We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but that's about all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Ranked #1,217 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Rancho Santa fe
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, but that's about all”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel came recommended by a friend of a friend. Our inital reception was by a glum gentleman. An unpleasant first impression. Our room was tiny and minimalistic to say the least, ditto the bathroom. We were not expecting palatial accomodations but it was not even particularly clean and needed paint, etc. We were on the second floor facing the street. We had asked for a quiet room, our only request. The racket from the street all night long was very disturbing. We had thought that being a narrow little street it would be quiet, but instead the street noise reverberated off the buildings. The lady receptionist for the rest of our stay was very pleasant, and the location was wonderful. We could walk to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    104
    31
    25
    20
See reviews for
37
109
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a pretty nice small hotel. Our room was lovely and the location in the Marais is nice. The only drawback to this hotel is that there are NO ELEVATORS. Our room was on the top floor. I understand it's an old building and there's probably no way to fix this. After the initial dragging of the luggage up 4 flights of stairs, I was able to live with it. But, this is something that someone considering the hotel needs to know. Some people have accessability issues and this hotel just wouldn't work for them.

All that being said, we did like the hotel. The room was quite large, there was a lot of storage, and the bathroom was big and airy. I would recommend it to someone who is fit and doesn't mind stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I came to Paris with my companion and we had the unfortunate idea to book a room at the Hotel Saint Louis Marais. The hotel is fully disgusting, smells of mould and old sewage, the walls both inside and out could do with a good hand of painting as they were indeed dirty, striken and with mold stains. Our room was tiny and for the price of 115 euros without breakfast I felt robbed. I tried to move to a larger room at 145 euros but was told the hotel was full (it was holy week). In the tiny closet next to the safe (they had a safe!!) there was a hole in the wall so that you could appreciate the plumbing. I asked for 2 more pillows but was told they had none since the hotel was fully booked and all pillows were being used!! I developped some sort of Allergy in the first morning (bug bites??). The location is good and if they had it cleaned and painted I probably would not bother to complain. Until further notice my comment is to stay away from the hotel Saint Louis Marais.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisboavirtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the the Saint Louis Marais for a week. We've definitely been in nicer hotels, but for the price (the equivalent of just under $200/night), and the fantastic location, it was hard to beat. The room was a squeeze, but it's Paris, whaddya expect--if you're spending time in your room other than to sleep, you shouldn't be in Paris. We had everything we needed, and they've a nice little breakfast area in the basement.

The street is nice and quiet, so you can sleep with the windows open without being disturbed, even though you're less than two blocks from 3 main boulevards, and a 5 minute walk from multiple subway lines. It's an easy 10 minute walk to much of the Marais neighborhood, as well as Isle Saint-Louis.

Great for tourists, or if your bumming around town and you're looking for a central location to explore Paris without breaking the bank, the Hotel Saint Louis Marais is a good pick. This is not a good choice for a business traveler (not enough room or service).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

This hotel is located within walking distance of major attractions. Though some people might feel that some of these destinations are too far to walk.
I thought that the hotel offered free Wi-Fi in the rooms. I was mistaken, to get free Wi-Fi you had to go into the basement and connect to their internet cable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

When my friend and I arrived at the hotel, we were taken to a room around the corner that was not part of the hotel. The room smelled of mold and we were astounded to see that the bathroom was downstairs in the basement, down a dark, narrow winding staircase. The bathroom was big, but was not clean - lots of black mold around and in the tub/shower area. The bedspreads were stained which added to the generally bad impression. We requested another room and were treated with indifference. We cut our stay short as soon as we could and found another more suitable hotel. If you do stay here, be sure to insist that you get a room right in the hotel itself and not one of the rooms off site around the corner. Maybe the actual hotel is better, but I think that if a hotel has a certain standard it should apply to all rooms and not just some, so I would not chance it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We panicked when our first choice hotel couldn't accommodate out travel dates so the search was on to find an alternate hotel close to Rue Castex where all our friends were staying. It appeared that every "reasonably priced" hotel room in Paris was booked so when Hotel Saint Louis Marais confirmed our request we were just relieved that we wouldn't have to search an alternate area.
Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the excellent location to main shopping, metro station, open bus tours, restaurants, a cool little bar in the neighborhood not to mention the outstanding bakery ten steps away. A huge plus is that the hotel is located on a little side street, stay away from the hotels on the main streets, you just won't sleep with the constant police sirens, crowds and don't forget the bars, cafes stay open well past 1am.
The room was very spacious on the ground floor, lots of storage space, huge king with an additional twin in the room. It appears we might have snagged the triple room because I was on crutches. The bathroom was separated from the sleeping quarter similar to a suite and beautifully upgraded with tiled walls- very large for french bathrooms.
We met our friends for breakfast at the Bastille circle so never experienced the hotel's offerings but there is a cute little dungeon-like room in the lower level, complete with access to a computer. Beware the keyboard is very foreign and you'll spend hours trying to figure out how to type. Just bring your ipad, wifi is available for a minimal cost.
If you're looking for something in the Bastille area, check out this hotel, very reasonably priced and centrally located in one of the most "happening" areas of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Castex Hotel
Castex Hotel
#572 of 1,801 in Paris
666 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#374 of 1,801 in Paris
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#501 of 1,801 in Paris
384 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#687 of 1,801 in Paris
379 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#683 of 1,801 in Paris
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Louis Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Louis Marais

Property: Hotel Saint-Louis Marais
Address: 1 rue Charles V, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,217 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint-Louis Marais 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the historic Marais district, in close proximity to the Place des Vosges, the Ile Saint-Louis and the Village Saint-Paul, the hotel Saint-Louis Marais combines the quaint, old-world charm of an ancient dwelling with all the comforts and conveniences of a modern hotel. The style of the decoration and the warmth of the design, with its wooden beams and tiled floors, create an atmosphere of peace, quiet and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint-Louis Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Marais Hotel
Saint Louis Marais Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing