We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, excellent location”
Review of Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welcome Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I disagree on this hotel everytime we travel to Paris. The rooms are way too small, it is very noisy, the elevator barely fits two people, etc. But you cannot beat the location. I give in everytime when I think about where we will be going and what we want to see. Be prepared to be very close to your fellow traveler(s).

Room Tip: If traveling with small children, maybe even teenagers, you may want to look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Jim M,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Welcome Hotel.
As you could see, Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice district full of history. Thus, the age of the buildings explains the size of the rooms. That is why we pay much attention to comfort and hospitality.
We understood that you are a regular guest and we would like to thank you for your loyalty regarding Welcome Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Paris.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 485 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location and price are excellent! Rooms and bath are simple , staff very friendly and helpful that's why I keep going back. I've brought over a dozen people and they feel the same way, we almost took over the entire hotel for New Year's 2000. More expensive now with the Euro but still a great value.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear MJ R,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Welcome Hotel.
We easily understand why you enjoy coming to Saint-Germain des Près. It is a very nice and lively district.
As you wrote it, Welcome Hotel is a simply but cosy hotel. All our staff feels very involved in the welfare of our guests, and your loyalty is our greatest reward.

We hope to see you soon at Welcome Hotel in order to show you all the renovations we made since your last visit.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This little hotel in Paris may not be fancy, but the price and the location are right. The staff was freindly and helpful. And they are working on doing some upgrades. And the parking garage is only a couple of blocks away - if you want to drive into the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room and the Rue De Seine side of the hotel for a little less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Mark T,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Welcome Hotel.
There are not many of two stars hotels in St-Germain and we are lucky to be one of those. It is a pleasure to work in that area and to receive guests who discover it.
As you could see, we are making some renovations in the corridor and in breakfast room.

We hope you will come back soon and tell us what you think about that.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Like many other hotels in Paris, Hotel Welcome is tiny. The rooms are incredbly small. I asked for a room with two single beds because the double room was quite small for two adults. The bathroom didn´t have a shower only a bath tube, and the heating can make lot´s of noise.
The hotel service is good. The view is wonderful, the staff is helpfull and polite. There´s a supermarket just on the other side of the street. You can buy things there and heat up to eat at the hotel. The location is awesome, in the heart of paris near to everything. The price is not expensive to Paris either. Good wi-fi free of charge. Lot´s of channels (all in french) on the telly.

I think is a good deal if you only need a place to rest and sleep at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Simone W,

We thank you for taking time to post a comment about Welcome Hotel.

St-Germain des Près is a perfect location to visit Paris, central, nice, with a village atmosphear. However, it's an old area, with old buildings, which explains size of the rooms. We just made a lot of renovations in order to improve our service and well being of our customers. Heating and air-conditioning are new, carpets and paintings in stairs and coridors also. Rooms have been renovated last year.

Feedback is very important for us and be sure that we noticed all your remarks.

We hope we will welcome you again in order to show you improvements.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is very good, the room size is okay and the service is not bad. But the location couldn't be better. The price makes is worth it too!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaisOReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear ThaisOreilly,

We thank you for writing a comment about Welcome Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a nice stay with us. St-Germain des Près is a perfect location for a visit of Paris and Welcome Hotel is located in its deep heart.

Renovations have been made since your last stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in order to show you improvements.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

You can't fault the location of this hotel. Restaurants, shops and supermarket right at the door. Two Metro stations -Odeon and Mabillon within 100metres, and a very comfortable room. The receptionist is very helpful, and speaks extremely good English. The room is comfortable and clean, and despite overlooking Bvd St Germaine, very quiet. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie11270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I have stayed solo three times in this hotel, all in conjunction with walking trips on the Chemin Saint Jacques across the south of France. It makes an outstanding place to begin and end such trips. The location is wonderful: great Metro connections and in the middle of the Latin Quarter area with all its restaurants and shops. The staff is very helpful, speaks good English (although like most French, prefer if you do at least try a bit in French), and is always available. It was easy to arrange reservations on their website, and the prices and bookings were honored. However, there is no free lunch. The rooms are really, really small (even by European standards). The space is adequate for one's real needs, but if you want more space, you'll need to pay a higher price. The bathroom had all the essential features and everything worked but, again, was very compact. The facility, while clean, appears shabby and well-worn. If you want a four-star hotel facility, you'll just need to go to a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitsambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#518 of 1,805 in Paris
212 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#125 of 1,805 in Paris
576 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#228 of 1,805 in Paris
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#192 of 1,805 in Paris
734 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#592 of 1,805 in Paris
419 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#459 of 1,805 in Paris
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel

Address: 66 rue de Seine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $112 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent value for our small hotel located in the deep heart of Paris! You will like its charm with exposed beams, atypical corridors, small elevator, and also its modern comfort: free WiFi, air conditioning, heating, double glazed windows, luggage room ... Our terrace offers a nice view on the Rue de Seine, and as its name says, Welcome Hotel is particularly welcoming! The entire hotel is non-smoking. Our 29 rooms are small but have been carefully equipped and decorated. Tourists and business travelers will appreciate comfort and views over Paris. Every room offers a free Wi-Fi access, air conditioning, private bathroom with shower or bath, hairdryer, blackout curtains, double glazed windows, office, ... Welcome Hotel offers Parisian breakfast every morning between 7:30 am and 10:30 am in your room, in the first floor lounge or on the terrace. Welcome Hotel is located at the corner of Boulevard Saint Germain and rue de Seine, a few minutes walk from Luxembourg Gardens, Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing