We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near Sorbonne”
Review of Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Hotel
Ranked #324 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good hotel near Sorbonne”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I had a nice room in the hotel, which had been changed upon my request, so i can not compline about their service. Very helpful front desk, very friendly staff, really. The room was good, clean. Not big, but for Paris absolutely ok. The marbled bathroom was ok, very strange bath/ shower system ( a small bathtub with very short shower hose- 1 mtr max)- so to take a shower you have to sit in a small bathtub.. 4**** ....
No fridge... Very limited breakfast, but a lot of nice restaurants around the hotel, so really no problem! Even better, you take a walk, order freshest croissants etc etc etc. nice.. The place is great, some steps from the metro and bus stop, Sorbonne/ Pantheon, 5.arrondissement , very nice, very clean, not to many tourists etc. Very nice place. So in general, recommended. I will come back, bien sûr!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    481
    142
    31
    25
See reviews for
186
557
83
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location just steps from Jardin Luxembourg and literally two steps from the Sorbonne. The only issue, as some other reviewers have mentioned, is that there is no shower just a hand held sprayer. I loved the modern decor. Simple, relatively affordable, and located in a wonderful neighborhood. Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located for access to metro and train to and from CDG. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable about transportation. Rooms were clean and stylish. We had breakfast one morning which was good and there were enough selections. We enjoyed our stay and the helpfulness of staff was an important factor contributing to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golftrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during a recent trip to Paris. The location on the Place de la Sorbonne is excellent for Left Bank activities and public transport is convenient for more far flung adventures in the city. The staff are friendly and efficient and the amenities are of the advertized 4 star standard

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've stayed in this lovely hotel for a week on March for our honeymoon. The hotel location is very convinion, the rooms are small as all the Paris hotels but very comfortable. The room was clean and the staff were very nice and helped as buy tickets, and gave some tips which were helpfull as well. Defenatly recomand and hopefully come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lioraibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this hotel, it was on the edge of the Latin quarter. So centrally located! The hotel staff helped us with booking our tickets to Versailles, so grateful! The food close to the hotel is wonderful, close to the "Love Lock Bridge" & Notre Dame!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I chose the Select Hotel from good reviews and its location in the latin Quarter.
Stayed in the neighborhood before and I love the beautiful spot of Place de la Sorbonne. Also there's a short walking distance to the River Seine and the beautiful Luxembourg gardens.

Staff very friendly - hotel look stylish - room Ok, very very clean, but a bit small - like most other Hotels in same category in Paris.

Still, breakfast could need an improvement. Bread looks and tastes like its from the day before - and a poor selection of breakfast overall.
Still a fine hotel worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jans98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
985 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,802 in Paris
1,288 reviews
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#94 of 1,802 in Paris
245 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#339 of 1,802 in Paris
1,081 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#267 of 1,802 in Paris
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel

Property: Select Hotel
Address: 1 Place de la Sorbonne, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#213 Business Hotel in Paris
#347 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#464 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing