We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain
Ranked #204 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, it was everything we wanted in a perfect location near all the main monuments, great restaurants, and bus or metro lines...staff were great, facilities could not be faulted..

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 874 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I visited Paris with my 14-year-old daughter in late July, and we loved staying at Hotel Saint Germain. The location is ideal -- we walked to the Seine and the Louvre from there, as well as , to Musee D'Orsay, and the Eiffel Tower ... and one day took a longer walk along Champs Elysees to the Arc de Triomphe. For longer trips, the Rue du Bac subway stop was five minutes away. About three mornings while we were there, I went for a run first thing in the gardens adjoining the Louvre. Our room was very clean, comfortable and charming; it was nice to be able to open our window. Continental breakfasts were very good -- maybe a bit more cheese and pastries than I would like, mostly because I can't control myself around that type of food -- but you could just have yogurt and fruit if you wanted. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and accommodating. A bit of noise from hall was only downside -- we sometimes thought someone was knocking on our door, but it was the door beside ours. It was convenient having free Wi-Fi -- something we did not have later in our hotel in London. Room was a bit small, but we didn't mind at all; the charm of the hotel overall made up for that. Staying in this hotel added immeasurably to our enjoyment of our Paris visit -- thank you to the staff for a great visit. We hope to be back someday.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor on the street side of the hotel. We were not bothered by street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I just returned from a trip to Paris. This jewel of a hotel was perfect for us. The staff was kind and friendly - Wanda and Pierre helped our kids practice their French. They were also always attentive to what we needed. The rooms were actually bigger than I was expecting. Nice bathrooms with tubs and showers. Super comfortable beds...we slept well every night. One of our rooms looked out over the quaint inner courtyard. Breakfast was tasty - pastries, yoghurt, cereal for the kids, and fresh fruit salad. I also liked the location - about 6 blocks from the Louvre, one block from the metro, and one block from the Blvd St Germain which had nice shops and restaurants. We felt like we were close to many things but not in the middle of a busy or touristy part of town. Overall, we were so pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms that look over the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I did my research for hours trying to find the perfect hotel for our stay in Paris. I was looking for a safe and accessible neighborhood with a comfortable bed and updated bathroom. This hotel was perfect, and it exceeded all of my needs.

We flew into Paris mid day Wednesday, Pierre was working the desk (younger associate in his late twenties, if I had to guess). He was GREAT! Air France lost our luggage and the staff, especially Pierre was extremely helpful! They provided us with an outlet converter, called to check on our luggage numerous times, helped us with directions, they made a call to our next hotel in Champagne to check on some things for us and they were very friendly throughout our stay.

I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. The bed was comfortable, the street was quiet, the staff gets to know you since there are only 40 or so rooms. The neighborhood has plenty of shops and cafes, this boutique hotel was a perfect and affordable choice. If I had to sum it up I would classify it as Parisian chic! Oh, and how can I forget the chocolate brioche was AMAZING at breakfast! Breakfast was served from 7-10 and consisted of fresh pastries, a wide selection of specialty tea, Nespresso, juice, yogurt, cereal, granola, and cheese.

We were able to easily visit: the Eiffel tower via subway, Notra Dame Cathedral via water taxi, Locks of Love bridge, the Latin Quarter (walked back to the hotel), the Musee d'Orsay (via subway), we also rented a car and went out to Epernay, Champagne. Since we were there late August we did run across a few shops and restaurants that were closed. Be sure to call ahead and make a reservation or check on hours of operation if you are visiting Paris in August.
The subway workers were even helpful. For 6 Euros we were able to purchase an all day subway pass and for 11 Euros we purchased a 24 hour water taxi pass.

Cons
The elevator was very small and a bit noisy (we could hear it in our room)
They didn't provide conditioner only shampoo
No bottled water in the room
No emergency supplies (I am used to staying at chain hotels, if you forget toiletries the front desk usually has a small stock of sample sized necessities. We had to purchase toothpaste and the pharmacies close by were a bit expensive. 5 Euros for a small tube of toothpaste is crazy.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotterCA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent a week here recently. It was close to the Metro and within walking distance of other sites. Pierre and Lawrence were amazing, resolving issue with pickup at the airport (who never turned up) in a flash. The night staff were also very informative, we spent a lot of nights chatting to them when we would come in. We would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Our room was number 40 on the 4th Floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Exceptionally service. Wanda, Simone, Pierre. Amazing caring staff . Always trying to help they recommended great restaurants made reservation . Great location 10 min walk to the louvre Siene river cruises Eiffel tower walking 30 min . Just take hop on off bus or boat. Everything is close enough to make your own way. Line ups at the tower were 2 hours . I would definitely stay at saint Germain again rooms are small and beautiful just like pictures. Fresh breakfast every morning up until 10'30 which is great. We loved it there the people are classy and just want your stay to be everything you want and expect when your on vacation. The area is quiet for sleeping and the window covering are nice and dark, rooms are small put organized well , great dollars value to. You will not be disappointed with this hotel if you like the personal touch like a b&b. Diane & Larry from Brampton Ont

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 262Honeymoon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a fabulous hotel. The staff especially Pierre and Laurence were outstanding! They were more than willing to help with directions, recommendations and very, very friendly. The room was adorable, very charming and comfortable. All the sights and attractions were within walking distance or a metro hide away. We will be staying here again when we come back!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Irwin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#189 of 1,803 in Paris
1,208 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#162 of 1,803 in Paris
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
K+K Hotel Cayre
K+K Hotel Cayre
#262 of 1,803 in Paris
2,340 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#269 of 1,803 in Paris
653 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#183 of 1,803 in Paris
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 88 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $149 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Germain is a property of charm and character. Upscale comfort and customised hospitality, right in the heart of Paris. Our 17th-century private mansion has not lost its early ambiance of a wealthy, middle-class residence. You will feel at home at this boutique hotel – a delightful, secluded mansion, offering a warm welcome. Enjoy our reception rooms with their exposed beams, settle down into our plump armchairs and enjoy a book from the library or relax in one of our enchantingly elegant guestrooms. Here is a place where you can take time to enjoy life and feel at home. You will be surprised and delighted! All our rooms, whether Classic or Superior and including our Junior Suite, are meticulously appointed – just relax and let yourself be cosseted. Enjoy the personalised service of an inimitable three-star hotel – guaranteed to exceed your every expectation. The hotel is located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, right next to the secret world of Rue du Bac, the heady ambiance of the Latin and Saint-Michel quarters, not to mention a host of museums, art galleries and boutiques. Reserve your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing