We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris in June”
Review of Hotel Le Regent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Regent
Ranked #755 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff at Hotel Le Regent were wonderful and so helpful. Made are stay very easy and enjoyable!
Rooms small, someone over 5'8" may have to use the toilet sidesaddle, very clean and the breakfast was a nice way to start the morning. Glad we had the courtyard facing room, Paris music festival was on one of the nights we were there, and the streets were rocking, but I know from previous trips that street facing rooms maybe larger, but the streets can be noisy at night. So much fun, so glad we were able to experience it, and had a quiet room to escape to.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, the location is perfect, staff excellent and great places to eat and shop nearby.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms do not have street noise. But if you are tall, rooms could be a little cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Lori,
In few words, you said everything that travelers must know about the hotel and we thank you very much for that.
We look forward to your next visit, then, may be during the music day. In fact, in France, the 21st of June, the summer day, you have the music day, people are singing and playing music everywhere all night. It is a very funny day...
Kind regards.
Vinciane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 330 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Though our room was very small, my husband and I enjoyed our stay at Le Regent very much. The staff was friendly and helpful and for first timers to Paris this was very much appreciated. The location was perfect, a very atmospheric neighborhood, easy walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame, Sainte Chapelle, the Louvre. There are many charming cafes nearby. We would be happy to return to this hotel, next time however, we would book a larger room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Madam,
We thank you very much for your recent visit and for writing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you will return and stay with us again, in a larger room (ask for a Deluxe or a Superior one).
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards.
Vinciane and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. The pro is the location on the left bank and close access to the major attractions and metro. The hotel rates and the level of service, room style, amenities do not correlate with the price per night. There are no coffee making facilities, the TV did not work in room 14, the room was dull and musky. The room is in need of renovation. The service at the front desk was poor. I previously stayed at another hotel close by which was much lower in rate, but with fantastic service, ambiance and great location. Unfortunately, it was not available on the dates, I wanted. If i return to Paris, I will most definitely not stay at Le Regent, there are better value hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Madam,
We remember when you checked-in at the hotel. The first night, you made a “no-show”. When you finally arrived, you were very rude with the receptionist. When you went in the room, you came down and asked for a “coffee maker”. We do not have some in our hotel, but we propose to bring you coffee or tea in your room with our room service, but you don’t want ! The TV did not work ? The other guests do not complain about that and you must ask us to fix it. And finally and just for your information, room 14 is a new renovated room.
We thing that may be you choose the wrong hotel. Next time when you choose a hotel, make sure it has “coffee makers”, that it accept “no-show”, and that you can speak badly to the staff.
Best regards.
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was such a shame that the hotel messed up the reservation that I made for 3 rooms I only made one booking asking for three rooms for 1 person in each room. If they got the initial booking it had to be for 3 rooms and not 1 as they kept telling me. Even my confirmation said three rooms for three people.

When we arrived at midnight they told us we had only booked 1 room. This was not correct we had booked 3 rooms and I had twice emailed to confirm that all three guests would be checking in at midnight and to confirm that this was acceptable so they knew from my two emails sent after the booking was made that there should have been three rooms.

I believe they overbooked the hotel. They managed to find one other room so two of us had to share.

The upsetting part was that the hotel tried to blame us for the error when it was clearly their own error. They also tried to send me an email the day before (probably when they realised their error) to tell me that they couldn't accommodate all of us at the hotel. BUT they spelt the email address incorrectly so we didnt get that email. The lady behind reception just kept repeating that she had sent me an email, but I told her it was the wrong email address she sent it to so she didnt actually sent ME an email. They email stated that they couldnt accommodate us all and that they had found another hotel for some of us to stay in, therefore splitting us up. BUT they didnt inform their own reception staff of this fact, had they know they could have told us that some of us would be going to another hotel but they sat behind reception looking bewildered that they didnt have enough room and didnt know what to do.
Eventually they found the one room we had reserved, by miracle found another room and two of us had to share.

So that is why my comment is "hotel nice", but they really need to train their staff better and just accept when they have made a mistake and not blame the customer who was actually right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jinnes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Madam,
The fundamental principle of Trip Advisor is to freely express your opinions and share your experience with other travelers and that is what you did. We thank you for taking the time to write your comment.
You are of course right and I am very sorry that my staff made a mistake and do not apologize.
We are glad that on balance you liked rooms, cleanest and area.
Please rest assured that all your comment have been noted and will help us to improve our service.
Kind regards.
Vinciane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Paris and have to say this hotel was wonderful. The rooms although tired are very clean. The staff were wonderful and helped us whit whatever was needed. The hotel is very central to everything and if not close to metro station which is a great way of getting places. Would certainly recommend .

Room Tip: We were on second floor overlooking street no problem with noise all appeared to be double glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peaky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
It is always very plaisant for us to read positive comments about our hotel and to read that you had a nice time in Paris for your first trip.
Hope to welcomming you again at Le Régent for another "wonderful experience".
Kind regards,
Vinciane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Hotel Le Regent in May 2013 and enjoyed our stay immensely. You can't beat the location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small as is expected, however it was clean and comfortable. I had stayed here previously many years ago and enjoyed it again. I will come back! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thanks
Chuck

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Chuck,
Thank you very much for positive review and for your 2nd visit in Le Regent !
We are pleased that you like the area,the welcome and service of the hotel and rooms even if "Standard" are small.
Indeed, rooms are small in the area of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, but we have bigger rooms in "Deluxe" and "Superior" categories.
We look forward to meeting you again in the future,
Kind regards.
Vinciane and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel. It was our first time in Paris, but not in Europe so the smaller standard room seemed fine to us. We found the staff to be helpful and kind and were accommodated to check in early, which was a blessing for these tired travelers. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed and we very much appreciated the large towel warmers which doubled as a great place to dry hand washing. The only problem was the design of the shower which had a tendency to let the water go under the glass and all over the floor. The location, as everyone notes, is great and for newbies it was a delight to be in the heart of it all. We wanted to stay again on our return to Paris later in our vacation, but the hotel was booked (drat that French Open). We stayed in a 4 star in the same area and agreed that Hotel Le Regent was much better overall. When we return to Paris this will be our go to hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not comfortable with small quarters then splurge on a room other than a standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentParis6, Directeur général at Hotel Le Regent, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Catherine,
First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Paris and also for taking time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased that you like Le Regent..
We would be glad to welcome you again.
Sincerely your's
Vinciane and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#188 of 1,803 in Paris
1,204 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#195 of 1,803 in Paris
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#303 of 1,803 in Paris
184 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
#648 of 1,803 in Paris
376 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#249 of 1,803 in Paris
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Regent

Address: 61 rue Dauphine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#301 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $152 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from the famous cafe Les Deux Magots, the Regent is an18th Century building turned charming hotel. Its 25 rooms arean ideal mix of comfort and elegance. No two are alike but allare decorated with wall hangings, painted beams, old stones,marble or hand-painted Italian faience bathrooms and exquisitemirrors. Two rooms boast a terrace, the others, a view ofNotre-Dame or the Parisian rooftops. With breakfast served inthe vaulted-ceilinged cellar, newcomers and regulars alike willfall for the familiar and cozy atmosphere of the Regent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing