We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Ranked #1,202 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel is small and the rooms are smaller but well appointed and comfortable. The staff was not terribly helpful but polite. We had a "The location between Notre Dame and the Bastille is perfect for touring the tourist sites of Paris. A traffics controller's strike caused us to be a day late and they insisted on charging me for the missed day. This was within their rights legally but left a bad taste in my mouth

Room Tip: Ask for a "balcony" as the windows open
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallastraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our room didn't have a view to speak of unfortunately, but otherwise we were very satisfied. The room itself was quite small, but efficiently set up, with lots of closet space, a small desk and chair for my laptop (and free wifi in the room, which you don't find everywhere), and a very spacious and updated bathroom. No problems getting hot water for our showers in the morning. The young man at reception was extremely helpful and even called a restaurant for us to make a reservation and tried to help me check in for our flights, so we could print it out on his printer. The location was perfect for the Marais District with all its restaurants and shopping, and we walked everywhere, including to the nearby Notre Dame Cathedral. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank currie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just came back from a 2-night stay in a triple room in the Annex building of this hotel. It surpassed all of our expectations. The room was pretty spacious by Paris hotel standards and the bathroom, which was down a flight of steps, was gorgeous and huge. All three of us enjoyed showering in the large stall with both a rain shower head and a hand-held shower.

The room was spotlessly clean and had a comfortable bed, safe, minibar, and a coffee set-up. Very well-supplied for a fair price. We also enjoyed staying in a different part of the Marais and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just returned from five days in Paris and the hotel was a great base for exploring the city. The hotel is in the Marais but only two blocks from the river and a 10 minute walk to Ile St. Louis. It is only 15 rooms but the staff was very attentive and kind. Sylvain is the Director and most helpful regarding any questions about the area. The room wasn't large but it was comfortable, and the bathroom was well lit and rather large (by Parisian small hotel standards). The room was very clean and well-maintained, the complimentary WiFi had a strong signal and adequate bandwith. We would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Perfect location in a quiet street with the river and hectic boulevards within short distance. Nice but fairly small room with plenty of place to store away clothes and other articles. Everything clean and delicate, large bathroom.
Friendly staff, and warm, friendly atmosphere. In short: a hotel we hope to come back to on a later occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunvor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I would never stay here again:

(1) My wife was ill and needed an extra pillow to prop herself up (sinus issues) and after being told by the night staff that the extra pillows were 'locked in the basement' and couldn't be accessed until morning, the gentleman working the desk in the morning told us that we were not permitted any extra pillows, no matter our situation, as they simply didn't have any.

(2) The showers were constantly freezing in the morning, no matter how long we tried to warm them up.

(3) The walls are paper thin. We were often woken up by loud sounds from the room above, housekeeping early in the morning, or the fuses constantly being clicked back and forth, since the fusebox for the entire building was right outside our room!

You can do better, folks. Easily.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Easy to get to by public transport. Great location. Almost round the corner from the extremely busy Rue de Rivoli yet it seemed a world apart it was so quiet. The room itself was very well maintained and comfortable with a large bathroom and shower.
Le Temps des Cerises is across the street from it. It's a very popular cafe and restaurant. One morning we bought pastries from the baker's opposite, sat in the cafe ordered a coffee and that was our breakfast. A lovely taste of French life.
From the hotel we were able to walk to the Place des Vosges, with its architecture and art galleries, and enjoyed an early evening meal in the bustle of Cafe Hugo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StorkGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Castex Hotel
Castex Hotel
#655 of 1,803 in Paris
671 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#66 of 1,803 in Paris
219 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#684 of 1,803 in Paris
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#403 of 1,803 in Paris
635 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#429 of 1,803 in Paris
398 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#317 of 1,803 in Paris
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Louis Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Louis Marais

Address: 1 rue Charles V, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,202 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $167 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint-Louis Marais 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the historic Marais district, in close proximity to the Place des Vosges, the Ile Saint-Louis and the Village Saint-Paul, the hotel Saint-Louis Marais combines the quaint, old-world charm of an ancient dwelling with all the comforts and conveniences of a modern hotel. The style of the decoration and the warmth of the design, with its wooden beams and tiled floors, create an atmosphere of peace, quiet and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Saint-Louis Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Marais Hotel
Saint Louis Marais Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing