We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in the 12th Arrondisement”
Review of Hotel Jules Cesar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jules Cesar
Ranked #1,195 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in MAy 2013. It was our first time in Paris and found this hotel quite central. Gare de lyon train station 5-8 min walk from hotel. The Air France bus from the airport stops right outside Gare de' Lyon. Costs 8 Euro per person. Also this metro is on the yellow line which is convenient as all the tourist attraction stops is on the yellow line eg louvre, arc de truimp etc. The bus stop for the hop on hop off bus is also vertically opposite the Gare de 'Lyon station.

Room aircondition, Clean Room and bathroom- was cleaned everyday and replaced with set of clean towels daily. Room and bathroom good average size. No safe in room but your can hand in your passports to the receptionist who will keep it locked for you. No coffee or tea facilities in room but you can have tea or coffee in the lounge area which is available 24hrs for 1 Euro.

Breakfast 10 Euro per person. We did'nt eat at hotel as many bakeries around. Big Carrefour supermarket 2 min walk from hotel (as you exit hotel cross the road and walk to the traffic lights and turn right its on your left)- anything you need you can buy here including pastries,croissants,spreads,sandwiches etc.

Gared De' Austerlitz about 10-15 min walk from hotel- we used this train station for our day trip to Versailles.

MAny eating places around the area.If you are looking for a halaal eating place there is three in the vicinity-10 min walk from hotel.

We found the staff very helpful in helping our find our way around Paris as well as confirming our pick up service on our departure. For 90 Euro for a twin room i will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smiley061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jules Cesar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Satisfactory! No frills hotel for a great rate! Perfect for those travelers looking for a clean, safe, reasonable and convenient place to sleep.Stayed here 4 nights paid 75 Euros/night for a double. Rooms are small but typical for Paris, bed was a little hard for us but comfortable enough

Conveniently located in the Bastille/Lyon neighborhood. A 5 minute walk from Garde du Lyon train station and 5-10 minute walks to the metros depending on which of the 5 immediately surrounding suit your route best.

Staff was helpful, friendly, and always easy to get a hold of.
Also, if you are there on a Sunday, be sure to check out the HUGE farmers market right down the street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzyjeff49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

first thing to say is that the hotel is really well located for the Gare d'Lyon and only around 250 meters from the station main entrance and set around 150 meters north of the R. Seine. The neighborhood is good with a great selection of supermarkets, restaurants and bars.

Arranged over 6 floors the rooms are fine and can't fault them as they only claim to be 2 star. Simply furnished but very clean. Non French speakers may struggle with the french only TV channels.

For a European capital - city center hotel - the pricing equates to great value for money. I paid just 90 euros for a twin bed room - so if staying with a friend it would have broken out to a really great price.

Next time I'm passing through Paris will definitely stay again.

Staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: 503 - top floor facing the street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was looking for a hotel close to the Gare de Lyon because I had a train very early in the morning. The Jules Cesar hotel was the perfect opportunity: it is very close to the station, approximately 5 minutes' walk and it is a great hotel: very welcoming and helpful staff, very clean rooms with a little balcony, flat screnn tv,free internet connection. For Paris the rooms are spacious; I would say that the only problem was a strange sewage odour in the bathroom which could be disturbing sometimes and the fact that the hotel is not that close to many of Paris's attractions like la tour Eiffel or le louvre even though there is the underground of course. It is a sort of business area close to the stations ( gare de Lyon, gare de Bercy, gare d'austerltz)
Last remark: it is a bit costly BUT you can get an important discount if you pay in advance on the internet website ( sometimes up to 50 percent off)

Room Tip: the rooms at the front overlook a big avenue but there are triple glazing so noice is not a problem...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pashcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay here. Close to the Bastille metro, walking distance from Notre Dame and St. Germaine, great find. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, at all hours of the night, with great advice and a pleasant vibe. The rooms were always cleaned thoroughly and we would easily stay here again in the future..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've stayed in a number of Paris hotels over the years so don't have overly high expectations. This place was a fine: only a 5 minute walk to Gard de Lyon, the room was small but very clean, and both the day and night staff were helpful and smiling.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, and even with a view of the street, noise was not an issue.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

for people who are travelling on a budget trip and doesnt want to splurge much on the hotel in Paris,..this is an ideal place to stay.Its 5 mins walk from the Gare de lyon stn and a 10 mins walk from the seine river.Its in an area called Bastille which is quite lively.lot of nice bakeries n other eateries around.getting around Paris is very easy from here.We travelled to Switzerland from here n had to take the Euro rail which also we boarded from gare de lyon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anindita_Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#957 of 1,804 in Paris
225 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,341 of 1,804 in Paris
229 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Alexandrie
Hotel Alexandrie
#953 of 1,804 in Paris
246 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,079 of 1,804 in Paris
90 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,126 of 1,804 in Paris
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jules Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules Cesar

Address: 52 avenue Ledru Rollin | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,195 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jules Cesar 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Jules Cesar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jules Cesar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing