We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Bed---Small room, steps, shower, and breakfast cost horrors!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
Ranked #1,279 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I mostly agree with Edward G's and several of the recent one or two star reviewers. Good location (very near the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, Rue de Cler, public transportation and just a decent walk to the Louvre and sites in that vicinity). But, other than a really comfy bed, not much to recommend this place other than that. We opted for a very small room on an upper floor after the owner offered (I think it was a legit offer and not just a ploy) us an even smaller room on the first floor, both facing the street (YIkes!----noisy, unattractive view, etc.). The steps were a mini-nightmare (we're not THAT young---strong, but just retired!)---very narrow, steep and kind of crooked where you wouldn't think they'd be crooked---an adventure each and every time! And the "no shower curtain" is TRUE and truly a disaster in such a small bathroom (we did learn to cover most of the bathroom with available towels to keep down the flooding and the puddles on all of our things on the sink!). The staff was, in truth, generally very nice to us (but in a French rather than an Italian way, if you know what I mean) and helpful, with a few exceptions (I think there were some language problems, though, that caused these "exceptions"). We actually enjoyed the sounds and sights of the middle school and above school kids each morning---they all seemed to be having so much fun and enjoying each other's company (the joy of youth that is sometimes lost in lesser school districts worldwide). The other noise from the street (and the slightly dreadful view of the gray walls of the school) was not acceptable, however----still, as one reviewer noted, this IS a big city and we were in the midst of it----I just wished we'd had a quieter location overall (the dump trucks seemed to come extremely early---and more than one of them!). The last straw (and this might or might not have been our own fault, but I don't think so) came when we were charged 11 Euro per day (5 days) for the very basic (good, but basic) typical French breakfast (repeated, in identical detail, 5 mornings) when we thought, based on our conversation with the owner at the beginning of our visit (and based on our interpretation of what is in the Rick Steve's Guidebook for France re: Paris and this hotel) that the breakfast was included ("Show them the guidebook and breakfast is free" was our interpretation---so we mentioned that to the owner at CHECK-IN and he said "Yes, yes, of course. Rick Steve's. Yes." At CHECK-OUT, when we questioned the charge for the breakfasts, the owner produced a letter from Rick Steve's indicating (I guess) that the free breakfast applied only if the hotel is booked through his site (the necessity of producing the letter was, by itself, a major indication that many, many before us had had the same interpretation and ended up paying full price for the simple breakfasts). WE DEFINITELY WOULD NOT HAVE EATEN THERE AT 11 EURO A BREAKFAST WHEN THERE WERE SO MANY BETTER AND CHEAPER ALTERNATIVES (WITH A VARIETY OF BREAKFAST ITEMS) SO CLOSE AT HAND! Oh well, live and learn. We will definitely never, ever stay here again even if this breakfast mistake was in fact totally our own fault---so many, many other negatives. Loved, loved, loved Paris except for this unfortunate booking.

Room Tip: Avoid any room facing the street----no idea if the rooms facing the court were much better, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Quizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in September. The location is convenient to the Metro and a short walk to the Eiffel Tower and Rue Cler. Our room was small, but then we didn't come to Paris to stay in our room. It was very clean, and the desk staff were generally helpful and friendly. They arranged transportation to Gare du Nord for an early morning departure and all went smoothly. However, a late night request for more toilet paper went unfulfilled.

The courtyard is quaint, and we might have enjoyed more time there over a bottle of wine, had the weather been a bit more cooperative.

Our only big downside was noise in the street in the morning. We found it quiet when we wanted to go to bed, but there is a school directly across the street and students congregate outside the school gates for 20 to 30 minutes before class. They're high school students, and while they were in no way inappropriate, they were a large group of high school students just outside our bedroom window! It wouldn't have been a problem if we were "Early to bed, early to rise..." but we were just the opposite.

Since we were on the second floor we had to tote our luggage up a narrow staircase. That's a factor to consider for those who might find that difficult.

There is a convenient boulangerie/patisserie at the end of Rue Malar, and a Carrefour supermarket just around the corner. It was nice to pick up bottled waters a lot cheaper than 2-3 euros out of the mini bar frig in the room! There are also several unique restaurants within close walking distance.

I could see us returning here, and I could also see us trying something else next time.

Room Tip: Don't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on 2 separate trips to Paris and while after our first trip we were relatively happy, after this second visit we will definitely not return.

To begin with, the room that we had requested, and the hotel confirmed was available and booked for us, was not suddenly not available at check in. No apology was given.

The final straw however was the fact that the man on reception asked if he could book us a taxi to the station. Speaking French and knowing Paris quite well we would normal travel via public transport, but on this occasion thought it might be easier to just get a taxi. We were absolutely astounded when the driver then tried to charge us 60 euro for what is normally a 12 euro journey. The man on reception obviously takes a cut of the taxi fares and is happy to rip off his guests! Do not let them book a taxi for you and if this happens to you please report it to the police as it is an illegal activity that is taking business from genuine taxi drivers!

Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Carly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Saw this hotel in a book of charming paris hotels and looked it up online. It looked quaint and perfect and it was in my favorite district.

But never again will I book here again because of the rude staff! We were greeted by this bald young man in glasses who was absolutely rude and unwelcoming. He should not be in the hospitality business w/ that attitude. He badly represented his country---maybe that's the reason why we didn't enjoy Paris at all. He was nicer to American tourists -- but treated us Asians differently. He has another snobbish young colleague who would rather entertain his friends who would always come over at night than to greet us guests.

The bathrooms are not acceptable! No shower curtains so expect your bathrooms to be wet and flooded.

And on our last early morning before heading to the train station -- there was no electricity in our floor. It was still too dark out and we had to find our way thru the darkness. And no, we did not receive an apology from the front desk, nor were we checked if we were okay. And yes, it was the same bald man w/ glasses who was there before we left. And he was so annoyed when I asked him to find us a taxi to bring us to the station. Sheesh!!! I never even got his name because he did not even introduce himself!

Of all the hotel stays I've had for years and years, this was the worst hotel EVER!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a small hotel in a great location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was very small but perfectly adequate. Easy walk to the river. Around the corner from antique street market and several good informal bars/restaurants/coffee shops

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be VERY noisy because of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed with a friend two nights at this hotel, and loved it! It is a great place to stay, easy access to public transport and shopping / dining close by. The room was not very big and could need a freshing up, but it was clean and we had a wonderful view to the courtyard where traditional french breakfast was served in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We chose this Hotel after reading the mostly positive reviews on Tripadvisor and the nicely made homepage. Upon arrival the personnel was not very friendly and the room was not at all cleaned (with hairs everywhere in the toilet and the bathroom). But the worst was the noisy room, although it was supposedly one of the quietest rooms (towards the inner courtyard). We could listen to every conversation at the reception and the piping was so noisy that whenever someone was showering or going to the toilet, it felt as if we were underneath a waterfall. So for our next trip to Paris, we wil head somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank tornante_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#181 of 1,805 in Paris
1,416 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Kensington
Hotel Kensington
#1,557 of 1,805 in Paris
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#42 of 1,805 in Paris
552 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#381 of 1,805 in Paris
883 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#351 of 1,805 in Paris
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel

Address: 33 rue Malar | 07 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,279 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $295 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Tulipe is truly one of a kind. Nestled in a discreet and quiet neighborhood, at the junction of Paris' most visited and loved districts, this former convent has kept all its wonderful features of the past, like the ancient stone walls, apparent oak beams and quaint inner courtyard.Regular guests form a little community of their own and will be delighted to tell you all about the wonderful times spent in this beautiful friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Tulipe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing