We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Hotel de l'Avre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Avre
Ranked #681 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had excellent service at Hotel de l'Avre. Desk staff were happy to speak either English or French. There is someone at the desk 24 hours, so we didn't have to worry about our late check-in or early check-out. The room was small, but we expected that being in Europe. The decor was current and inviting. Beds were the comfiest ones we had on our Europe trip! It was sometimes a little noisy from scooters driving down the road in the evenings or early mornings, but it was quiet during the nights. Room was clean for our arrival, and well cleaned and restocked each day. The price was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. The only thing I didn't enjoy about this hotel is that the window coverings in the bathroom are sheer, and there are apartment buildings just a few meters across the street with windows facing the hotel windows. A little awkward...

It's a great location for tourists. It's a 1 minute walk to La Motte Picquette Grenelle metro station, where you can start your journey to any tourist area in the city or nearby area. It's about a 20 minute walk to the eiffel tower, but an enjoyable area to stroll through. There are the typical french cafés and bistros around, but also a McDonalds, a Starbucks, and a Pizza Hut within 5 minutes (in case you miss home like I did!) There is also a Monoprix (grocery & liquor store) about 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

Not likely going to Paris again, but if I did, I would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dierdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    211
    41
    9
    8
See reviews for
41
208
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in October 2012 in a garden facing double room.

Our room was very nice for the small price paid. It was of a reasonable size, nicely decorated and on the whole - pretty clean! These rooms are basic, but does have a TV (1 English channel), hair drier and a free safe. It was generally pretty quiet at night and after long days trekking around the sights of Paris, you would be able to sleep anywhere! The garden view wasn't much to look at so given the quietness of the street out the front, any room should be fine in terms of noise.

The staff were always friendly and usually spoke a good level of English; particularly those on the day-time shift. You have to buzz the door to be let in and despite our initial concerns when booking, there was 24hr cover and we never had an issue. Please note that you must leave your room card with reception when going out of the hotel.

The hotel is very well located in Paris, just a short walk from a major metro station, numerous bistros and a couple of bakeries. There is also a McDonalds for a bite to eat after a spot of late night drinking... Although it is not the most grandeur area of Paris, it is also not the most expensive and you certainly have no worries walking around after dark. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the park at the foot of the Eiffel Tower and a further 10 minutes to the actual tower.

A pastry and a drink for breakfast from the nearby bakery will cost you around 3 euros and a main course for dinner between 15-25 euros. Drinks are expensive with a pint of beer costing between 8-10 euros, coca-cola at 5-6 euros which seems steep even for a major city.

If you are looking for a clean, friendly hotel with good links to the entire city, then I would definitely recommend Hotel de l'Avre!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon0781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

An old friend of mine recommended that I stay at this gem of a hotel during my first visit to Paris. Hotel De L'Avre was perfectly tucked away in the cutest Parisian neighborhood.

I was a 15 minute stroll from the Eiffel Tower. A Metro Line was at my front door. It is hands down the most wonderful hidden secret in the neighborhood.

As a single female traveler, I felt very safe in the neighborhood. There were so many cute shops, restaurants, etc once you turned the corner. On Sunday, the most wonderful Parisian outdoor market greeted me with amazing fragrances and wonderful tasting fresh food.

My single room was so perfect. I had beautiful French windows, clean room, comfortable bed, and the best hot shower. After a week of backpacking, this hotel was heaven sent.

The hospitality shown to me made my holiday. Everyone at the hotel was so wonderful! I will definitely return to this wonderful Parisian hotel. For 80 euros a night for the location, it is an absolute steal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cicily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As other reviewers have stated, the location is excellent. Motte-Piquet Metro station with three lines is a two minute walk, restaurants and stores are nearby and the base of the Eiffel Tower is about a 15 minute stroll. As expected, the room was small and basic, and not as charming as the website photos suggest. On the plus side, there was a make-up mirror and a safe, but on the other hand the soap/shampoo came from a dispenser on the wall. Our room faced the street but it was quiet unless we opened the window which we did on some nights. All of the front desk staff was unfailingly polite and helpful. The breakfast for 9.5 euros was reasonable for Paris: croissant, half a baguette, yogurt, fruit compote, orange juice, jam, butter, a cream cheese-like spread and a choice of coffee or tea. When I inquired of the helpful server in the breakfast room whether there was fat-free yogurt, she volunteered to have it provided the next day. The only negative was upon entering our room there was a strong odor of insecticide which never went away until the last day when we noticed the drapes had been changed. The plus however, was we saw no bugs. Bottom line: a good choice for a 2 star Parisian hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillyvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We got just what we expected from this hotel. Great location, friendly and helpfull staff, value for money & lovely decorated and clean rooms. It is walking distance from the Eiffel Tower and just around the corner from the nearest station (which gave access to principal tourist attractions), McDonalds, Starbucks, a supermarket and various other restaurants. We will return to this hotel any day and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is in a great location (5 minutes walk from the Eiffel Tower and right outside the subway station) for the most amazing price. We have been to Paris 4 times and stayed in 4 different hotels and this one is the best value by far (others were more expensive and further out). The rooms are very clean and decorated in a very quaint traditional style. The bathrooms are nice (although the showers are a bit small) and the wifi is free and fast. I think you can't find a better value hotel in Paris!

Room Tip: If you have long arms, maybe paying for a room with a bathtub is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was my second trip to Paris and a return to this hotel.
My wife and I wanted something on the lower end of the scale budget wise because we had splashed elsewhere and because we were planning on not being in the hotel too much and walking everywhere.
The value for money for what you get is superb. Clean rooms , good bathrooms in a quiet stree,t which is close to metro , brasserie (the one nearby on the corner opposite Mcdonalds) has a good value english/french breakfast for 10 euros each which i recommend) and supermarkets and yes even a mcdonalds if thats your thing. In terms of major attractions its extremely close to that tower we all know of which is always a good starting point on your day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Eiffel
Art Hotel Eiffel
#471 of 1,801 in Paris
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
#1,063 of 1,801 in Paris
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel Paris Eiffel
Europe Hotel Paris Eiffel
#585 of 1,801 in Paris
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
#1,150 of 1,801 in Paris
286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paris Vaugirard
Hotel Paris Vaugirard
#790 of 1,801 in Paris
204 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Paris Neuilly
Hotel Paris Neuilly
#2 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Avre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Avre

Property: Hotel de l'Avre
Address: 21 rue de l Avre | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#370 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Avre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de l'Avre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Avre
De l Avre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing