We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel with amazing service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain
Ranked #204 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel St Germain for 4 nights in March 2013. Absolutely cannot say enough wonderful things about it. The outstanding feature for me was how pleasant and accomodating the staff was, namely, Laurence, Pierre, and Slim. They all went above and beyond, and were so gracious. Made restaurant reservations and reserved a car to the airport, opened wine, helped with directions..you name it!
The hotel was very clean. Our room was small, as most are in Europe, but had everything we needed. Loved the breakfast. Fresh pastry and bread, espresso and coffee, yogurt, cereal and fresh fruit.
We weren't familiar with the area, but it was the perfect location. Walking distance of the Louvre, Notre Dame and Eiffel Tower. Must visit Patisserie de Reves a block away for chocolate croissants. Also, La Petite Chaise a few blocks away was perfect for a 3 course dinner on a Sunday for 33 euros. Perfect french onion soup and creme brulee. Pierre Herme for chocolate and macarons.
Hotel was a great value and a truly pleasant experience!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor facing the street, so it was a little loud being on the street, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevoPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 890 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel St Germain for 4 nights as a celebration of our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived to the very enthusiastic and friendly greeting by our host Pierre to checkout our stay was perfect. I could go on and on, but basically, breakfast..awesome..fruit, pastries, cereal and the coffee is GOOD! Across the road is a lovely quaint little bottle shop and the lady is so helpful (be sure to ask her to cork your bottle for you or bring a corkscrew). The French are so friendly and helpful...you just need to have good manners and in turn will be assisted to the enth degree! A few shops down the road on the Rue du Bac you will find delis (amazing cheeses and breads) fish shop, food markets, restaurants and more...very french and very wonderful. We will most definitely be back to the Hotel St Germain with its quaint and homely rooms, staff that you could not fault, and wonderful service. Be sure to ask Pierre for the name of the oldest restaurant in Paris!...its just down the road and you will not regret it...very reasonable and the food is fabulous. Bon Voyage and enjoy your stay in this magical city!

Room Tip: We were given a room in the courtyard which was very quiet and quaint. Also, we ate breakfast early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenV1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My second stay here in 5 years. The rooms have been re-furbished, and new windows help dampen street noise, but the hotel remains no frills - no bathroom accoutrements, no mini-bar etc. , the later making it difficult for me trying to keep medication cold - I was told that ice was not available. That considered, the bed and pillows were above average and the service at the desk could not be better. This is a great location with Rue du Bac metro on the corner, and a short wall to Musee D'Orsay , Saint Germaine De Pres and everything else. Lovely neighborhood and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a late review but researced places to stay in Paris and this one ticked all the boxes as we wanted to stay in Saint Germain.Stayed with another couple for 4 nights and had the best time.
The rooms were so French just adorable as were the owners. They were so accommodating in any thing we asked for from opening the front door, sending emails and packing us picnic utensils and glasses etc and guiding us where to go. Our stay was brilliant and the street, rue de Bac was just delightful and close to the station. I have lived in Asia and now back in Australia and travelled extensively so stayed in quite a number of places. This was one I will treasure. Very clean and a delightful breakfast. What wonderful hosts! I will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatSand27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel was just what we expected. Nice boutique Parisian hotel in a great location of the St. Germain des pres area of Paris situated on a quiet street with cafes on each corner of the hotel's street block. Front desk was very helpful, spoke English and able to make restaurant reservations/confirmations for us. The continental breakfast included in the cost of the hotel room was very nice every morning. Our room was clean and lovely. The bathroom & shower were small, but this is expected in Paris. The toilet was located in its own little room, which was quite cute. Nice high ceiling in our room (#10) with a big floor to ceiling window that you could open to look out onto the street below (our room was located on the "1st floor" which is actually the second floor of the hotel). The hotel will hold your luggage for you on both the check-in and check-out day of your visit if you arrive early/leave late, so you don't have to lug it around the city with you. Nice turn down service every day. Bed was very comfortable. Was a great stay!

Room Tip: Room #10 is located only one floor up from the lobby, so its great if you don't want to wait for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Setbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of February, a short getaway before the new baby arrives.

The hotel is very well situated for easy walking to both the Musee d'Orsay and the Louvre. We also took an evening stroll through Les Invalides. All easy to reach, even when pregnant and starting to waddle!

All the members of staff we met were friendly and helpful.

The lift, as you might expect from a small hotel in Paris, was teeny. I wouldn't have wanted to be much bigger. Not for the claustrophobic.

Our room was lovely, despite being at the back. Very quiet for most of the day. It was possible to hear people in adjoining rooms on occasion, but this didn't bother us. The wallpaper was rather startling, orange with a Chinese print. The room has plenty of storage / hanging space and there were spare blankets in a cupboard.

No tea and coffee making facilities and no fridge (although the website says you can ask for one if you need it). As it was February and cold we kept our fruit juice on the balcony ledge outside the window, which worked perfectly.

My only complaint about the room would be the bathroom and the way it steams up so quickly with no way to let the steam out. Normally this wouldn't worry me, but my pregant self overheats fast and I was left gasping. The bathroom door stays open, but the door between the bedroom and the little hall doesn't. We had to wedge it with a bin and leave the bedroom window open.

Unfortunately I couldn't help but take showers, because that shower was one of the best I've ever experienced in a hotel. It was amazing. Of course, the attractive glass shower screen is completely hopeless and you end up making a lake on the bathroom floor no matter how careful you are.

The breakfasts are brilliant. Fresh pastries, baguette, conserves, cheese, cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt, fruit juices, coffee and a HUGE selection of tea. Sets you up well for a day of exploring.

I would definitely come back in the future and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelestialWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is well situated in a safe area of Paris with plenty of shops, restaurants and bars nearby. The nearest metro station "Rue du Bac" is more or less 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
When we entered the hotel for the first time, Pierre immediately opened the door for us and helped us with our luggage. This guy is wonderful!
The hotel is very clean and nicely decorated.
We had a superior room and the room had been renovated recently, very nice and typical French room!
The breakfast is limited but the selections are fresh and very tastful!

The only downside for me personnaly was the fact that the rooms were not soundproofed. (tiny walls)

I will certainly book this hotel again when I come back to Paris! To be recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#138 of 1,804 in Paris
866 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#134 of 1,804 in Paris
1,731 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#72 of 1,804 in Paris
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 88 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $157 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Germain is a property of charm and character. Upscale comfort and customised hospitality, right in the heart of Paris. Our 17th-century private mansion has not lost its early ambiance of a wealthy, middle-class residence. You will feel at home at this boutique hotel – a delightful, secluded mansion, offering a warm welcome. Enjoy our reception rooms with their exposed beams, settle down into our plump armchairs and enjoy a book from the library or relax in one of our enchantingly elegant guestrooms. Here is a place where you can take time to enjoy life and feel at home. You will be surprised and delighted! All our rooms, whether Classic or Superior and including our Junior Suite, are meticulously appointed – just relax and let yourself be cosseted. Enjoy the personalised service of an inimitable three-star hotel – guaranteed to exceed your every expectation. The hotel is located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, right next to the secret world of Rue du Bac, the heady ambiance of the Latin and Saint-Michel quarters, not to mention a host of museums, art galleries and boutiques. Reserve your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing