We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel La Perle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perle
Ranked #244 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you want the perfect location in Paris....this is it. I have stayed here many times
and always feel like I'm returning home. The rooms have been recently renovated
(which is a plus!) but what makes this hotel so special is the staff. Anya, Teddy and
Lydia are an amazing staff. So helpful and kind, there is nothing they won't do for
you. You will want to return again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are quieter. Standard rooms are quite small. Definitely worth paying for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FancyNancy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 786 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

I spent a week in Paris last August during their busy tourist season. It was my second visit to Paris but this time I had my mum with me, so I had to make sure whatever hotel I booked met her high standards. Hotel La Perle is not particularly flashy, but the location is really ideal. It was easy to catch a bus, train, taxi or even walk to get around.

It has lots of trendy bars and boutiques nearby and is within walking distance of all of Paris' major attractions. Right in its back yard is the amazing, gorgeous Saint Sulpice and equally gorgeous Palais Luxembourg. There was also a YSL, a department store (Monoprix - love it!), Saint Germain catherdral, and loads of trendy shops (think Armani Exchange, Swaroski etc). All a block or two away. We only took the train once to get to Versailles after an exhausting day of lunching, shopping and sight seeing. If we had more time we would have explored the metro more. There was a station about a block from the hotel.

The staff for the most part was pleasant, and special mention must be made of Teddy at the front desk. He always had a ready smile, pleasant disposition and helpful advice.

I would def. stay at La Perle again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean and well situated hotel near the heart of the action!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makmck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel La Perle for a week, last Spring. The 6th arr. was the area I wanted to be in. Saint Germain is where all the action is,with many outdoor cafes, designer boutiques, and a short walk to the Seine. Wow, what a romantic area! La Perle was clean, affordable, and had a descent size room for Paris. Go for the larger rooms with a bathtub, in the back ,opening to a court yard, on the top floor.

Room Tip: Larger room with a bathtub, a top floor, in the back, facing their court yard for a much quieter st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya_and_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I met in Paris 25 years ago; eventually we married in the south of France on December 12, 1992; then moved to Arizona, USA. This made 12-12-2012 our 20th Wedding Anniversary; naturally we wanted to spend it in Paris. As we wished to be near Saint Germain des Pres, I found Hotel La Perle on Trip Advisor.com and made a reservation for 3 nights. Knowing that the rue des Cannettes is in the middle of a lively night-life area, we requested a "superior" room on the courtyard, available as a Bed&Breakfast special (unusual for Paris!) online thru this web site. Although smaller than USA hotel rooms, our room was beautifully decorated with a 100% contemporary en suite bathroom. The ancient wood ceiling beams were authentic and the double-glazed window kept in the heat with a view over the courtyard and the surrounding buildings of Paris' historic Left Bank.

On arrival, straight from our USA flight, we were delighted to find that our room (#51 - top floor) was already available (rare for Paris) so we did not have to store our luggage until the normal 3:00PM check-in. Lydia, definitely the friendliest reception hostess we've ever met in 20 years of traveling the world, guided us to the elevator & room. After a rest, she gave us a Paris map: the metro & busses have changed a lot in recent years! and explained about breakfast in the hotel's charming indoor/outdoor courtyard the next morning. For "night people" - La Perle's breakfast is served up until 10:30AM - amazing for a Paris hotel. They had green tea & croissants & cheese & yoghurt & ham, all served with a smile in a large glass-covered room with a working fire-place; a perfect way to greet the gray Paris December mornings!!

What else to say about this "pearl" of a hotel find in the heart of Paris' charming Left Bank? It's close to many metro & bus lines; the historic St. Sulpice church & square are a stone's throw; there is free WIFI; the hot water flows freely and each room has its own heat/AC controls. All of the staff we met were courteous and helpful; they allowed us to invite a Parisian friend for breakfast one morning (we paid for that meal, of course); they called us a taxi when needed and when I forgot and left a handkerchief in the room at our departure (I'm NOT a morning person!), on request they posted it to our next address in France.

My wife (born in Champagne) says this is the best Paris hotel we've ever found and we are already making plans not to allow another 20 years to go by before we return to our beautiful City of Lights, using centrally-located, comfortable Hotel La Perle as our home-base. I do recommend that USA travelers book the larger, quieter "superior" rooms on the Courtyard side, especially in summer months when the street life down below can be quite late at night.

Room Tip: Book the Superior Rooms (slightly larger - 51 or 52 were nice) or at least one on the Courtyard as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arizona-Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to London.
Many good points for the hotel but the first is Lydia, the lovely lady on reception. Her bright, friendly, helpful nature cannot help but put you in the right mood for a Paris experience - she was outstanding....every hotel should have a Lydia.
Also of course the position in the city is unbeatable - St Germain itself is a great arrondissement but from there it is so easy to get to any part of Paris(if you want to leave this part!). A few great streets of restaurants and bars within 100 metres.(one in particular called Evi Evane - Greek style food of all things in Paris but so much better than in Greece - exceptional, reasonable and a nice young friendly English speaking owner. Chez Fernand also very good and of course, Les Deux Magots is just around the corner.
Great spot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a nice stay here at the la Perla.....rooms are small but its Paris so we didn't plan on staying in the room too much...great location, close to everything on the left bank.......nice quiet street as well...just off saint germain.
We would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Price of hotel was expensive considering the size and quality of the rooms. We stayed here for 4 nights while in Paris and again 1 night before our return back to the US. During second stay our room was even smaller than the first stay; could not even open the bathroom door all the way (it hit on the side of bed). Staff were very helpful and rooms were clean. Location was great due to it was an easy walk to almost all major sites,; great location if you are interested in shopping and restaurants. Many shops and restaurants on same street or joining streets. Lots of action and very noisy during evening especially since we stayed during Eurpean soccer championship. Because of hotels great location, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connor1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#194 of 1,803 in Paris
471 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#129 of 1,803 in Paris
535 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#116 of 1,803 in Paris
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#105 of 1,803 in Paris
955 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Atlantis Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#84 of 1,803 in Paris
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perle

Address: 14 rue des Canettes | 6e Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Paris
#102 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#241 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $152 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perle 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perle Hotel
La Perle Paris
Hotel La Perle Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing