We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend in paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sunny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunny
Ranked #1,406 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend in paris”
Reviewed May 28, 2008

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was in a very good location next to the metro station with a direct link to the airport and the centre of paris was also easily accesible, it only took 10 minutes.
the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was small but nice.
plenty of bars and restaurants near by, would especially recommend academie de bierre.
overall a lovely stay and good value for money.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandYoungcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
7
39
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

I appreciate we were in Paris, and hotels in the centre of big cities can be expensive, however I found Hotel Sunny very shabby and a bit dirty.
I'm quite happy to stay in cheap places as long as they are clean but when we arrived our bathroom was dirty (hairs in the shower, dirt around the sink) and there were water stains under the window.
The whole hotel also seemed to have padded material or plastic wall coverings - not sure if this was for sound proofing or something else?

On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and the reception is open 24hrs so we were able to check in very late.

One more point, is to ask for a non-smoking room if you don't smoke. We didn’t and ended up on the smoking floor - not very pleasant.

  • Liked — friendly 24 hr reception
  • Disliked — dirty bathrrom and stained walls
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Margoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portadown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

We had originally booked another hotel in Paris but they had double booked us 2 days prior to our arrival. But every cloud has a silver lining as the Hotel Sunny was a much better location and right on the RER B from CDG Airport. Cafes and bars nearby - especially reccommend 'Les Canons des Gobelins' where you can watch the world go by....

Staff lovely at Hotel Sunny and although room & bathroom small, the french doors and balcony were lovely. Plus very clean and room serviced every day except sunday...

Would definitely stay again - Luxembourg Gardens only a walk away and Notre Dame 10 mins on metro....

  • Liked — Location, affordability & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I've stayed with my husband 3 nights in hotel Sunny. Unfortunately, we were given a room next to the reception which was quite awful. There would be noise all day long, even at late hours the receptionist would talk loudly on the phone or watch Tv.
The location is not particularly good if you like to walk. Honestly you can find a much better located hotel at the heart of Quartier Latin or in Le Marais for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank simone00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

I stayed three nights at the Hotel Sunny and found it to be a nice hotel in a quiet area just south of the Latin Quarter.I found the staff very friendly, which is not always the case in Paris.It's fairly basic but I had no complaints about the room and for a few euros you can have a continental breakfast in the hotel.
The best thing for me was that it is just a few minutes walk from Les Gobelins metro station.It doesn't take long from there to get into central Paris. My tip would be to walk round the corner into Rue Mouffetard which is lined with great food shops and cafes. Walk along it until you reach the Latin Quarter proper.Another walk will take you to Paris Mosque where you can sip mint tea in the courtyard cafe.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank southsidejohn`
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We booked at The Hotel Sunny in Paris' lower 5th and were delighted with the neighborhood, the staff and the tiny but clean and comfortable room. We had requested a balcony on the street via email and we were given a room on the 5th floor with a small terrace with a view of the quiet street below through the chestnut trees. The staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful despite our atrocious and very limited French (they spoke better, if not fluent, English). We were pleasantly surprised by the elevator!
We were within a few short blocks of the Marche, a movie theatre, plenty of cafes and traiteurs (delis), a laundromat, Pharmacie and (sorry, but we really needed large cups of coffee by Day 3) a Starbucks.The brasserie next door was only so-so, but two blocks down is the wonderful La Languedoc. Check out the Chinese traiteur at the Marche Mouffetard - terrific food.
The Metro at Les Gobelins is nearby and it was a lovely walk through the Jardin des Plantes to the Seine and livelier parts of the Quartier Latin.
The hotel is a great deal for the price (72Eur). The breakfast is not worth 6 Euros - you can do much better at the bakeries a block away - but certain days a hot pot of coffee before leaving the room was worth it. Internet access avail in the basement if you buy a card at the front desk, but beware the French keyboard.
Despite the tiny, albeit clean, bathroom, we will go back to the Hotel Sunny unless we decide on an apartment next time so we can cook from the market.

  • Liked — Wonderful location and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Really small bathroom, but hey - it's Paris!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodBizScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Eh. Eh. Eh. We got there on a Monday for a 3 night stay...we were gone by Tuesday...found a much better hotel across town for about the same price. You can do better.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knick914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Hotel Gay-Lussac
#1,421 of 1,798 in Paris
117 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel Aladin
Hotel Aladin
#1,556 of 1,798 in Paris
136 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,214 of 1,798 in Paris
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Williams Opera
Hotel Williams Opera
#1,475 of 1,798 in Paris
175 reviews
Hotel des Mines
#1,015 of 1,798 in Paris
424 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel Ambre
Hotel Ambre
#1,400 of 1,798 in Paris
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunny

Property: Hotel Sunny
Address: 48 boulevard de Port Royal, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,406 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunny 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel in Paris with 36 comfortable rooms, located a stone's throw away from the Val de Grace and Cochin hospitals. The hotel Sunny Paris is in the Latin Quarter, close to the Pantheon and the Rue Mouffetard. We offer quality accommodation in our hotel close to Montparnasse railway station and the Luxembourg Gardens. Our hotel Sunny Paris is also ideally located for the Gobelins district. Room adapted for use by people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Mouffetard Hotel
Sunny Mouffetard Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing