We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Ranked #676 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great price for a Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Simple and understated. Perfect for the traveler that is just looking for a base to crash at the end of the day after running around Paris. Located a few blocks from Notre Dame and the METRO it was a great starting spot for exploring the city. FYI - the direct rout from the Notre Dame Metro stop to the hotel on foot is a very commercial and a very "tacky-touristy" area but we took the long way around and explored the Latin quarter and it proved to be very nice and found some amazing little shops. The staff was courteous and helpful and the rooms were clean so for the price it was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your opinion about our hotel. Location is extra and very central for a week end in Paris: i'ts very easy to find good place to eat, discover parisian way of life, and shops. We are glad that you were satisfied during your stay and we hope to see you next time you come back for a week end in Paris.

Best regards,
Elise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    175
    64
    18
    15
See reviews for
94
134
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

Have in mind that it is a hotel. Not a resort.
If your intention is visiting Paris, staying in a comfortable place that offers you what you need, very very very well located, This is the hotel for you.
It was the 2nd time for my wife there. 1st time to me. And the kindly staff, as Elise, Cristine and others that we do not remember their names, but DO remember their faces, made us to fell like we were in home. Next noël we are going to other place in the world. But, for sure, when our destination is Paris, 3 rue Champollion is our address.

A good sample of the commitment of the staff with their customers was when we asked to be waked up at 4 to go to CDG (same day round trip to Milan). Once waked up we found out our flight was cancelled due the snowstorm and came back to bed. Knowing we must go out to the airport - the guy from the front desk got concerned about missing the flight and phone called us again to certify that we are not going to miss the plane.
Small things like this that make us happy in staying there.
Mme. Boukecha: Congratulations for your team.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoAndMoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Sir,

I thank you so much for your opinion about our hotel: we were very glad to read your satisfaction and see that our hotel will be a good adress for you when you will come back in Paris. I will show this comment to my staff in order to show you how is motivating and to prove that their efforts are useful!! We will happy to welcome you again next time and you will try the new equipments.

Best regards,
Elise and the staff of Central Saint Germain***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Central St. Germain in January. I'd put in on par in quality with a nice Super 8 motel in the U.S., which is pretty good for Europe. We paid just under 100 euros/night, and it was one of the cheaper 3 star hotels that we found. The rooms were small and sparsely decorated, again typical for a 3 star hotel in Europe. The bathroom was large with a bathtub and a built in hair dryer. There were two beds, but they were very small- perhaps 3/4 the size of a twin bed in the U.S. The hotel was in a great location, only a couple of blocks from the Latin district and a couple of large shopping areas, and a short walk from a RER station if you're taking the RER to/from the airport. The hotel is literally surrounded with great food and activity. Notre Dame and the Louvre are also a short distance away. We had a room with the window facing the narrow street in front of the hotel lobby, and it was quite noisy in the early morning hours with trucks unloading stuff and I think a garbage truck coming through. The noise woke both me and my wife up, but if you're staying in a big city, that is the kind of noise one should expect I guess. If you're sensitive to noise, you might want a room not facing that street. The rooms also had an in-room safe and free wifi, which was a nice plus. The front desk staff was helpful and spoke good English. They allowed us to store our luggage in a locked room when we arrived early. There was a breakfast buffet in the morning for around 15 euros per person, but we didn't try it out as we thought that was a little pricey. Overall, for what we paid it was a very good value and I would come back to the hotel assuming I could get a similar nightly rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ualdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your message about our hotel. It's always good to know what people think after their stay about our hotel. About the size of the bed, thanks to others comments like yours, we are able in 2011 to change our beds for bigger bed and better quality.
Unfortunately, we cannot make nothing about the noise in the street even we are in a little street: garbage trucks need to make their jobs in order to offer you a beautiful view of Paris.
We hope to see you again in our hotel for your next trip in Paris and encourage you to try our breakfast buffet for the rate of 12€.

Best regards,
Elise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Our room was well designed, clean and very comfortable, even with an additional bed for our 5 year old son. The check-in/out was efficient and very friendly. The location is perfect and close to metro, restaurants and famous landmarks. I definitely recommend the hotel, actually i did already, and will be back for another trip to amazing Paris.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb2003223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

In the center of Latin district, very close to Notre Dame e the Sorbona University, one of the biggest tripple room we have ever know (on the fifth floor), very good service, the breakfast is a little too much expensive

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed here for two night in September with my Mum. We arrived early morning and dropped our bags before coming back to check in at 2pm. We booked a twin room, which was really quite spacious for Paris. The room was clean and beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was fine and there was always an abundance of hot water. The breakfast is typical bufet continental style with a good/varied selection. The staff are without a doubt among the friendliest staff of any hotel I've stayed in, nothing is a problem for them and they were always smiling and happy to be of assistance. They genuinley make the hotel stay even more pleasant.

This hotel represents great value for a very central located hotel in an otherwise expensive city. Location is great, just off BLVD St Michel, plenty of restaurants and cafes around and only a few mins walk to Notre Dame, Jardin du luxembourg and The pantheon. Nearest metro stop only a couple of mins walk on Blvd Saint Michel. Will definitely return to this hotel on my next Paris trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thanks for giving your opinion on our hotel. We appreciate that guest were satisfied for the service and the staff. I hope we will see you again with your mum next time you come back in Paris.

Elise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Fabulous location, extremely friendly staff, quiet, cozy rooms. My wallet was stolen on the Metro and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Terrifique!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Dear Mrs Pasini,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel even you had a bad experience with your wallet stolen. I hope the rest of your stay was good and I sastified that you find our hotel at your taste.

I hope to see you next time in Paris without bad experience.

Elise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Suez
Hotel de Suez
#502 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#344 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#177 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Central Saint Germain
Address: 3 rue Champollion, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #676 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Saint Germain combines the grace and typically Parisian comfort.Centrally located in the Latin quarter and Saint Germain des Prés, near the Seine, Notre-Dame, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon, near the Jardin du Luxembourg.Building with a charming new decor since 2009 with 5 levels in various environments, it offers luxury and tranquility of a beautiful house in the heart of an historic district in a setting designed in harmony for all your well-being.Its central location allows you easy access to tourist areas and business.Our 35 rooms are all equipped with bathroom, hairdryer, satellite TV, air conditoning, personal safe, modem and wifi access.A great welcome awaits you for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing