We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel de Seine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Seine
Ranked #115 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. It's tucked away in a vibrant neighborhood filled with shops, restaurants and galleries. All this and it's just a short walk to the Seine. Although we could easily have walked to most of our destinations, we used the Batobus system to get around in an effort to save our feet! Le Louvre, Notre Dame, St. Chapelle, the flower markets, etc all close by. As two older female travelers we felt very safe. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a small lift, so no need to haul your luggage upstairs and having A/C was great! Paris was very warm during our visit! The breakfast was good, but delicious pastries and coffee are available at the nearby cafes, if that's all the morning fuel you need. I would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank kathryn031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Kathryn031,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel De Seine.
It seems that you walked a lot during your stay in Paris! So, Batobus seemed a good solution, specially with the high temperature we had in July!
The central location of Saint-Germain des Près makes a trip easier to discover the city. And walking is always nice in Paris. History is at every corner...

We will be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel De Seine for another stay in Paris...

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 556 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

My daughter and I just took our first trip to Paris. We stayed at the Hotel de Seine seven nights. Paris is absolutely wonderful and the Hotel and it's staff made the trip even better. The staff is incredibly helpful and kind. The room was perfect - we stayed on the street side and had no issues with noise. The AC and the Wifi work well. We especially enjoyed breakfast in the dining room and tea in our room at night. The location is perfect for us. Busy with activity, lots of shopping, a mix of restaurants, and plenty of art. When we return to Paris - we will stay at the Hotel de Seine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatheredhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Gatheredhere,

What a pleasure to read such a nice comment about Hotel De Seine, and this is your first contribution on Trip Advisor!
All the staff was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our relationship with our guests is very important for us, it is part of your trip. And a first stay in Paris must be unforgettable... That is why Saint-Germain des Près is a very good location. You can access to many touristic places and nothing seems to far from the hotel. And the lively atmosphere makes the district very safe, even at night.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Hotel De Seine.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Paris in july of 2013 and we decided to stay at Hotel de Seine mostly because of its location: It's in the heart of St Germain des Près, next to restaurants, bars, cafés, and served by two subway stations. You can also walk to the Louvre and to the Seine river banks. The bedroom is of a comfortable size, with a small wardrobe and enough space to eat, open your bags and rest. The bathroom, which is big, seems to have been recently renewed. The hotel is very clean and the service is excellent, with a kind staff. The room was really silent, which I consider extremely important to have a good night of sleep, and the split air conditioner is really great - sometimes we even felt cold and had to set the temperature a little higher. I highly recommend Hotel de Seine if you're going to Paris!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear MelBorges,

We were all pleased to read your comment about Hotel De Seine.
Visiting Paris is Summer is very different. Quiet, peaceful... Choosing Saint-Germain des Près, you could walk to many attractive places, which i a nice way to discover the city, specially under the sun!
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel De Seine.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We would also recommend this hotel for its excellent location. We were able to walk to many of the main sights along the nearby River Seine from here - the Louvre, Notre Dame, Musee d'Orsay and enjoyed looking at the shops and eating in the many street cafes in this very pleasant area. The staff were friendly and helpful and our three-bedded room comfortable and clean. I know it is not the norm on the continent but tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be welcome. .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillybilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Hillybilly50,

We thank you for writing such a useful comment on Trip Advisor.

You gave many information about location and it is important for our future guests. Saint-Germain Des Près is a central location which is perfect for a first visit of Paris.
We inform you that, as it is written in the lift and in the room directory, tray with kettle, coffee and tea is available on request. Next time, do not hesitate to ask reception desk.

We would be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel De Seine.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent three days in Paris last month and were very pleased with the Hotel de Seine. It was in a easily accessible location (close to two metro stations) and an easy walk to Notre Dame. Quite a few cafes and patisseries in the area, so no worries with places to eat. The lift is not for someone that is fearful of tight places (maybe two people and two suitcases....tops), but everything else was excellent. Breakfast was delightful.

Only thing to avoid is the shuttle service to CDG. We had run out of Euro notes and the nearest ATM was out of service, so we talked to the hotel employee at the desk who graciously charged us the shuttle fee onto our room bill. He informed the shuttle driver what he had done and we got in the van and drove the hour to the airport. As the driver was unloading the bags he started yelling at us that we owed him money, regardless what the hotel person had said. My wife luckily had USD on hand and gave him roughly 2x what he was wanting in Euros, just to get him to give us our last bag from the van. Will never, ever use that shuttle service again.

Everything else with the hotel was very good. (I only marked the sleep quality as "average" because of the hard mattresses, but that seems to be the European norm.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomcatxiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Tomcatxiv,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel De Seine.

Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful area, with lots of cafés, restaurants and nice shops! As it is a central location, you can access many touristic places by walk, which is a nice way to visit the city.
We apologize for the problem you had with the shuttle driver. We are used to work with this company and we never heard a story like yours. That is why we sent you a private message in order to know the date and the time you left the hotel (because your trip advisor pseudonym does not allow us to know who you are). We will contact the company. We do not want that to happen again.

We took note of your remark concerning mattresses, and maybe it is the mattress pad that was too hard for you.

All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are sorry to learn that the last souvenir of France you had, was the shuttle one.

We will be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel De Seine in order to build a new souvenir...

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family stayed here in June -- 2 rooms, 4 adults, 10 nights. We truly loved our experience at the Hotel de Seine and we wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful place to anyone who wants a true Paris experience in the heart of the Left Bank's St. Germain de Pres arts district. This is a small, elegant hotel (6 floors, 30 rooms) that excels at personal service. This was demonstrated even before we arrived, as the hotel's manager pre-arranged restaurant reservations and made sure we had car service from the airport to the hotel. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and our rooms were ready. The front desk team was great throughout our stay but we have to single out Audrey and Tristan for their overall excellence, good humor and patience. The staff arranged all of our restaurant reservations, helped us switch SIM cards, provided expert advice about museum passes and shopping, and booked our side trip to Giverny (highly recommended, and make sure that you book Matthew as your driver). This is a gem of a hotel whose staff will go all out to make sure that your experience is memorable. We could rave on, and on!

Room Tip: On each floor, there is one room that is kind of off by itself and faces an interior courtyard. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear John J,

What a pleasure to read such a kind message about Hotel De Seine.

Audrey, Tristan and all the staff were so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Relationship with our guests is very important for us and it helps us creating a good atmosphere in the hotel.
Making reservations, giving advices and smiling is part of our job and a nice part! Your feedback concerning restaurants or tours allow us to propose it to our next guests, or not.

We will be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel De Seine, maybe in Summer to discover a white Paris...

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here in May for our honey moon, The staff were great evening organising Chocolates and Flowers for us as a suprise. We enjoyed the hotel and its great location. Next door is the metro and great cafee for a drink or something to east

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel de Seine, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Patrickselle,

What a pleasure to read your comment about Hotel De Seine!

All the staff was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. And to tell you, we love occasions like honeymoon, so we loved organizing something for you!
And Saint-Germain des Près seems the best area for a romantic stay. Walking along the river, having a drink in a small Parisian street, or dining in a nice restaurant...
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel de Seine, maybe for a wedding anniversary...

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#119 of 1,803 in Paris
1,119 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#101 of 1,803 in Paris
969 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#248 of 1,803 in Paris
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#141 of 1,803 in Paris
524 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#57 of 1,803 in Paris
588 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#211 of 1,803 in Paris
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Seine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Seine

Address: 52 rue de Seine | 52, Rue de Seine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in Paris
#201 Family Hotel in Paris
#207 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $155 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Seine 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Seine is a typical Parisian hotel located in the deep heart of Saint-Germain des Près. Close to the main attractions of Paris, Hotel De Seine is luckily located in the beautiful rue de Seine. Away from noisy places, our hotel offers a quiet, comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Tapestries and woodwork of an old Paris mix with modern facilities: Free WiFi, Business corner with printer, French and international press, shoeshine machine ... Our staff will be pleased to welcome you. Wall fabrics, majestic curtains, marble bathrooms and stylish furniture give the rooms a Parisian charm. Overlooking the street or the courtyard, our rooms are equipped with free WiFi, hospitality tray, flat screen TV, air conditioning, safe, marble bathroom with hair dryer, wardrobe, luggage rack, ... A Parisian breakfast is served in your room or near the fireplace in the breakfast room between 7:30 am and 11:00 am. It includes a hot drink (coffee, tea, chocolate), orange or apple juice, baguette, croissant, pastry, black bread or cereal bread, brioche, fruits, hard eggs, cheese, cereals, yogurt ... Saint-Germain des Pres is the perfect starting point for discovering Paris. The rue de Seine connects Luxembourg Garden to the Seine and the romantic Pont des Arts. On the other side of the river, the Louvre Museum and the right bank. Closest metro stations are Odeon (lines 4 and 10) and Mabillon (line 10). They allow you to reach the main Paris train stations. RER B, at 10 minutes walk from the hotel, will lead you to both airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de Seine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Seine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing