We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - terrible beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain
Ranked #205 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This hotel is in a great location, it also offers good value for Paris. The staff are lovely. I would recommend staying in this hotel if you only had 1 or 2 nights in Paris. Other than that the beds are too hard. I never worry about the bed comfort as that is just part of the travelling bit. BUT I think the floor would have been more comfortable?

A bit of noise but it is not an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJGC_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSG2, La Direction at Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011
Google Translation

Cher Clients,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel de charme.
Nous sommes ravis de lire que vous avez apprécié votre séjour.

Les matelas ayant tous été remplacés en 2009, nous sommes au regret d’apprendre que vous ayez trouvé le lit trop dur.


Toute l’équipe de l’Hôtel Saint Germain espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Bien Cordialement,

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 873 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stayed for two nights over a weekend at the end of February with my husband. Chose hotel for location and reasonable rates. The Rue de Bac area is a great part of Paris to stay in, very handy for interesting shops, museums and the Metro. The hotel, as other reviewers have said, is a typical small Parisian hotel in an old building. The lobby area is shiny and updated, and they are updating the rooms but this is not finished. The lift is tiny but fine to use. There was building work going on during our stay on the fourth floor (where our room was), but although this made the corridor look untidy we were not disturbed by any building noise. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the library area of the foyer - plenty of coffee, bread rolls, croissants and pastries, juice, etc. Everyone there felt quite happy to linger and chat over breakfast, no pressure to hurry up. We had a room overlooking the street, so there was a certain amount of street noise but nothing too bad, and we liked being able to look out at the shops and Parisians. It's not that busy a street. The room was small and the decor rather dated, but we didn't notice any lack of cleanliness. The bathroom was extremely clean and shiny. We didn't mind the room being small as we were out all day anyway, it was only for sleeping in. Our one gripe was that the air con is not on in the winter and the room did get hot at night. But with the heating turned down the room was not too hot and we had no trouble sleeping. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful and efficient. We were meeting up with a friend who lives in Paris and we had trouble getting in touch with him - the concierge very helpfully passed on messages between us and was delighted when we all managed to finally meet up in the foyer! Would like to go back when they've finished the building work and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Great location in a lovely area. Two small niggles: no hot water on the Saturday night of our stay and the air conditioning isn't switched on until march making the room quite warm.

Otherwise a great value, great location, very clean boutique hotel. Would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I'm embarrassed by the "Ugly American" reviews of this wonderful hotel and the comments that they made. We loved our time here. The staff was welcoming, helpful and patient with us. The room was small, but clean..we did not expect to have all the amenities that we have in U.S. hotels. The morning breakfasts were delicious and satisfying. The location was extremely nice. We were so happy to be in Paris (for the first, not last) time and would recomend this hotel to anyone..we will stay here again. You need to be flexible and leave the "attitiude" at home.
They were right about 1 thing..the bedroom pics on the virtual tour do not look like the bedrooms we 3 couples stayed in..the bedrooms are very basic and have double beds, but no one's in them much so "who cares?"
Merci!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen4021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This hotel is a great choice for value and location. Our rooms were small by American standards, but normal for a "three-star" Paris hotel. We had "standard" rooms; there are larger, better furnished ones (at higher prices). The location is perfect, at a reasonable price. The staff; especially "Jeff", the daytime concierge; was great. A very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesMarkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Where to start?! Their website is WONDERFUL and sold me to pay €159 a night. Well, had I been shown the room we were given, I would not have paid €15 to stay there. It was awful, the worst hotel room I have ever had the misfortune to see never mind have to sleep in. The "large" bed was so small I thought there must be another one somewhere lurking. The ceiling was cracked and yellow and the walls were orange YES burnt orange (take a look at the rooms you see on the website). We had to go outside thru a courtyard and up a very narrow staircase to our room (3). Heating did not work. Room resembled a prison cell. Only 1 UK TV channel and the volume was so low on it you could not hear it. The FREE INTERNET you get with the deal did not work once while we were there (there was a laminated sheet telling people this at reception so I feel this is a common occurance). Then we come to FREE BREAKFAST. Well what can I say? If you are still feeling the need to book this hotel, book without breakfast and go to one of the many local cafes. The tables are not cleared, no glasses, no pastries left (at 9am) it was just dire. Get your cup of coffee and get out! We changed rooms (to 1) after the first night (we were shown 50 - would recommend against that too) which was maringally better. As in it had wallpaper and looked bright but to be honest the damage had been done thinking it was acceptable to put anyone in room 3. To try and find some positives - the reception staff were attentive and the location is wonderful. Loads of fab shops on the street.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vmarr5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSG2, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2010

Dear Madam,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind interest in our hotel.
We noticed all the comments you made about our hotel and are deeply sorry to find out that your stay here did not meet with your expectations.

As we are currently undertaking a complete renovation of all the rooms, you can make sure that your opinion will be taken into consideration in that process.
Regarding your comment about the bed, we would like to inform you that the Bedding has been changed a few months ago.

It seems that you unfortunately arrived into the breakfast room just before refill but I can assure you that our clients do appreciate the pastries, the cereals, tea, and coffee that we offer since most them choose to take their breakfast in the hotel or their room (on demand).
We truly hope to welcome you in the future in order to show that we do believe in constant improvement.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I have stayed three nights in this charming little hotel in the 7th arrondisement. I have found the staff very friendly and enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was very generous. The only negative thing for me was the furniture being a little old; however, the rooms were very clean. The location was beyond convenient being walking distance from Musee D'Orsay, the Louvre and Place de la Concorde. I have enjoyed window shopping on the little streets around the hotel. I also rented a car, and I found a parking lot very close to the hotel, Sevre-Babylone. I highly recommend Hotel St. Germain to my friends and would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,804 in Paris
1,202 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#195 of 1,804 in Paris
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
K+K Hotel Cayre
K+K Hotel Cayre
#261 of 1,804 in Paris
2,334 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#274 of 1,804 in Paris
650 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#187 of 1,804 in Paris
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 88 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $157 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Germain is a property of charm and character. Upscale comfort and customised hospitality, right in the heart of Paris. Our 17th-century private mansion has not lost its early ambiance of a wealthy, middle-class residence. You will feel at home at this boutique hotel – a delightful, secluded mansion, offering a warm welcome. Enjoy our reception rooms with their exposed beams, settle down into our plump armchairs and enjoy a book from the library or relax in one of our enchantingly elegant guestrooms. Here is a place where you can take time to enjoy life and feel at home. You will be surprised and delighted! All our rooms, whether Classic or Superior and including our Junior Suite, are meticulously appointed – just relax and let yourself be cosseted. Enjoy the personalised service of an inimitable three-star hotel – guaranteed to exceed your every expectation. The hotel is located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, right next to the secret world of Rue du Bac, the heady ambiance of the Latin and Saint-Michel quarters, not to mention a host of museums, art galleries and boutiques. Reserve your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing