We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than its 3 Star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint Germain

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Saint Germain
Ranked #202 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better than its 3 Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A good friend recommended this hotel to us and given she had rebooked for next month this was good enough for me. Location in Saint Germaine a classy part of Paris is superb, close proximity to all the major tourist attractions. Above all the staff at this hotel are exceptional nothing is a problem. Take note of their restaurant recommendations they know! This hotel packs a punch well above its 3 star rating.

Room Tip: This is central Paris so rooms are small so factor this in in choosing a room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilHBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    282
    41
    16
    11
See reviews for
151
456
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Really enjoyed our 3 nights at the 27 room boutique hotel. You are right amongst the character cafes and boutiques that we expect to find in Paris. The staff are more than helpful and friendly. Great recommendations for evening dining and arranging airport transfer.
Rooms are tight and our first room (14) we asked to change because it was difficult to negotiate around the small double bed without feeling cramped. We moved to room 32 with a king sized bed and were able to move around better and had a more comfortable sleep in the bigger bed.
I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are between 15 and 19 m2 so ask for a larger room and bed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NapierHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Saint Germain and could not have had a better experience. Every single member of staff have been very helpful and polite from the minute we arrived. The hotel itself has been refurbished in the past couple of years and has a beautiful feel to it. The room (we were in 14) was beautifully done and the location in the 7th Arrondissement is perfect. A lovely continental breakfast was included in our price and that was a great way to start the day to explore Paris.

I would highly recommend this hotel (we have a friend coming here later this month already) and will definitely be staying here again next time we are in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have been to Paris about 2 years ago and wanted to stay in a boutique hotel instead of one of the big chains. I did my research on trip advisor and found this beautiful hotel. We were very happy with our stay here and Pierre was excellent and could not do enough for you. We stayed in the superior room and it was a lovely quiet room and very clean. The lifts are true Parisian lift and very small but that was the only low down. Everything else was simply perfect. We won't hesitate to recommend people to stay here. Great value and excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first trip to Paris, and the Hotel St. Germain gave us what we were looking for...a quaint Parisian style hotel, in a great location within walking distance of many attractions. We spent four nights here. Breakfast was included in our package which included fresh pastries, yogurt, cereals, juices, coffee...just enough to give us fuel for our long days of sightseeing ahead. The lift is small, but as I understand it, this is quite common in Europe. It was a cozy fit for our two large suitcases and ourselves! Our room was small and quaint and very adequate. The washroom was modern....no shampoo or conditioner. We didn't once turn the TV on, so can't comment on that. Didn't come to Paris to watch TV. Bed was comfortable and room very clean. The staff are very visible and willing to help if you need. Wifi was included and worked just fine. You won't find a mini fridge in your room, but I understand they have a fridge you can use if you want/ need to. These are small conveniences which we could certainly live without. Enjoy the neighborhood it is located in. Lots of great little bistros. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Bonjour. Have just returned home from France, where we had the pleasure of staying at Hotel St Germain for three nights. It is situated just a few blocks from Musee D'Orsay and countless other galleries. Our room was quaint, with beautiful bathroom and comfy bed and linens. Breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful with directions etc. We would highly recommend this fabulous hotel .
Irene

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this charming small hotel in the 7th Arrondissement - very well situated -- a short walk to the Musee d'Orsay and other attractions. The hotel's room are small - to be expected in Paris, but a very good value. Our room was very clean - a must for us, and although the bathroom was quite small - perfect with an "American style shower on the wall" a must for my husband. Breakfast each morning located in the comfortable public seating areas was delightful with fantastic coffee and pastries - a perfect start to the day. All of the staff of Saint Germain are wonderful, helpful and kind. We would not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and although the hotel is located on a busy street, noise was not a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#130 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
K+K Hotel Cayre
K+K Hotel Cayre
#237 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#183 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Varenne
Hotel de Varenne
#100 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Saint Germain
Address: 88 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Saint Germain, a charming mansion, opens the doors to its 29 rooms at the 88 rue du Bac. This 17th Century private hotel, knew how to preserve the atmosphere of the ancient bourgeois manor.Welcoming and enchanting, the hotel renovated in 2011, welcomes you in an elegant and refined atmosphereA house where one feels welcome, strolling through the living rooms with exposed wooden beams, sitting in a comfortable armchair while flipping through a book from the libraryHere, one takes the time to live like at home.SERVICES AND EQUIPEMENTS29 renovated no smoking roomsFlat screen TV with international channelsPersonal Safety Box in each roomHair dryer in each roomA la carte drinks available on request at the Front DeskRefrigerator available on request at the Front DeskAir condioning & heatingTelephoneFree wifi internet accessLaptop available at the Front Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Prestigia, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing