We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”
Review of Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Hotel
Ranked #321 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friendly staff, typically small parisian rooms, clean. Communal areas very nice. Bar a little short on drinks (no gin or red wine by the glass). Breakfast good value for a big city (€10 for a big continental). Lifts more like a cupboard! The location is fantastic, lovely square and only a short walk from Luxembourg metro station (RER from Charles de Gaulle direct).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drboothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    481
    142
    31
    25
See reviews for
186
557
83
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, in an excellent location, and the staff is extraordinarily gracious and helpful. This says everything, but it seems it is necessary to have 200 character minimum in order for my review to be submitted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
679 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It is the third time that my husband and I tried different rooms in this hotel because the location is great. But we came to the conclusions that other hotels in the neighborhood can offer more for the same price.

In the first time, our room was just above the last floor and there was a renovation going on. Even dough, the room was comfortable and the hotel is located in the Sorbonne square, close to metro station, Pantheon, Luxembourg gardens, relatively close to the Seine river and the Notre Dame and most of all, close to all nice restaurants from the Quartie latin.

So, we tried again and got a room in the front, window to the square, which was noise and didn´t give you privacy if you want to ope the window to get fresh air.

At this time, we got another room in the 4th floor and avoid those problems, but all in all it was not great. Small bed, bathtub without a place to grasp, not so good shower and without a place to hang it, so you have to hold it during your whole bath. It doesn´t have a mini bar, but even not a small refrigerator for you to buy something to drink. So, to have a cook, you need to call the room service al the time. Breakfast is kind of poor, so it is advisable to have breakfast in one of the nearby cafes.

Staff is friendly and effective and it is the high point of the hotel, together with location.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms on the ground floor, which is right in the Sorbonne square and therefore, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hotel is placed right in the center, 100 yards from a bus-stop, 200 yards from Metro.
All rooms have a bed which is 1,9 m long, so you might have to consider if thats enough.

When you go out of the Hotel you can enjoy Place de Sorbonne, where a lot of people relax at the the coffe bars and at the sprinkling water.

Every day you can have free tea/coffe between 4 and 6 pm.
The shower in the bathroom is fantastic, makes you want to stay under for a while.

Breakfast is typical french, I missed boiled og scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My brother and I had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Felipi, Marie-Hellen, Laura and Christophe were so very pleasant, helpful, and kind. They helped us with flight arrangements, questions about the trains, booked entertainment, and recommended brasseries. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was good. Would certainly recommend this hotel to others visiting Paris. Very convenient location to sights in the area. Thank you for making our trip to Paris so delightful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza are nice. Great view of the Sorbonne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
186 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times and enjoyed it, but there is room for improvement. The location is great, right on the Place de La Sorbonne, three blocks away from the Metro, close to many good restaurants, cinemas and to the Middle Ages Museum.
The building has been totally refurbished and the décor is modern, perhaps even a bit too much so, but quite nice if you happen to enjoy that style.
The service at reception was always pleasant, attentive and effective.
Where could improvements be welcome?
1. Breakfast. It was quite poor in terms of quality. We always take just a simple, continental breakfast; we are not fans of fried eggs, beans, sausages and that pile of things that the Americans and the English feast on. All we need is good coffee, orange juice and a croissant. These are easy to find in Paris, always in good quality. However, not at the Select... The orange juice was awful, tasted as artificial as possible; the croissants were something to be ashamed of; and the coffee was competing with the orange juice for the prize in "worst quality breakfast". A real pity, a 4-star hotel in Paris can do much better. We've had better breakfasts at other 3-star places a block way.
2. The shower. You need to hold it in your hand at all times. Very French, but not very convenient. Placing a fixture on the wall would be simple and would give you the option of hanging the shower there.
3. Housekeeping. When we returned from sightseeing at 2:30 pm our room had not been cleaned yet; we put up the "do not disturb" sign for an hour, while I engaged in a conference call with a client, and took it down at 3:30 pm. The result was that our room was not serviced at all during that day... We expect better than that.
There are many other good hotel options in the neighbourhood; if Select could improve these simple things, they might provide the quality you expect from their prices.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor, as the windows are at street level and exposed to the view of anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernandoLanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great hotel at a lovely Place beside the Sorbonne. Very friendly employees. 10 EUR for the small breakfast is absolutely fair. The have clean and very soft as well as huge towls like in a 5 star+ hotel. We loved them :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InaJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#170 of 1,802 in Paris
984 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,802 in Paris
1,287 reviews
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#94 of 1,802 in Paris
243 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#342 of 1,802 in Paris
1,079 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#265 of 1,802 in Paris
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel

Property: Select Hotel
Address: 1 Place de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#213 Business Hotel in Paris
#347 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#464 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing