We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- need much improvement on service”
Review of Hotel Grenelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grenelle
Ranked #1,398 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location- need much improvement on service”
Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

I enjoy staying in this area because it is several blocks away from the Eiffel Tower. There are a lot of shops, cafes, and there is a supermarket across the street (Monoprix). It is also right across the street from the metro which is very convienent (La Motte Picquet Grenelle).
I did not care for the service at all. First, no one was overly friendly at all or went out of their way to accommodate you. You walk in the hotel at any time of day or night and no one even acknowledges you. I didn't think this was a particularly safe environment because of that.
I arrived at the hotel early Monday morning and was told my room would not be available until 1500. Ok, I figured that since I am here early and it's a Monday that they would try to go out of their way just a little bit to get my room ready. We were so tired, that we ended up going back to the lobby around noon and fell asleep in the lobby! It took the man at the front desk an hour to call one of the hotel cleaning staff to get a room for us.
The room was ok. It was clean. There was only one outlet in the room. So if you needed to charge anything- you had to unplug the refrigerator in order to do so. The wifi was terrible. Don't tell me there is wifi when it barely works. The tub/ shower was without a shower curtain which was fine- but it is high up which could be a problem for elders/ people with mobility issues.
Also- I received an International phone call- and the person at the front desk decided to keep my call on hold forever rather than transfer the call to my room! I was not even told by the staff that I received a phone call!
While I do enjoy this area- I'd rather not stay a this hotel again because of the service and lack of security. I'd only stay here again if I were desperate or if it was better priced than other hotels in the area.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank skivnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    107
    72
    34
    35
See reviews for
42
89
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The place was full of cafes and street side restaurants and grocery markets.
The rooms were small and the lift smaller but in terms of Parisian standards i guess this was a good value for money but not con paired to other europen city's, The free internet was handy.
I didn't use the 9 euro breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of small backery stores around the hotel (or Starbucks), and mcdonalds is 100m away which has a breakfast for 2 euros

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluearmy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

A nice,little, quaint hotel on rue de Grenelle perfectly situated right next to the metro and very close to the tour de Eiffel. There are alot of really nice cafes and such in the vicinity. The rooms themselves are priced O.K. with small uncomfortable beds and pillows. But overall clean. And every morning and night I would look out my window and be greeted by the Eiffel smiling at and wow it was awesome! I could literally throw a rock at her that's how close I was. But on the down side the service sucked big time. There are these two brothers who are complete jerks. They would act extremelly snooby and made us wait three hours with our bags even though our room was free. They said they couldn't do it because of the "low rates". What's jerks! And when I would say hello to them they would blatantly ignore us. Overall I love the city of Paris so location of the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDjPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

It is near to Eiffel tower, and opposite to metro station La motte Picquet Grenelle so for us it was convinient. The bathroom was clean, however the carpet were hoovered I guess a year ago at least... the breakfast was ok , just a little something on your way out... I will probably will try to find out some nicer hotel if I can next time... It is just the matter of the availbility during the time you visit paris.. Sometimes it coould be your only choice....

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DORDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I picked this place because it fit the range I was looking for: price, location, and at least 3 stars. I wasn't disappointed - it's very clean, it's close to points of interests, and it's right across the metro which serves 3 lines. Sure, the rooms are tiny but you will be spending more time outside exploring the city, anyway. We didn't even bother walking to Eiffel Tower, we just took the metro. It was so convenient and it saves you time from having to walk more than you really need to. The beds were comfortable, we slept soundly. But then again we were always exhausted by the end of the day, so we didn't have trouble sleeping. The staff was accommodating and speaks good English. They were helpful with directions and trains to take. They also let me borrow adapters to charge my electronics. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit. I love Paris!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibser10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Small hotel with very small rooms and bathrooms. If you are suffering from clostrophobia, do not go there.
But, it is well situated, near a metro station and close to most tourist attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisers1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel is very close to the Eiffel tower across a subway station. I had my car with me, but parking is was a bit difficult in the narrow, crowded street. There is a public parking within 400 meters at Place Joffre for approx. 28 euro per day.

The lady at the reception was very friendly. I had to wait a bit for my room to be ready. The room was located on the back of the hotel on the fifth floor and was for Paris standards quite spacious. The bathroom was basic and clean. There is a small elevator available.

I didn't use the breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of small backery stores around the hotel (or Starbucks). Since you have to pay on arrival, check-out was quick and smooth.

The location is very convenient for exploring Paris. First of all you have access to the metro system right in the front of the hotel. The Eiffel tower is approx. 10 minutes walking distance, Tour Montparnasse is about a 20 minutes walk. Great restaurants, bars and other stores right in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Eiffel tower view is overrated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyinDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
#1,019 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel Eiffel
Art Hotel Eiffel
#479 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Printania Grenelle Eiffel
Hotel Printania Grenelle Eiffel
#1,340 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Locaflat boulevard de Grenelle Studio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tourisme Avenue
Hotel Tourisme Avenue
#154 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lilas Blanc
Hotel Lilas Blanc
#1,283 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grenelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grenelle

Property: Hotel Grenelle
Address: 140 boulevard de Grenelle | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,398 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grenelle 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Grenelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grenelle Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing