We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Jules Ferry
Ranked #133 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed December 12, 2010

The staff is very friendly, but this hostel is the worst I've ever stayed by far! Dirty toillets, poor breakfast. It was a disgusting experience...but I was in Paris at least!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 144 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2010

I stayed here with my sister for 3 days including Bastille Day. We were looking for somewhere cheap which wasn’t already fully booked and Hostel Jules Ferry fitted the criteria.
Cheap is the one word which pretty much sums up this hostel. The facilities are old, there is no other nicer way of putting it, but there are proper toilets and the showers provide hot water – so that’s a bonus and better than camping! A big negative is the lack of lifts as there is what feels like a billion stairs to climb – especially aggravating for those on the top floors, like we were.
As for calling it a youth hostel, that’s a lie as I’m sure there were people there over the age of 50! But it’s great for meeting and getting to know people from other countries – especially if you are sharing a dorm with them.
Fortunately, despite paying for a room for 6 (the cheapest option) my sister and I were allocated a room for just 2. This helped with the key situation that other people have mentioned as unfortunately, there is only one key provided for each room, which can cause problems when there are a lot of you coming in and out at different times during the day. Admittedly, this hostel was not a five star hotel – the bunk beds were basic and there was just a sink and some cracked old plastic chairs. The lack of more than one plug socket is an inconvenience – especially if you have camera/phones to charge – advice: come prepared with an extension cable! Despite that we had lovely French doors overlooking the street which were a handy at night as it gets very stuffy in the rooms!
We personally found the staff pleasant and didn’t seem to have a problem with them. They spoke good English (but our French is adequate so it didn’t really matter either way) and were willing to help us out if we needed it. The breakfast lady can come across as quite bad-tempered as the monitoring of breakfast portions is strict – no more than 2 bread rolls are allowed and you will be sternly told off if you try to take more! As well as the bread roll (available to have with butter and jam) the breakfast consisted of a cup of tea/coffee/hot chocolate/orange juice (‘avec pulpe’) and a ‘compote de fruits’. Again, cheap sums it up nicely. If you are looking for a decent breakfast there are cafés nearby.
The biggest problem with this hostel is probably the immense lack of security, but then what do you expect?! There are lockers available, we did not try them out as their complicated operating system was beyond us and the majority of them were out of order anyway. They are also a tad on the small side and you have to pay, I think, €2 each time you open and close it so it could become rather costly! Additionally, they are located in the basement, so if you are on the 5th floor you probably won’t want to lug your rucksack all the way down there multiple times during the day.
On the plus side, however, the location of the hostel is perfect! It is literally only a 5 minute walk to the ‘Republique’ metro stop which enables you to easily get anywhere in Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amelie_Dubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed October 3-10, 2010. Yes, the hostel is older and there's no elevator and lots of stairs if you're on the top floor (like I was) but I'm 47 years old! Probably twice as old as half, or more of the people in there.
Don't let some of these earlier negative reviews put you off. Can you handle a week camping in the woods? Then you can certainly handle this place. You get decent bed, clean sheetsI didn't see/find any bed bugs either. Had a basic breakfast -included. Great for single's as there's no supplement like in most other hotels, which in Paris can easily run you 100 Euros/night for a basic room. This place was only 23.5 Euros!!
Some earlier reviewer made a big deal about this being a 'gay' hostel(?)! Yeah, right bud!
Not that it matters, but there are all kinds of people from lots of places.
I roomed with a couple of guys from Switzerland, Germany, India etc.. Great to meet people from other countries, Overall it was a good experience, just use your common sense, don't leave your camera, or money in your room. Most people are trustworthy, but just to be sure, take your valuables with you. Easy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peregrino00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Having arrived in Paris for a trip of a life time backpacking with my 13yo daughter I had booked Jules ferry after a lot of research. I had read all the negative reports so I wasn't expecting much but a bed a poor breakfast and not too much security. I was pleasantly surprised. The location was great, really close to the metro and lots of nice eateries close by. We shared a 4 bed dorm with a lovely Korean girl, the beds were basic was not too uncomfortable. the showers were fine. Breakfast was in the quant breakfast room on the ground floor and it was always nice to meet other travelers. The breakfast lady monitored the food to make sure you didn't get extra but it was plenty anyway. Basic but really nice baguettes, juice, and coffee. So for those travelers expecting anything more than a 1 star experience Dont stay here but for those like me who like to experience a hostel thats safe, excellent location and CHEAP you cant go past Jules ferry... we just loved it... I went back to paris 4 weeks later and stayed at the novotel in Gare de Leon.... Yes it was 4 star but my experience at Jules Ferry ran rings around the Novotel and the area was 100% better

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daughterash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I'm not a travelling expert, but, I feel this is the most important advice I could give you about visiting Paris. I recently returned from a trip to London, Paris and Amsterdam at the end of May. If you're seeking a hostel in Paris, avoid this place at all cost! I'm not sure whether it's because i had such a stellar experience at the YHA LONDON CENTRAL hostel, but, this place was extremely dissapointing.

Comments/notes that you need to be aware of:

- Front desk/reception staff are very rude, and unwilling to help you out.
(Example, I helped a couple of female tourists carry their heavy bags downstairs because the front desk clerk wouldn't assist them.)
- Front staff spent more time outside smoking and hanging out with the locals, then they did with assisting tourists.
- VERY little lighting up the staircases, and leading up to each room. Extremely DARK and creepy...(Picture something out of a horror movie....seriously!)
- ONE key for each room of 4 people (Yes, that's right.........)
- 3 computers, but, only 1 with a functioning keyboard.

These are just a few of the many negative things I experienced about this hostel. I understand that you "pay for what you get", but, I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!
Take my advice....avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SIR10LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This a youth hostel ( my husband and I were both over 55). It is centrally located,. within a short walk to the Metro.

The price is ridiculously low with a basic French breakfast of a roll, jam, juice and coffee/tea. No extras.

The area is clean and safe within walking distance of a few shops, within 5 mins walk of the Metro. We were able to locate a bakery within 1/2 km and the aroma of fresh baked bread was unbelievable.

Accommodation in dorms only, male/female separate/ Dorms are closed between 11 am - 2 pm, whhich means you must leave the premises.

One can leave one's luggage in the store in the basement for upto 5 days while travelling around France. We went to Amsterdam and on return took an onward flight to the US.

One tip:
make sure you are member of the IYHF before you leave your country so that the IYHF accommodation is guaranteed... they may make you wait a few hours in the lobby till a vancancy occurs, but you won't be turned out.

One more tip:
Buy the one-day or three-day Metro pass and travel freely all over Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rhonapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The receptionists at the hostel is good. They can speak English and one of them can speak Spanish.

My room looked cleaned and decent. Each dorm room did have a sink inside it and ONLY ONE power outlet. Bring an extension cord if you have multiple things to charge.

Security is not very good in the room. You have to share your key with everyone else staying at the room. If you are the last to leave, then you must bring the key to the receptionist. Twice I went to take a shower and found that the room is locked and the key is downstairs. Sometimes people forget to lock the door, it does not automatically lock itself and sometimes people forget to take the key downstairs so your room is open and unattended. You can rent lockers for your luggage in the basement for 2 Euros.

The hostel is very old. You can see exposed pipes in the bathroom and doors that creak. The shower pressure was good and the water was hot at least. However, it appears that I got Athletes' Foot (fungal infection) from the hostel. So I would not say it is a very clean place. Remember to bring your own sandals.

The cleaning lady is a very cranky woman. At 10:30 am - 2:00 pm you cannot be at your room and she will be very mad at you if you are still there. You cannot sit in the kitchen tables at this time either. She will even tell you to leave if you are in the lobby sitting area beside the receptionist desk between 10:30 am - 2:00 pm. Basically, you cannot be at the hostel at all during this time.

Don't expect much for the breakfast. Here's what you get: milk, coffee, weak orange juice, day old bread, butter, jam, corn flakes cereal. If you're here on a visit, you'd be happier finding a cafe that will serve you a nice coffee with a croissant.

Nearby the hostel is an excellent Eperiece and Cafe called Chez Jean. It was one of the saving grace of this hostel. You can get a good croissant and coffee for 2 Euros. I can also have a sandwich to go (emporter) with a bottle of water or soda for 5 Euros.

The hostel is located near Republic Metro station, which has multiple metro lines connecting, which makes it easier to get around Paris.

There is no WiFi available at this hotel, either free or paid. There are machines which you can use to get on the internet for 1 Euro for 10 minutes, very expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Moreana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Bercy / Nation
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,803 in Paris
492 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#333 of 1,803 in Paris
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Jules Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Jules Ferry

Address: 8 boulevard Jules Ferry | 11th Arr., 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , République
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Auberge Jules Ferry Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing