We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pierre Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain
Ranked #198 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked Hotel St. Germain on a recent visit - found it by fluke on the web. Loved it. The hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are incredibly friendly. And Pierre at the front desk couldn't have been more accommodating. HSG is very convenient located to the Latin Quarter, really nice neighbourhood, nearby shops and transportation links. Easy walk to Notre Dame, Museum D'Orsay and the Eiffel Tower.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suite - it was very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Farley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Germain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 868 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Staying for 2 nights with my partner excellent location, beautifully decorated rooms, spotlessly clean, comfy beds and friendly staff we are enjoying our stay and would definitely return. The rooms are small but there is enough space to move around and place luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFamilyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Saint Germain Hotel for a total of 3 nights.

Upon arrival we felt very lucky and happy to have chosen the location/hotel; It is on a quiet row of boutiques and cafés and all of the main areas of interest are in walking distance (take comfortable shoes my feet ended up bruised!)

The room was beautifully decorated, but small. We knew this from reading the other reviews and after all, it is only a base.

The downsides (which were quite big ones for me), were poor lighting in the bathroom, and no mirror at the dressing table; the basin was too deep to lean over and do my makeup and there was nowhere else to do it- as well as my hair. Just a small mirror on the dresser would give extra points!!
Also there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, nor a fridge unless requested but asking for one wouldn't be worth the hassle.. It would be easier just to have one as standard.
The price for basic drinks is high and we bought an emergency umbrella for twenty euros which I thought was extortionate!

There is no hotel bar which would be nice but this kind of thing cannot be changed due to size.

Overall a lovely stay, clean, traditional, and smells fresh. Lovely, polite breakfast staff who made you feel at home.

Take a trip to:
'Le Petit Chaise'- oldest restaurant in Paris about 5 minute walk from the hotel.
'Eric Kaser'- Artisan Bakery, Ten minute walk
'Chapon'- Chocolate shop (just for the mousse au chocolate!!)


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Came alone expecting a nice room with friendly staff. Staff was nice but not Manager. Given a tiny room that was cold and dark even with shades open and heating on . Shower door was broken, requested it be fixed , not, then told by Manager I was the only one who ever complained, made me feel very bad, finally after 4 days moved to nicer room with warmth and light. No compensation or apology. Had to move my own luggage to new room, never stay here again, even though great location. Rest of Parisians were very friendly and warm to me sorry I had this one sore spot

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank szeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsg P, Manager at Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear M. Zieger,

Hope you had a nice trip back.
We would like to thank you for your review and your stay to our hotel.
We are very surprised and extremely sorry to read your comments.
On your request, the second day of your stay we did look after the door of your shower and as per our technical manager visit, the doors was normally working.
Pierre, from our reception team, the same day, did come back to you with the information given from our technical manager and suggest to change the room .
On the 3rd day, we spoke together at the desk ; you ask for a compensation at the reception and I had explained to you that we will not give a compensation therefore I suggest to change your room the same day: you said that you did need time to think about it and i also said “for the first time we did have this remark for this room and I was surprised of the inconvenience caused to you”.
This remark was for me a way to explain my regrets for the disagreement and my attitude was not unfriendly. Mr Ziegler I do my best everyday with my team to satisfy our guest and I am very sorry if my answer was not appropriate. I will be definitely more careful .
The 4th day , early morning, you asked Slim from our reception team to change the room and you left the hotel , on your way back at 1 pm the room was ready and your luggage were already in the room. We gave a room of the same category as per our avaibility during your stay.

I stay at your entire disposal on my following email address manager@parishotelsg.com.
Thank you again for your comments
Best regards
Virginie Daveu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a beautifully managed hotel. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the location excellent, and the staff professional and courteous. Free wifi and a lovely reading room enhance the experience. t's a stylish place.

Room Tip: Typical of Paris, the rooms are small. Best to pay more for one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lns224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Tiny, tiny rooms. There's a lift but only accommodates 2 at a time. Our luggage had to go up separately. The best things about this hotel was the location and Pierre at the front desk who seemed to work 24/7. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texangal1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsg P, Manager at Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your remarks with us.

We are very surprised and extremely sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations.
Concerning the room and the lift size, we are located in the historical part of Paris, our charming hotel is actually an old building from 17th century, renovated in 2012.
Most of the charming “boutique hotel” in Paris will not match the room size that you can find in United States hotels.

Regarding your rating on the cleanliness of the room, it is unfortunate during your stay and also on your review, you didn’t mention the details of your disappointment.
We attach the greatest importance to the cleanliness of the property and we always try to improve; We would appreciate your feedback on that point to our management address: manager@parishotelsg.com.
Pierre and the team work as day shift, on a legal planning in order to give the best service to our customers until the night shift comes over. Labor laws in France are very strict, we do respect them and we do not ask our staff to work 24h/7.
We really appreciate and we thank you for your comment on his good service and the location of the hotel.
For your future stay in Paris, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, I will be happy to reserve you our Junior Suite which is our biggest room or suggest you another hotel part of our group as you could see on our website.

Yours Sincerely,

Laurence
Assistante de Direction/Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel Saint Germain is the best hotel we have stayed in on our trips to Paris. As we entered the room we were faced with two doors, one for the bedroom and one for the bathroom. The bedroom was delightful, clean and airy, with no feeling of "smallness". The bathroom was exceptionally clean, modern, and perfect for our needs. A pleasant breakfast was available every morning and the staff were all so kind and helpful. Due to transport problems we needed the help of hotel staff and we discovered they were willing to go the extra mile for us. Absolutely brilliant in all respects. A first class hotel and one which we will definitely use again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#194 of 1,804 in Paris
1,179 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#254 of 1,804 in Paris
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#186 of 1,804 in Paris
775 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#181 of 1,804 in Paris
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 88 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $164 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Germain is a property of charm and character. Upscale comfort and customised hospitality, right in the heart of Paris. Our 17th-century private mansion has not lost its early ambiance of a wealthy, middle-class residence. You will feel at home at this boutique hotel – a delightful, secluded mansion, offering a warm welcome. Enjoy our reception rooms with their exposed beams, settle down into our plump armchairs and enjoy a book from the library or relax in one of our enchantingly elegant guestrooms. Here is a place where you can take time to enjoy life and feel at home. You will be surprised and delighted! All our rooms, whether Classic or Superior and including our Junior Suite, are meticulously appointed – just relax and let yourself be cosseted. Enjoy the personalised service of an inimitable three-star hotel – guaranteed to exceed your every expectation. The hotel is located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, right next to the secret world of Rue du Bac, the heady ambiance of the Latin and Saint-Michel quarters, not to mention a host of museums, art galleries and boutiques. Reserve your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing