We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Hotel de l'Avre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Avre
Ranked #648 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A cosy hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel is situated close to the Tour Eiffel with the metro just around the corner. In the area there is also a Monoprix open 6 days a week. The hotel is clean, the room we got was very cosy, the staff so nice and very service minded. Very good French breakfast. I would definately like to stay there another time. The only thing that did not work at the time of our stay was the WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    209
    40
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
206
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Absolutely charming little hotel. Darling rooms, well equipped and comfortable. Quiet yet central location. Friendly, helpful staff and delicious breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed there for a week in September. Very nice, clean hotel with a charm. Rooms are small but nicely decorated (2*+ or even 3*). The hotel is located in a quiet street, 2 minutes walk from Motte Piquet Grenelle Metro station (line 10, 8 and 8) and only 15 min walk to the Eiffel tower. There are a lot of nice restaurants and cafes by the metro so no need to take breakfast at the hotel. Highly recommended for a relatively budget (89 euro for dbl with shower) but still very comfortable stay in Paris!

Room Tip: Rooms at the garden side are more quiet and picturesque (probably worth paying an extra price). Do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a friend for 4 nights.
We had a twin room with a bathroom.

The hotel is literally 1 minutes walk from La Motte-Piquet Grenelle metro station (3 lines pass through it)!!
The area is fab and a walk to the Eiffel Tower takes about 5-10 minutes I would always recommend staying in this area of Paris as it's a great price with great connections to rest of city.

The hotel was good, clean and very easy to find - my only problems were that the shower cubicle was a bit of a tight fit to get into (I think double rooms might have baths as well as showers?)
The twin room had a view of the street (as opposed to the double which mainly have view of the hotels pretty courtyard) but I did not mind as I liked watching the goings on of the street.
The street the hotel was on is very quiet as it is just off the main road.

The rooms were nicely decorated with French style and had enough space to easily walk around beds/desk - only real problem with the bedroom area was the lack of safe to lock things in, and also when having a lay in on a couple of occasions the cleaners walked in (even though I had double locked the door and left the key in) which was a bit awkward and surprising - but we had no problem with them, we communicated in my broken French and they left us to it!

Other than that the staff were super helpful and we were able to leave luggage in a locked room after check out.

Any questions please don't hesitate to contact me! :)

Room Tip: Doubles tend to have view out onto courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saz1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed at this lovely place for two nights.

My single room was on the fourth floor facing the rather quiet street. Everything was very clean and both the room and bathroom were big enough for me. The bed was lovely, free WiFi available and the little garden is the perfect place to relax after a long day. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful at all times.

With a direct connection to the Paris Metro system I was able to go wherever I wanted in the blink of an eye. As I was attending a congress at Porte de Versailles Convention Centre I was amazed about the bus no. 80 running straight from the hotel to the congress centre in less than 10 minutes.

Lots of cafés and restaurants are close by and if you want to equip yourself for a picknick in the beautiful Champs de Mars (a leisurely 10-minute walk) you can pick up food on the first floor of the Monoprix branch right around the corner of the hotel.

The bedside lamp and one electrical socket were not working and I kindly asked staff to take care of this but nothing happened. As I was checking out after two nights I did not care too much but I hope that this issue was solved for the next guest.

Verdict: Great little hotel to stay if you want to avoid the large chains and are more into "true Parisian places".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dk_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I don't expect rooms in Paris to be as spacious, so when we checked in at our room, I was not surprised at how small and cramped it is. It is by far, the smallest room we have stayed in Europe. But the good thing about it is that, this hotel has a lift. You feel safe because only guests are allowed inside. The rooms are cleaned everyday. And they clean it real good.

People in the reception are friendly and helpful. They eagerly answer your questions about Paris. It's a good 10 - 15 mins. walk to the Eiffel Tower. The Metro is just 2 mins away. On Sundays, there's the food market near the Metro, Le Motte Picquet Grenelle.

Wifi doesn't work if your room is on the 3rd floor, so you have to go down to the reception to access the internet.

Neighborhood is safe, there are a lot of little shops around, so you can do your shopping from there.

Would I stay here again, perhaps....but I want a bigger room please! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed both in a twin room (for the first night with a friend) and in a single room for subsequent nights when I was exploring Paris alone.

The twin room was clean, and cosy, though a little on the small/ narrow side. No complains about that though, as the hotel makes very good use of the compact space. There is a small desk / chair by the window and a flat panel TV. The bathroom is nicely and naturally lit by the light coming from its tall windows which are fitted with wooden blinds. It is again on the compact side, but spacious and comfortable enough for the hotel to also fit a hairdryer in, as well as a movable shelf for you to put your stuff on.

The single room was nice, basic and mostly clean except that I found a dead fly by the curtains and somebody's leftover tank top in the wardrobe. Hence, the cleaning process was not really thorough. I had good nights of sleep here as the ambience of the room is really cosy for one.

Other than the cosy and clean rooms, the hotel is at a fantastic location: very near the metro (<5mins walk), and has a lift (thank god!). Staff are helpful and speaks good English. There's also a supermarket (Monoprix), McDonald's, a good selection of restaurants (including Chinese food, Sushi / Jap food, Pizza Hut) and cafes, as well as a shopping strip consisting of brands such as H&M, Zara and GAP just on the next street / around the corner. Free wifi is also available for all rooms though the quality of connection varies - sometimes there aren't any network found at all. The staff mentioned that they are working on improving this and hence, the free wifi issue should be resolved in no time.

Overall, I love this hotel for its cosiness, convenience (the lift is a gods end, really!) and its fantastic location. It is very easy to eat, shop, get around from this hotel's location which is so near the metro. I find it very value-for-money and would highly recommend it for the budget conscious traveller whom also values comfort.

The free wifi access was not

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Eiffel
Art Hotel Eiffel
#500 of 1,802 in Paris
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lilas Blanc
Hotel Lilas Blanc
#1,239 of 1,802 in Paris
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
#1,061 of 1,802 in Paris
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
Hotel Delos Vaugirard Paris
#1,149 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel Paris Eiffel
Europe Hotel Paris Eiffel
#539 of 1,802 in Paris
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paris Vaugirard
Hotel Paris Vaugirard
#733 of 1,802 in Paris
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Avre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Avre

Property: Hotel de l'Avre
Address: 21 rue de l Avre | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#370 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Avre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'Avre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Avre
De l Avre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing