We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel was perfect for our needs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jules Cesar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jules Cesar
Ranked #1,165 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel was perfect for our needs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

It was hard to find places to drop any points for Jules Cesar. I suppose the rooms could be bigger, have more provisions, and sparkle more but that's about it.
The hotel is great value, everything seemed really clean and the staff were lovely. It's got a 24/7 desk where you leave your keys and it feels safe.
It's a very good location, close to Place de la Bastille (with the Bastille eateries, pubs and metro connections) and within a couple minutes walk of Gare de Lyon (also great for the metro). If you are into the touristy things the Bastille station is on the same line as the Louvre, Concorde, Champs-Elysees, Centre Pompidou etc.... Around the hotel the food was mixed depending on what you are after, expensive French/American to affordable local but it's a short journey to anywhere else.
The staff recommended two restaurants, we visited l'encrier which was fantastic local food at a really good price for paris.
The hotel cost around 105 EUR a night, which is slightly more expensive than others have said but our room (number 7) was charming, light and better than many innercity rooms. Still great value, will return when next in paris.
It is worth noting that we are students, and the hotel is 3*, so it's not the most luxurious thing in the world but it's very clean and perfect as a base for exploring paris.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    101
    54
    13
    3
See reviews for
20
75
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in MAy 2013. It was our first time in Paris and found this hotel quite central. Gare de lyon train station 5-8 min walk from hotel. The Air France bus from the airport stops right outside Gare de' Lyon. Costs 8 Euro per person. Also this metro is on the yellow line which is convenient as all the tourist attraction stops is on the yellow line eg louvre, arc de truimp etc. The bus stop for the hop on hop off bus is also vertically opposite the Gare de 'Lyon station.

Room aircondition, Clean Room and bathroom- was cleaned everyday and replaced with set of clean towels daily. Room and bathroom good average size. No safe in room but your can hand in your passports to the receptionist who will keep it locked for you. No coffee or tea facilities in room but you can have tea or coffee in the lounge area which is available 24hrs for 1 Euro.

Breakfast 10 Euro per person. We did'nt eat at hotel as many bakeries around. Big Carrefour supermarket 2 min walk from hotel (as you exit hotel cross the road and walk to the traffic lights and turn right its on your left)- anything you need you can buy here including pastries,croissants,spreads,sandwiches etc.

Gared De' Austerlitz about 10-15 min walk from hotel- we used this train station for our day trip to Versailles.

MAny eating places around the area.If you are looking for a halaal eating place there is three in the vicinity-10 min walk from hotel.

We found the staff very helpful in helping our find our way around Paris as well as confirming our pick up service on our departure. For 90 Euro for a twin room i will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiley061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Satisfactory! No frills hotel for a great rate! Perfect for those travelers looking for a clean, safe, reasonable and convenient place to sleep.Stayed here 4 nights paid 75 Euros/night for a double. Rooms are small but typical for Paris, bed was a little hard for us but comfortable enough

Conveniently located in the Bastille/Lyon neighborhood. A 5 minute walk from Garde du Lyon train station and 5-10 minute walks to the metros depending on which of the 5 immediately surrounding suit your route best.

Staff was helpful, friendly, and always easy to get a hold of.
Also, if you are there on a Sunday, be sure to check out the HUGE farmers market right down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzyjeff49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

first thing to say is that the hotel is really well located for the Gare d'Lyon and only around 250 meters from the station main entrance and set around 150 meters north of the R. Seine. The neighborhood is good with a great selection of supermarkets, restaurants and bars.

Arranged over 6 floors the rooms are fine and can't fault them as they only claim to be 2 star. Simply furnished but very clean. Non French speakers may struggle with the french only TV channels.

For a European capital - city center hotel - the pricing equates to great value for money. I paid just 90 euros for a twin bed room - so if staying with a friend it would have broken out to a really great price.

Next time I'm passing through Paris will definitely stay again.

Staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: 503 - top floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon france
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was looking for a hotel close to the Gare de Lyon because I had a train very early in the morning. The Jules Cesar hotel was the perfect opportunity: it is very close to the station, approximately 5 minutes' walk and it is a great hotel: very welcoming and helpful staff, very clean rooms with a little balcony, flat screnn tv,free internet connection. For Paris the rooms are spacious; I would say that the only problem was a strange sewage odour in the bathroom which could be disturbing sometimes and the fact that the hotel is not that close to many of Paris's attractions like la tour Eiffel or le louvre even though there is the underground of course. It is a sort of business area close to the stations ( gare de Lyon, gare de Bercy, gare d'austerltz)
Last remark: it is a bit costly BUT you can get an important discount if you pay in advance on the internet website ( sometimes up to 50 percent off)

Room Tip: the rooms at the front overlook a big avenue but there are triple glazing so noice is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pashcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay here. Close to the Bastille metro, walking distance from Notre Dame and St. Germaine, great find. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, at all hours of the night, with great advice and a pleasant vibe. The rooms were always cleaned thoroughly and we would easily stay here again in the future..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've stayed in a number of Paris hotels over the years so don't have overly high expectations. This place was a fine: only a 5 minute walk to Gard de Lyon, the room was small but very clean, and both the day and night staff were helpful and smiling.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, and even with a view of the street, noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,371 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#963 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Alexandrie
Hotel Alexandrie
#1,047 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,104 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,135 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jules Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules Cesar

Property: Hotel Jules Cesar
Address: 52 avenue Ledru Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,165 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jules Cesar 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jules Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jules Cesar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing