We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location with Amazing Hotel Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baudelaire Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Baudelaire Opera
Ranked #1,267 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Location with Amazing Hotel Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Located 5 mins walk from a metro station & the famous opera,this is a quaint hotel owned by a Brit lady and her children.

The small rooms can be over looked courtesy the smiling faces which greet you at the reception with their ever so friendly nature.

Small rooms,equipped with a tiny table fan & a decent sized room,take this place only for their wonderful service and good location.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor,room 41,which was with a nice street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
39
58
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel room itself could use some sprucing up but it was perfectly suitable for a weekend spot. Opera (location and station) are just a quick walk away and it's really convenient to use the Metro when staying at this hotel. The staff are nice and friendly too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed for 4 days and was glad I picked this place. The room is very, very small, but it is clean, comfortable and the price is affordable. This is a perfect place to use as a base if you plan to be out seeing Paris. The location is *great* if you plan to visit the Louvre and surrounding area.

You can pay 10 Euros extra for breakfast which includes fresh-brewed (just for you) coffee and hot milk (or tea), a glass of orange juice, a delicious croissant with butter & jam and French bread, too.

The staff people all speak both French and English. They are very helpful and friendly.

Please note that they only have body-wash-soap (no shampoo), and my room does not have a hair dryer, but they might have one to loan. There is a large, flat-screen TV (note: ALL TV shows and movies are dubbed in French) and a mini-fridge where I kept my bottle of water and juice that I bought at a little grocery store around the corner.

Room Tip: There is a small elevator, so being on the 5th floor was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Directeur général at Hotel Baudelaire Opera, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your feedback and helpful comments.
Our breakfast now also includes fresh fruit and yoghurts, so our guests can enjoy a full breakfast before going out exploring for the day. And before you go exploring... don't forget to ask the reception for helpful tips about restaurants and fun museums... there is so much to see in the heart of Paris!

We hope to see you again soon :)
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in June along with my Daughter and my niece. We took a cab from the Gard de Noir 15 euros but that included 1 euro for each case, we could have (and did ) walk it takes about 20mins.The owner is an English lady who along with her daughters are as helpful as they possibly can be. They and the rest of the staff speak fluent French/English so there are no problems with anything.On entering our room the first thing you see is a spiral staircase which takes you to the bedroom ! downstairs we had a small shower and toilet ,a couch that opens to another bed , 2 tv's showing multi language channels, some in English, comfy beds, minibar and safe. Breakfast was 10euros but there are many little cafes nearby if you want to eat on the go. Close to the Louvre and the River, get the batteu bus and buy a two or three day pass, great value and stops at all the sites, you can hop on and off better than a bus or cab !. Before you go join the site thats called La Forchette. , its free to join and gives you discounted restaurant deals .we ate at a restaurant called Chez Perrot at 50% off, the food was fabulous ,the site made reservations for us too !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stopped staying at this hotel not because it was bad - au contraire - but because corporate policy dictates that I stay at a more expensive one with better business faciltiies.

I used to stay at this charming family-run hotel when I was with another company and thoroughly enjoyed it - the service, the hospitality, the location. I was rather shocked to read bad reviews, in particular by PrincessZan (26 Dec 2011) & Kittykata (31 Oct 2011).

Sure, it may not have scored high on decor and space - space is a luxury in Parisian hotels - but it more than made up for it in every other way. Paris hotels are expensive and to say that this one should cost between E40 and E80 is an uncalled for insult and, to be honest, shows up the depth of your – PrincessZan – ignorance. Paris is no Kuala Lumpur. I think when you make statements like these, you should qualify and contextualise them. I've travelled round the world and have stayed in many top-notch hotels before - Aman, Four Seasons, Saint Regis, Bulgari chain, the Carlyle (NYC) and the Bel Air (Los Angeles) for pleasure and work - as well as smaller intimate ones like this Paris gem, and i daresay that it's not the best but it's the worst either. It served - and i hope one day will serve - a good purpose for anyone wishing to enjoy La Ville Lumiere.

Lionel
ps. Kittykata, the reviews are not rigged.. you can contact if need be. I am Singaporean and live in Singapore but work in Paris two months a year...

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionelseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We’re very happy with this hotel! It was a challenge finding a clean hotel in a central location for under $200 a night during the summer in Paris, and Hotel Baudelaire Opera was a perfect choice in its price range. The location is very convenient for walking to a lot of sights, restaurants and shopping. It is also really close to several metro stations and is a short cab ride to many attractions in the city.
Rooms are very clean, comfortable beds with amazing down duvets. We loved the old world décor with the wood beams on the ceiling and fabric wall covering, and at the same time the place looks fresh and well maintained. Bathrooms have marble tiles and nice appliances. Flat screen TV with BBC and CCN channels.
The family that runs the hotel and is at the front desk is really nice and very helpful. We don’t speak any French and they really helped us out with giving detailed directions and tips for using the metro and reserving a cab to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heart_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria, Bourgas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 for a 3 nights with friends. Exellent Hotel, great location - in lively area, just a few minutes walk from the Louvre and Opera . The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We shared a triple room. The rooms are small but clean and the beds were very comfortable. Highly recommend. Would definately stay here again!
Thank you for a very good stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tania_pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Directeur général at Hotel Baudelaire Opera, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Google Translation
Bonjour
Merci pour votre feed back, nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé un bon séjour à l'Hôtel Baudelaire et que vous ayez profité au mieux de tout ce que la capitale a à vous offrir !
La réception se tient à votre disposition lors de votre prochain séjour pour vous donner de bonnes adresses de restaurants, de jolis musées et de balades originales, il y a tellement à voir autour de nous !
Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Louvre Marsollier Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Ascot Opera
Hotel Ascot Opera
#1,077 of 1,811 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#555 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Timhotel Palais Royal Louvre
Timhotel Palais Royal Louvre
#802 of 1,811 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Gaillon Opera
BEST WESTERN Gaillon Opera
#1,053 of 1,811 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
#1,185 of 1,811 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baudelaire Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baudelaire Opera

Property: Hotel Baudelaire Opera
Address: 61 rue Ste.-Anne | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,267 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baudelaire Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Opera district, the Hotel Baudelaire Opera provides guests with a peaceful haven. This ancient 17th century building has a magnificent staircase with a wrought iron railing – the perfect spot for your Parisian stay! This lively area includes a business district, excellent shopping (both major department stores and small boutiques), entertainment venues (cinemas, opera, theatres and museums) and restaurants. The author Baudelaire lived in the hotel, as well as Allan Kardec.Our quiet, inviting and centrally-located hotel offers outstanding service. At the Hotel Baudelaire Opera, we know that good advice requires detailed knowledge of the area. Our team is always available to help with your plans during your stay in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Baudelaire Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baudelaire Opera Hotel
Baudelaire Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing