We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel tucked away in the Latin quarter”
Review of Hotel La Perle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Perle
Ranked #236 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here as a birthday treat for my partner Sue whom loves Paris.We decided to stay on the other side of Paris this time as last time near the Arc. We were advised this part of the Latin quarter has lots of places to eat and was very nice,also near different sites.On arrival the Hotel is tucked away in a quiet street.We had booked an executive suite,on arrival to our room at the front of the Hotel the room didn't live up to expectations.It wasn't anything like the pictures seen online.After bringing this to the attention of the receptionist we were offer alternative accommodation in a refurbished room.This room was much nicer,just a shame we were palmed off with an old style room to begin with. The rooms lack the tea and coffee making facilities we British come to expect. They have a good TV which seems to have a fault of coming on in the middle of the night with a blank screen.Never mind the hotel is very nice with a lovely breakfast room/conservatory at the rear. The breakfast times were good & the breakfast & service was good.The receptionist could do with a bit of training on how to make your guests feel welcome on arrival. Saying that at times she did smile and could be helpful when it suited.Overall the hotel was in a nice position and the refurbished rooms very nice. They also have a small bar but we were out most of the time and failed to use it.

Room Tip: This Hotel is slowly refurbishing its rooms to a far higher standard than before. Rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 790 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Hotel LaPerle is in the 6th arrondissment and it is accessible to many restaurents,public transportation and tourist sights. The rooms are airconditoned and have good bathrooms which are bright and have good washing facilities. The room we chose was fairly large and had a good sized, bed, a desk and adequate lighting. It was quiet since it faced an inner couryard.
The only problem was that, aside from a closet, there was no dresser or any drawers to put your clothes. We had to improvise and just piled things in one area and used one valise for storage.

The breakfast was adequate and served ham and cheese as well as rolls and yogurt. The breakfast room was in a lovely setting. The staff was pleasant and helpful and spoke good English.

Compared to other hotels in Paris the value was fairly good primarily because of the excellent location and not the general facility. We have learned from our extensive visits to Paris that it is an expensive city and we have to judge the accomodations accordingly. We have learned that the hotels, in general, do not provide the level of amenities in their rooms compared to other cities. Storage always appears to be a problem that you encounter when you arrive for a longer stay and have two big suitcases.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard. A larger room if youu want some room to walk around the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 4 days in Paris last September. The hotel is perfectly located in the 6th district near Saint Germain. It's a ten minute walk to the Seine and a 10 minute walk to Luxembourg Gardens. There are a number of very good eateries on the same street as the hotel.

The staff was great. The rooms were clean and properly appointed. I would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaphox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is the ideal hotel for a week in Paris. Brilliantly located on the left bank with a great variety of restaurants and cafes nearby, shopping a plenty, and so much of what makes Paris famous within walking distance. We had an executive room in the attic and it was spacious, quiet and well appointed - a great space to return to after walking in the city. Good breakfast in a light and airy breakfast room/courtyard. Helpful staff. We will stay here again when next in Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Recently my wife and I, and my parents, stayed in two rooms on the 3rd floor at the Hotel La Perle. We spent 3 nights at the hotel and had the following thoughts:

Location: Was located in the St. Germain area and there were plenty of great looking places to eat and many shops. There was also a great little place to get crêpes and gelato, just around the corner from the hotel for those of you with a sweet tooth like me. The hotel was located about a 10-15 minute stroll from the Notre Dame area so it was fairly convenient. There was also a metro stop not far from the hotel at all. While it was a bit far from the Eiffel tower and the Arc (about a 35-40 min walk or a 10-15 euro cab ride to the tower), it had its share of attractions close by. In a city of this size, you cant expect any hotel to be close to every attraction.

Hotel: The hotel itself seem in very nice condition in our opinion, and was clean and well kept. Upon check-in, we were greeted by friendly staff, and were shown to our rooms. After reading reviews we had requested a room facing the inner courtyard. This was great advice as our room was always very quiet and we did not have to deal with any noise from the street.
The room was small, but very nice. The safe worked fine, there was good water pressure in the shower, and we all agreed that the beds were amazingly comfortable (best of our European trip)! This is important after an 11 hour flight, or after a long day on your feet seeing the sights of Paris.

Staff: The staff was very helpful and offered directions, dinner recommendations, and arranged cabs in a quick and friendly manner. At one point during our stay our electrical outlets in the room ceased working... not sure if it was something we plugged in, or for a different reason, but I reported it to the front desk on our way out site seeing in the morning. By the time we had returned that from our days adventures, the problem had been fixed and we were able to charge our phones (be sure to take your adapters and converters depending on what you plan on plugging in).

Conclusion: We selected this hotel based on its location and because of the reviews and we were not disappointed at all. If you are looking for a place within a short walking distance of Notre Dame, or are looking for a lively area with good food and shopping options, this is the place for you. The hotel was clean, comfortable, with friendly staff at a reasonable price for the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: request an inside room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmkennedy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Located in the heart of the Left Bank amongst very trendy and upscale shops and great local eateries, La Perle is a small boutique whose rooms are charming. Since we were traveling with our son, we needed a triple and this hotel, situated in our preferred venue of the Left Bank, had accommodations for 3 per room. Although a bit on the small side for 3 persons, our room was charming, having recently been redecorated. All new bathrooms were an added bonus. Our window faced the courtyard where some guests chose to take their breakfast. The staff was very friendly and exceedingly helpful (special thanks to Teddy who was especially helpful before our trip during the booking stage and promptly and patiently responded to each of our emails). We loved the narrow one-block street on which the hotel resides and found easy access to several different metro lines a 7 minute walk in either direction. Luxembourg
Gardens, a treasure, was equally close. Although we visited in August, prime vacation closure time for many shops and restaurants, we found no shortage of very respectable eateries within a few steps of the hotel. We would definitely consider another stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: ask to face the courtyard. no coffee machines in room so bring your own instant (i.e. via) if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler46466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I usually stay on the Right Bank, but as I was travelling with a friend, she had booked us rooms at Hotel La Perle. The location was perfect as it is a few minutes walk from shops and lovely restaurants and the historic and beautiful Church of St Sulplice is just at the end of the street. The staff were knowledgeable and charming and nothing was too much trouble for them. My room was immaculate and quiet and had plenty of closet space and each day, no matter what time I left the hotel, the room had been beautifully cleaned when I returned. When we needed a taxi booked, it was done with a smile and the taxi arrived on time the next morning. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would have no hesitation about recommending it to any traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SushiOrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#112 of 1,804 in Paris
560 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#214 of 1,804 in Paris
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#143 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Atlantis Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perle

Address: 14 rue des Canettes | 6e Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Paris
#102 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#240 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $152 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perle 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perle Hotel
La Perle Paris
Hotel La Perle Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing