We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Ranked #749 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Central Saint Germain in April 2012. The location is exceptional...located one block from the intersection of Boulevard St. Michel and Boulevard St. Germaine. You are always within walking distance of the excitement of the Latin Quarter, as well as a walk to Notre-Dame and even the Louvre. La Sorbonne is right outside your window. Also the Underground/Tube/Subway is one block away which is key in Paris.
Thus the location is absolutely fantastic! However....
1) the room we had for 3 people (Room 502) would have been small for two adults. It was nicely appointed but don't expect to spread out.
2) the front desk people - as with most service people in Paris - just don't get it. How about a smile? Some warmth? Empathy? Although they did their job, it seemed to be a bother and you wondered if you were getting real help or an easy answer to get rid of you and your question. The owners would have people crawling all over the place if the front desk staff were happy and helpful.
Luckily, when you are in Paris, you are not looking to spend time in the hotel but out in the city so the primary strength of this hotel - the location - saves the day. BTW, it is not cheap. The room for three people ran $315 dollars per night!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1TheSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Directeur général at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We're glad you're happy with our location and facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris.
Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel. This help us being better.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 411 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with a friend. Was expecting very small room, given that most hotel rooms in Paris are, but it was pretty good. We had a twin room, which also seems quite hard to find in Paris - we booked the Twin Confort room (304) if anyone is looking for one. We paid about 100 Euros per night.

Rooms was fine not pokey, clean, comfortable beds, bathroom adequate. Two windows overlooking the front. Easy to walk anywhere from there. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel (12 Euros) as it was cheaper elsewhere.

Staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful, but not offensively so. The hotel is perfectly adequate, just nothing fancy.

Location is good. Short walk to area full of restaurants. Less than 5 minutes to Metro. If you drink coffee, be prepared to pay between 5 and 6 Euros. However, on our last day we found a small, modern cafe just around the corner from hotel (come out of front door, turn right down to main street, turn right again, small black/white fronted cafe next to cinema), that had the cheapest coffee we'd seen plus really fresh croissants and pastries, that were delicious and cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLovingBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

We are glad you're happy with our facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have visited this Hotel on the 26th till 28th of January. The first impression regarding the room was bad. Old fashioned and the worst is, that was a bad smell from the humidity and the carpet. We left the window open till night in order to sleep.

We had an offer for free breakfast and we mentioned that from the very first time in the reception, the receptionist assured us that it is ok. When we left the Hotel another receptionist asked from us to pay for the breakfast as well, claiming that on the system there was not such an indication. When we told her that her colleague reassured us that there was not a problem her behaviour was not polite and there was an argument with the risk to miss the flight. finally we presented the printed offer and the issue resolved.

there are much better hotels at thye same price and i hope with more polite staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vassilis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

We are sorry that you are not happy with our facility and staff. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel. We will do our best next time we see you in Paris.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed here for two nights while in Paris. The hotel itself is nothing fancy but the room was clean and surprising a good size for a Paris hotel. The price was one of the best in the area and the location was great. It was an easy 10 min walk to Nortre Dame. It was about a 5 min walk to the metro station and the area was filled with shops and coffee houses and book stores.

I felt completely safe while walking around the area and to and from the hotel. It is just off of a main road on a small road so there was not much foot traffic. My window faced the street and it was not too loud but word of caution that I was there during the week and not on the weekend. There is a theater right next door so this may get loud, I don't know.

The staff was very nice and friendly when I got there late at night. The room was fine and clean with a flat screen tv and free wifi. I also had breakfast there. A bit expensive for what you get - basically just a continental breakfast.

The cab ride from Charles deGaulle was 50 Euros late at night. I'm sure it would be substantially more during rush hour. So on my way back I took the short 10 min walk to the RER suburban train station and only paid 9 Euros. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

We're glad you're happy with our hotel. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
All the staff of Hotel Central Saint Germain is looking forward to seeing you again in Paris.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very central location. Nice quiet, albeit small, rooms. Had some challenges, but nothing non-recoverable as, for example, the bed seem to have reached the end of the service. Hotel staff was friendly and very becoming. The area gets most of the tourist traps: next to Notre Dame and only ~10 minutes walk from Louvre, however I think this convenience means that price is a bit high for a hotel of this quality. Well apart from the price being what it is, I can full.heartedly recommend this hotel to my friends and alike.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seppo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centra22, Responsable réception at Hotel Central Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

We're glad you're happy with our facility and look forward to seeing you in Paris. Thank you for leaving a comment on our hotel.
I'm looking forward to seeing you again.

Paulo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The location of this hotel is wonderful - easy walk from the metro/RER stop (you can easily go to and from Charles de Gaulle), easy walk to the Seine, Notre Dame, St. Chappelle, Luxembourg Gardens. The room wasn't the smallest we've stayed in in Paris, had adequate closet space, desk, 2 chairs, 2 large windows, small but functional bathroom. nice reading lights next to both sides of the bed. This is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, but the first room we were given smelled strongly of smoke - they were apologetic, assigned us another and said they would have their cleaning staff attend to the first room. Staff was mostly pleasant and helpful, except, unfortunately, for the person who checked us in - we didn't feel at all welcome - she treated us as though we were disturbing her. Later in our visit she warmed up - may have been language-related - French and English were not her first language, we were limping along in French. The room was expensive compared to others we've stayed in, but we had to find something last minute and this was on the lower end of what was available. The only downside of our visit was the noise - we had a room on the street and the street noise (voices, vehicles, all night long, garbage truck in the AM) kept us awake - we didn't contact management as we didn't want to make the effort to change rooms - I'm sure they would have been accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street - street-side is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a fantastic location, would definitely stay around this area again. However, my expectations were lifted due to the reviews but then the benchmark is Paris, for the price, location and room size (we were two adults+ child+toddler) the hotel is ideal (but bear in mind it is a three star hotel); I would recommend this hotel if the hotel amenities do not matter for the traveler, but for a family with children we would definitely book earlier in a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
#1,121 of 1,804 in Paris
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
Quartier Latin
Villa Pantheon
Villa Pantheon
#587 of 1,804 in Paris
783 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#669 of 1,804 in Paris
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Saint Germain

Address: 3 rue Champollion, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #749 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $129 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Saint Germain combines the grace and typically Parisian comfort.Centrally located in the Latin quarter and Saint Germain des Prés, near the Seine, Notre-Dame, the Sorbonne and the Pantheon, near the Jardin du Luxembourg.Building with a charming new decor since 2009 with 5 levels in various environments, it offers luxury and tranquility of a beautiful house in the heart of an historic district in a setting designed in harmony for all your well-being.Its central location allows you easy access to tourist areas and business.Our 35 rooms are all equipped with bathroom, hairdryer, satellite TV, air conditoning, personal safe, modem and wifi access.A great welcome awaits you for a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing