We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain
Ranked #208 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Really pleased with this choice of hotel. From arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming and even helped with a basic french lesson! The hotel overall was clean and well-presented and the superior room was great, with a good sized bathroom, although the double bed was actually two single beds pushed together but no real issue there. Breakfast was simple with good coffee and a buffet selection of cereals, pastries, yoghurts and juices but a perfectly good to start the day.

Rue de Bac itself is a great location, with a Metro station one minute’s walk from the hotel, plenty of shops, bars and cafes and the Seine, Louvre and Notre Dame close by. Place de Concorde and the Arc de Triomphe are only a few metro stops away. There are a number of good bars and restaurants on the Rue de Bac itself. Le Saint Germain (opposite metro station) offered good food and wine although the service varied from excellent on the Friday night to satisfactory on the Saturday. Cafe Varenne was excellent for coffee and croissants in the morning and vin chaud in the evening.

The area was busy on the Friday night but most places seemed to close on Saturday evening, so beware if you want to eat nearby on Saturday night. Could only find one restaurant on Rue de Bac that was open late but the service was friendly and the steak was fantastic. I believe it was the Restaurant L’affeach.

One of the hotel's recommendations was La Laiterie on Rue de Bellechasse. A 10 minute walk from the hotel, the food was fantastic and the service very good. They only appear to have one sitting so arriving early (they open at 8pm) or booking a table is recommended.

If you prefer a pack lunch, then head to Le Grand Epicerie food court at the opposite end of Rue de Bac to the Metro. It’s part of Le Grand Marche and has everything you could possibly need.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 15, a superior 'double'. Good size for Paris, with good bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 886 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Couldn't have been a better location. Walking distance to all the important museums, many restaurants to choose from and great window shopping. The hotel staff was friendly and gave wonderful suggestions. The room was immaculate and comfortable. Would give a hearty recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aardvark375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Definitely recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. Wonderful staff-friendly and welcoming. This hotel is small but perfectly formed!! We really enjoyed the continental breakfast provided and the room was very pretty and just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ceolireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Room was very nice. Breakfast was a great start to the day with good variety. Staff were very attentive to our needs. Location is great with short walk to Seine, Louvre, Orsay etc. we would recommend to anyone and return when we are back in paris

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Had a wonderful time in Paris staying at the Hotel Saint Germain. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean, we were lucky enough to even have a view of the Eiffel Tower from our room! Breakfast was great, plenty of bread, croissants & pastries even right at the end of the breakfast sitting.
The staff were extremely kind and could not have been more helpful in recommending sites and restaurants.
Cannot recommend Hotel Saint Germain highly enough, we can't wait to return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked this hotel based on previous revues for my parents 50th wedding anniversary trip to Paris.
From the very first email sent prior to their arrival to the check out , it was the best hotel experience EVER !!!!
Hotel stuff in our case Slim and Pierre were phenomenal. They don't provide just service. They provide unmatchable care that i have never experienced anywhere in the world. And i travel on a weekly basis.
They even bought some stuff at my request and placed them in the room.
Every email across the idea took just few seconds to get a response. Someone always working....
Rooms small but hey thats France , Europe we expected exactly that.
Besides you just come to sleep there :) 23 out of 24 hours you spending outside right? And those beds ??? Ulala !!!! :):):) so comfortable !!!
Breakfast fantastic and so fresh. Plenty to eat , great service there as well.
Need help booking anything anywhere ? Just ask at the front desk. It will b taken care of.
My parents who do not speak either French or English said they felt like there were at home oasis there.
They would come back anytime in a heartbeat and I will definitely stay there with my family this coming summer while visiting France.
So bottom line if u planning a trip to Paris i would not even bother checking out other places - go for
this wonderful place. U will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karolinun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed here before and both times have been wonderful. The hotel is in a great location being both close to the subway or a short walk down to the D'Orsay or the beautiful Rodin museum. If you are a foodie, then you will enjoy the proximity to the Grand Epicerie. Rue du Bac on which the hotel is located offers many dining options if you don't feel like traveling further afield.
As for the staff at the hotel, you will find them very charming and always willing to help. The breakfast in the morning is very nice- you will have a selection of sweet breads, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juices, and of course hot coffee. We cannot wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LHoneychurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#134 of 1,802 in Paris
865 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#123 of 1,802 in Paris
1,706 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#174 of 1,802 in Paris
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 88 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $151 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Germain is a property of charm and character. Upscale comfort and customised hospitality, right in the heart of Paris. Our 17th-century private mansion has not lost its early ambiance of a wealthy, middle-class residence. You will feel at home at this boutique hotel – a delightful, secluded mansion, offering a warm welcome. Enjoy our reception rooms with their exposed beams, settle down into our plump armchairs and enjoy a book from the library or relax in one of our enchantingly elegant guestrooms. Here is a place where you can take time to enjoy life and feel at home. You will be surprised and delighted! All our rooms, whether Classic or Superior and including our Junior Suite, are meticulously appointed – just relax and let yourself be cosseted. Enjoy the personalised service of an inimitable three-star hotel – guaranteed to exceed your every expectation. The hotel is located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, right next to the secret world of Rue du Bac, the heady ambiance of the Latin and Saint-Michel quarters, not to mention a host of museums, art galleries and boutiques. Reserve your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing