We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great staff, delicious breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain
Ranked #200 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in early May 2012 and I can't fault it. The rooms were small, but I didn't expect any bigger for a Paris hotel. It was beautifully decorated, with a lovely shower room en suite and separate toilet. The staff were so helpful, they booked a restaurant for us on the night we arrived and suggested a good location for another evening.

The breakfast which is included is delicious, it's continental but more than enough. We didn't miss the fried food at all! Beautiful coffee, crossaints, french bread, jams, compote, fruit, cereal, juice etc - and lovely hot chocolate too. We couldn't stop eating!

The location was perfect - and I honestly think for the price you pay it is an amazing deal. We couldn't recommend this hotel enough - and next time a friend or family member is going to Paris we're going to demand that they stay there!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor (room 20) and was lovely - I don't think all rooms have a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 896 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very convenient small hotel for all the attractions of the left bank - a short walk from the Louvre too. Rooms well modernised - but even in a superior double the bathroom required Houdini type agility to enter and exit. Breakfast was very good. Above all, however, the staff were friendly, cheerful and very helpful - at all times! The latter is a first for us in Paris where an air of haughty disdain for "les rosbifs" seems far more normal.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about the size of your bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardreynolds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsg P, General Manager at Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, glad you like your experience in our hotel.
Our main goal is to satisfy every wish of our guest during their stay in our amazing capitale.
Hope to welcome soon again
My best regards
Virginie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed seven nights at the Hotel Saint Germain (April 2012) and by the end we were chomping at the bit to write a glowing review of the place.

The staff were amazingly helpful, polite, and eager to be of service. We could always tell they were pleased we were there and they valued our business. It was impossible not to love Pierre at the front desk. He was a delight to interact with.

The hotel served a terrific french breakfast each morning with many pastries to choose from and lots of coffee (espresso, cafe au lait, etc.) and juice choices as well. It was the meal we looked forward to most each day.

Our room was small but very comfortable and attractive. It overlooked Rue du Bac which is a terrific little neighborhood street.

The free wifi was excellent, allowing us to Skype home to our kids and also to plan our outings each day.

The location of the hotel is terrific. The neighborhood itself is less touristy and more authentic. It also happens to be a higher-end part of town. The shops and boutiques are very elegant and unique.

The Prime Minister of France has his offices just down the street, and this means the hotel is in a very safe part of the city.

The hotel is close to two metro stations and is centrally located on the Left Bank. Getting to any Paris destination was easy.

The Hotel Saint Germain really added to our enjoyment of this wonderful city. It is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

First let me begin by sharing my perspective on Paris. I have posted many reviews about hotels in Paris, and I especially enjoy writing when the experience is superb. My 11th trip (coincidentally spent in chambre onze on le premier etage) was a short business stay and religious pilgrimage to l'Eglise de Medaille Miraculeuse just a few steps away on rue du bac. I wish my three days and four nights had been longer. What a pleasure to stay in such a classic hotel, in a traditional Parisian neighborhood, for such a good value. Booking ahead of time, I was able to secure a healthy discount from the standard rate. Each member of the very professional staff responded enthusiatically, politely and with a rare warmth that made me feel not only welcome as a guest, but almost like a member of the Hotel St. Germain's extended family. (Wanda, the receptionist, was as kind a person as you will ever find, in France or the US.) This hotel deserves all of the accolades for personal attention and service written in the Trip Advisor reviews. And in my case, far beyond the expected and commonplace. My room was exactly as pictured, precisely where I wished it to be, and spotlessly clean. My room faced the front of the hotel, just above the sidewalk and rue du bac, and is pictured throughout the informative website..Our hosts take great pride in their hotel, and I can't begin to describe how well I slept (the bed was perfect) and how quiet the neighborhood became after, again, eleven. Are you picking up on a theme here? When I needed several more color hard copies, 20 pages each, for a presentation I was giving at the Agence de Developpement de France, the hotel's very sharp, very cute, concierge, Laurente, leapt to the task at once. When we had some computer problems, a very competent and efficient hotel manager stepped in, solved the problem quicky, with a smile and twinkle in her eye, and made certain I was pleased with the quality of the printed copies. After we spotted that one page had a flaw, it was reprinted, as the French say, avex doucement, by the manager, who also was, as we say in the US, "easy on the eyes.". Back to business now, my copies were perfect.. And there was no additional charge on my bill. Having stayed in other less accommodating, more highly rated hotels, I can tell you a charge of upwards of $50 would not have been surprising. Breakfast was served in two lovely rooms filled with books, objets des arts and antiques. The petit dejeuner was plentiful, of fine quality, especially the baked goods and breads, and my preference for a well made cafe aux lait was met with a smile from the staff, who freely replenished it. I cannot wait to return to this magnificent, beautifully run hotel. It is worthy of at least one more star for the expert customer service and gracious charm of its staff alone. My only regret is not returning to the states with the young Laurente, who expressed a desire to visit the US again!

Room Tip: Room 11 on the first floor works well for one or two. And the bath is newly renovated,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbradyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsg P, General Manager at Hotel Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear Sir Brady,

Hope you are well and had a safe return home.
I would like to express my gratitude for taking time to share your experience at the hotel Saint Germain.
It was a great pleasure to welcome and assist you during your stay in our renovated hotel.
We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the hotel on your next visite in Paris
Again thank you M. Bradly.
Sincerely
Virginie
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

extra friendly and helpful staff, they catered to all my requests. The only thing I didn't like is that they don't have a porter to help with the luggage, and that there are no toiletries, aside from that it's very good value for your money, and on a quiet street, which was perfect for resting,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

To add to my title: This hotel is newly renovated (with some work and attendant noise in the rear courtyard area still being completed) and the rooms, while small, are not as small as I have found in similar establishments in Paris. Ours was the least expensive category, but had three (small closets -- I'm not kidding!!) and a brand new beautiful bathroom.

While the room lacked a mini-bar/refrigerator, that was more than compensated for by the buffet breakfast included in the rate. Here, the staff, as the people at the front desk did, were acting like waiters working for tips!

I highly recommend this hotel if this is the type of hotel you seek.

Needless to say, the location is magnifique for either museum goers or shoppers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzafcionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hotel Saint Germain is a boutique hotel. If you are looking for large, standarded rooms this isn't the place for you. However, if you are looking for a charming European hotel with character you will be very happy you choose this hotel over others.

The rooms are small, but wonderfully furnished and decorated. There are a few period pieces - wooden desk, chair, and wardrobe - and a comfortable bed. Depending on what kind of room you choose, your shower/bath can be quite small too. The front desk has an iron and iron board if you need one; they aren't in every room.

A "French" breakfast is included in the rate. Pastries, yogurt, tea/coffee, and fruit juices are included. This is one of the best continental breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. Free wifi is available too.

The location is fantastic - cafes, restaurants, and shops surround the hotel. Also, it only takes about 15 minute walk to the Louvre. The Rue du Bac metro station is less than 5 minutes away, so it is easy to get anywhere else in the city. There is an amazing French chocolate shop around the corner (Dalloyau) too.

I traveled to Paris for business with a colleague and stayed at Hotel Saint Germain for three nights. We don't speak French very well so we were especially grateful the hotel staff spoke very good English. The staff were helpful in directing us to restaurants and shopping as well as ordering us taxis.

Overall, a great hotel! I will absolutely stay here again when I am in Paris.

Room Tip: A classic room with a bath (a step above a classic room with a shower) is worth the extra money and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#144 of 1,805 in Paris
872 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#134 of 1,805 in Paris
1,756 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain

Address: 88 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $156 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Germain is a property of charm and character. Upscale comfort and customised hospitality, right in the heart of Paris. Our 17th-century private mansion has not lost its early ambiance of a wealthy, middle-class residence. You will feel at home at this boutique hotel – a delightful, secluded mansion, offering a warm welcome. Enjoy our reception rooms with their exposed beams, settle down into our plump armchairs and enjoy a book from the library or relax in one of our enchantingly elegant guestrooms. Here is a place where you can take time to enjoy life and feel at home. You will be surprised and delighted! All our rooms, whether Classic or Superior and including our Junior Suite, are meticulously appointed – just relax and let yourself be cosseted. Enjoy the personalised service of an inimitable three-star hotel – guaranteed to exceed your every expectation. The hotel is located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, right next to the secret world of Rue du Bac, the heady ambiance of the Latin and Saint-Michel quarters, not to mention a host of museums, art galleries and boutiques. Reserve your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing