We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jules Cesar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jules Cesar
Ranked #1,182 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
218 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2006

This hotel is a budget 2 star hotel with basic amenities (AC, heating, TV, ensuite bathroom, telephone) not much of décor. The rooms including the bathroom & toilet were small but adequate in size and clean. The bathroom door did not lock but we did not have a problem. The bedsheets and towels were clean and regularly replaced. The room was cleaned every day and the hotel staff were very helpful. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so we can’t say anything about that (Cost €6). There was a TV in the room with remote – 7 channels of which only one was English (CNN) rest French, but I guess you don’t travel to Paris to watch TV so it doesn’t bother much.
Beware about the lift, its small, really small.
The neighborhood was safe and quiet with lot of shops, ATMs , grocery stores & eateries (French, Italian, Indian, and Chinese) near by. Though the hotel provides Wifi we did not use it, charges extra, but there is an internet café in the neighborhood (10 cents / min ; €5 /hr). There were 3 metro stations nearby (Bastille, Gare de Lyon and Quai de la Rapee).
For the price (€60-70) I think the hotel is quite satisfactory.

  • Liked — Cheap, cleanliness, adequate facilities
  • Disliked — small lift, poor decor, simply white walls would have been better
  • Tips/Secrets — Always check the reviews on this website, it was the most helpful thing in planning our trip. Alos don't forget the forum.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    100
    54
    13
    3
See reviews for
20
74
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2006

Nice hotel for a reasonable price, good location, friendly staff. I would stay there again if I ever get back to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Gurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2005

This was my first time in Paris. Before I came, some of my friends warn me about the 2 star hotels in the city, claiming they are dirty, noisy and with unfriendly staff. When I got to Jules Cesar hotel I could prove them wrong.

The Hotel has great personnel, and they were always willing to help, and give good advices about where to eat, where to hang out and more.
We booked the hotel for only three nights, just to be safe, but after the second night we've decided to stay all our 9 nights there

The hotel is located between Place de Bastille and Gare de Lion so you will have 2 big metro stations (5-7 min walking).

Our room had a street view, but since it also had a double window, we could enjoy the view without the noise. The room wasn't big but it was clean and had a private WC/Shower, phone, TV and a satisfying bed. Sometimes we heard noises of people walking in the corridor, but it was reasonable.

I know I'll go back to Jules Cesar hotel next time I'm in Paris (hopefully next year).

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Erez O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2005

It was a time ago , me and my girlfriend looking for shelter when we found this nice hotel near Gare d Lyon. Years after, still remember walking down the streets to find some relax in its rooms , and the very well manered personnel.
It may look (and be) a little dated, but everyone knows what to expect for a cheap budget hotel. So, I think you may like it if you are looking for a nice place to stay , but not to live , Uh?

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2005

I booked a holiday with eight girlfriends and we stayed at this hotel! It was a perfect location for us as we walked to the train station daily. The price was very good for Paris and while the rooms were small...we were not there for very long. If we go back...we will stay here again!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2004

Easily accesable trhough the Net, Jules Cesar appeared to be just one of these typical Parisien Hotels where you would have felt at ease with a low budget and no previous hotel experience. We took it because of the nice but probably not 100% representative pictures and let's be honest the modest price. The rooms were extremely noisy and allowed us to to overhear a couple of neighbours. Not all lamps were working, unpractical when you arrive at midnight and Jules C. can certainly use some Holliday Inn standard cleaning drills. However the location is good and when you are just there to sleep plug you ears, close you eyes and doze away.

TIP: park your car at the parking of Opera la Bastille they have quite good tariffs.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2004

A very small, clean hotel near Gare de Lyon rail station (5 min walk) and other paris sites. The hotel is very basic and dated, it is in need of some revamping. However the service is good, the staff are helpful and the price is good 62-72 euros per room. It is located in Arr 12 walking distance (5min) from the Bastille, (5min from Gare de Lyon major rail staion) (30 min to Louve) Making it easy to get around paris. warning when traveling with kids and pram - I travelled with 2 kids ages 3 and 6 months, had to walk as I needed the pram and Paris has lots of steps to access metros stops and the pram did not fit through the ticket boxes without taking off the wheels. But we did manage with a little help from friends.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,372 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#980 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Alexandrie
Hotel Alexandrie
#1,056 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,109 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,134 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de France - Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jules Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules Cesar

Property: Hotel Jules Cesar
Address: 52 avenue Ledru Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,182 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jules Cesar 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jules Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jules Cesar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing