. Afterall it has nice location, low price, and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3pig-moto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The staff were very friendly and gave us great suggestions for shopping, dry-cleaning, etc. There is a tiny elevator (2 people, or 1 with a suitcase), but it works great. I mostly took the stairs, so I could work off all the great food I was eating.

This hotel was very close to the Metro (subway), several bus lines, and even a taxi stand. It was easy walking to the Louvre and Les Halles. There were lots of cafes on the corner, and even a phone shop where I could buy a SIM card for my unlocked phones. Make the walk to Rue Montorgueil where you will find a pedestrian-only street with great little food shops.

The only downside was that I could hear the street noise at night, including late-night revelers getting drunk and being loud.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I really couldn't fault this hotel at all. It is so central and the room rate is really great value for Paris, which is a very expensive city! We got quite a big room on the 4th floor which overlooked the street and had two tall windows which opened out onto it. It was quite noisy but that didn't bother us at all, I guess if you are a light sleeper you might want to ask for a room at the back. We had a private bathroom with a toilet, which some rooms don't. The room was spotlessly clean and was cleaned every day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cat that lives in the hotel was adorable, so chilled out. We didn't try breakfast there but it looked like it would be good. There are three subways within a few minutes of it but you can walk to so many places from there too, the Louvre/Tuileries are pretty much just down the street. The Roissybus from the airport drops you off about 15-20 minutes walk away from the hotel. I would most definitely stay here again and I really hope to go back to Paris again soon, there are just too many things to do there!

Room Tip: We were in room 27, on the 4th floor. Lots of space, private toilet and a nice view of the street. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_linzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
Hotel de la cite Rougemont
#476 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#297 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#364 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
#397 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#290 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#867 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vivienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vivienne

Property: Hotel Vivienne
Address: 40 rue Vivienne, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#325 Family Hotel in Paris
#581 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vivienne 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vivienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivienne Hotel Paris
Hotel Vivienne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing