We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's a race to get back to the hotel, don't go here”

Cafe Campana at Musee d'Orsay
Ranked #1,486 of 17,405 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Madtown
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“If it's a race to get back to the hotel, don't go here”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Yes, we had to flag the wait staff down to get our check but otherwise service was excellent, and the food came promptly even at about 75% of capacity on a Thursday evening. In regards to a previous post, "is that all" is in English, is our French always completely polite? Don't expect American overly solicitous waiters in France. They don't try to charm you for tips which I find charming, the last thing I want is to hear about a waiter's personal experiences in college. The food is good and the prices not outrageous, the wines are good and reasonably priced. The ambiance is unique given that the clock is part of an exterior wall. A great place for a break, get off your feet and chill a bit. If it's a race to get back to the hotel, don't go here. You can get wine and a snack in the Restaurant last I checked but probably not during meal hours.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kulgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    274
    131
    52
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good atmosphere, excellent service. No problems with English. The Chablis is perfect for lunch. I had Roquefort salad and my wife quiche Lorraine – both superb. Great coffee. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmydash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very disappointing monopoly situation”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A wonderful location is spoilt by woeful clearing of tables, leading to long queues, outrageous pricing and comments like 'is that all?' from waiters. I would say avoid, but there is nowhere else to get a drink at the Musee d'Orsay!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service indifferent”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The setting is wonderful; the food average, especially for Paris; and the service, at least from my waiter, was careless and indifferent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a lousy waiter can ruin”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped here for having a couple of drinks and perhaps a pastry after a long day of Paris sightseeing. The cafe seems good and most of the customers seemed to be having a nice time so we came in despite the high prices, as we know you're paying for location not food. Our waiter came and look like he was in a hurry and seemed disappointed that we only had two coffees and a cup of the "special pear ice cream" which touched our curiosity. I felt a bit mistreated so I kept eyes on him, which I shouldn't have done because I noticed how rude he was to everyone else, tossing plates, barely paying attention to people... you probably know the type. He probably was tired, or extremely busy, or whatever. So he brings us our order and half through our not-tasting-of-pear ice cream we discover we actually brought us a Peach Melba (yes, a peach at the bottom gave it away). We decided not to argue and be more uncomfortable in the place and that we should enjoy our break. The waiter still decided to be even more rude by bringing the check without asking if we wanted anything else, actually he brought it, we paid and left and he did not pronounce one single word, not in French, not in English. Not even for saying please type your credit card's code into the machine. This kind of things turn a nice place into the worst memory possible.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baquery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Campana at Musee d'Orsay also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Campana at Musee d'Orsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing