We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Ranked #716 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel was an absolute delight to stay in. We received nothing but kindness and friendliness from the staff - they were all more than happy to help in any way they could. We were even moved to a bigger room as we were staying for 3 nights.

The room itself was lovely - everything that we needed. The free safe and wifi was an added bonus (especially the safe) we felt comfortable leaving important things in the room with knowledge that they were in the safe.

The location of the hotel is perfect if it is your first time to Paris, the area is quite touristy but this is great if it is your first time as everything is accessible and easy to reach. Plus the shops/restaurants stay open late and there is a general buzz about the place especially on a Saturday night.

Thank you for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Try asking for a room on the 5th floor you get a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane_leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All our staff thank you for time you took to give your opinion of our hotel.

We are very pleased to know that your stay was so good and that we could satisfied you in all your requests! It's a pleasure to know that our efforts are recompensed by such nice and kind opinions.

We promise you that your next time in our hotel will be even better than this time.

With pleasure to meet you soon again!

Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 410 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Small, reasonable, comfy and great breakfast at a good price. What more could you ask for? And if you are travelling alone, you're most likely to face out back where it is quiet. It's not the Maurice, but it is certainly a place to think about if you want to save some money and be comfortable.

Room Tip: Facing out front are larger rooms, the single small ones face the courtyard in the back. The ones up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flenart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All our staff thank you for time you took to give your opinion of our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied of your stay and of our service in our hotel. We will be glad to see you again in our hotel very soon.

Best regards,
Kristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was a first family trip to Paris! The receptionists were very unwelcoming. I had a family room which was really tiny, stuffy and smelly from the old carpets. During our stay in Paris it was very cold with 1 spare blanket in the room and there three beds in the room(1 double bed and 2 single beds) the blanket smelt like a dumpster. The next day I requested more blankets which never came, I had to put the single beds together so my kids could share it. would never recommend this hotel to any1.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ashika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I chose this hotel at the last minute coming through Paris on my home from working in France. The size and cleanliness of the hotel is about average for Paris. The location is fantastic and it's easy to get everywhere you want to go in Paris. The linens are good and the beds comfortable. However, and it's a big however, the management seems a little nuts and to not really talk to their staff at all. So whatever you have arranged with the staff, the management doesn't seem to know about.

On the day of my arrival I asked for two specific things, a car service to the airport and if I could have a late checkout the next day. At some point later in the evening the desk attendant tells me the car is booked and the late checkout (2pm) is not a problem. Great.

The next morning at noon I asked the owner to move the service to 1:30 instead of 2pm. She could not do that she said and in addition to that I had no car service booked at all. After yelling at me a bit she realized I did have a car service booked, she called the service and it was no problem. Fine pick up at 1:30. I go out for a bit and return. The owner starts yelling angrily that I was supposed to checkout at noon, she was going to charge me for an extra day. I tell her, no, I spoke with your desk staff yesterday, he said it was no problem. She then starts screaming that I am lying, that I have caused a problem in the hotel, refusing to call the clerk to check, etc. This goes on and on, features me telling her that she is being very rude and rushing to my room to pack.

Finally, the hotel & car service did not agree what the cost of the car was and I was charged 10 extra euros at the airport.

So yeah, the hotel is in a lovely area. The street facing rooms are a bit loud but fine. The rooms are decent and not insanely expensive but arranging and expecting services is a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tappityjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at how close this hotel was to everything. Right next to St. Michel Blvd and St. Germain. Within walking distance of Notre Dame, The Seine, The Panthenon, a couple of metro stops, shopping, churches and tonnes of restaurants.

The room we had was a fair size for a European Hotel, not overly big or small, with a good sized bathroom with a bathtub and shower. The room faced the small street the hotel fronts and is definitely the better view since the rooms in the back face a small unattractive courtyard. The hotel itself is sandwiched between two vintage cinemas and has an air of being in a different era. The room and bathroom were clean and didn't have any smoke smells, indicating that people are likely opening the window to smoke. The only thing I missed was not having any drawer space, but a large closet with a free safe was included. Free wifi is also included (they give you as many id's and passwords as you need for all your gadgets for three days, which is extended with your stay).

There was renovation going on of the smallish reception area and will look very nice when finished shortly. We had breakfast included in our plan, and the food was plentiful and varied, and worth the extra so that you don't have to go looking for breakfast each morning, but be sure you have it at check-in, because some people didn't and were surprised with the extra $$ at check out.

The staff were helpful and friendly, calling for taxis and provided guidance on how to navigate the city.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room, nicer view. The whole hotel is pretty quiet as it's on a quiet st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lostislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All our staff thank you for time you took to give your opinion of our hotel.

We were pleased to know that our service satisfied you and that the location of the hotel was ideal for you.

We were glad to know that you stayed satisfied by our breakfast service and by help of reception. Our staff does the best to offer to each client the best welcome and we hope that your next time in our hotel will be even better than this time.

We took notes of your wish of a drawer space and the main manager was informed. Thank you for this good idea. It's only thanked to our clients that we can make our service even better.

We would like to inform you that the renovation works' were finished in begin of September 2012 so know our reception and breakfast room look very nice and modern.

We will be very pleased to meet you again in our hotel ! We are sure that your next stay in our hotel will be even better than last time.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good hotel close to Latin Quarters. Metro station is nearby so all attraction are easy achieve. And if you like to walk and see the town, it's not that far away.
free wlan, tv, A/C, big bathroom and balcony (at least in 5th floor where we stayed).

Room Tip: WW werein 5th floor facing the street. No problem with noise or anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salmja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All our staff thank you for time you took to give your opinion of our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we will be pleased to see you again very soon.
Thank you for your tricks that you gave to our futur clients. Thank to you the new client will prepare his stay in advance to enjoy it in maximum.

Thank you again and see you soon !

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Located in the central 5th arr. and easily accessed from airport ChdGaulle via RER B; take to Notre Dame St.Michel-Cluny La Sorbonne station (connected underground). Hotel is located on small street off blvd St Michel, rue Champollion, with cinema Champ on the corner (landmark to find hotel). Lovely personnel , front desk + all staff . Rooms are quite large for Paris, clean, and for summer, central air conditioning works. Elevator works well. An enjoyable and well-priced stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soleil806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We're glad you're happy with our facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris.

Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.

Best Regards,

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#661 of 1,802 in Paris
512 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Villa Pantheon
Villa Pantheon
#635 of 1,802 in Paris
776 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#386 of 1,802 in Paris
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Saint Germain

Address: 3 rue Champollion, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #716 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $126 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Saint Germain combines the grace and typically Parisian comfort.Centrally located in the Latin quarter and Saint Germain des Prés, near the Seine, Notre-Dame, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon, near the Jardin du Luxembourg.Building with a charming new decor since 2009 with 5 levels in various environments, it offers luxury and tranquility of a beautiful house in the heart of an historic district in a setting designed in harmony for all your well-being.Its central location allows you easy access to tourist areas and business.Our 35 rooms are all equipped with bathroom, hairdryer, satellite TV, air conditoning, personal safe, modem and wifi access.A great welcome awaits you for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Central Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing