We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Ranked #454 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous find”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Great location on a quiet street, close to Luxembourg Gardens and the Metro. If you're taking the train from CDG airport into the city this hotel is an easy walk from the Luxembourg stop. The beds were very comfortable beds, the room was clean and offered good storage space, the staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast buffet offered a great variety of hot and cold foods. This is a gem!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMdsgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    265
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
89
197
84
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This will be a strange one: reading the good reviews from fellow visitors to Paris here on Tripadvisor led me to want to stay in this hotel. My girlfriend booked me online as I think most of us do these days. Anyway events in Iceland changed everything. We watched day by day and wondered hour by hour just what was happening in the skies with airports not open till 7am; then not open until 5pm; then 9 pm then 7 am the next morning and so on. I first emailed this hotel and told them I was worried I would not make it to Paris. My second email confirmed that I couldn't make it having missed out on chances of getting a ferry to London and the Eurostar to Paris (I live in County Kildare here in Ireland). But my third email included my new flight dates and times and asked them to put me up for another night-so now I would stay four nights instead of the original three. I got no reply to any of these emails until I was told that -and I quote- "Despite the circumstances the first night will not be refundable." I was angered by this and wrote to tell them that this was unfair given the extraordinary events that happened in grounding all flights in Northern Europe. Their general manager then sent me an email saying it was beyond his power to refund anyone, this was hotel policy and so on.

I wasn't looking for a refund-I was seeking to move my booking and add on another night's business for him and this hotel.
I worked for 15 years in hotels in Dublin-including three 5 Star Hotels in Dublin (Jurys Hotel, Ballsbridge; The Berkeley Cort Hotel; and The Shelbourne Hotel)-and know that this is simply not true. I told him that I had acted in good faith and that clinging to "policy" during these extraordinary times was morally questionable, showed a real poverty of spirit and a true lack of integrity.

Bernard Clarke

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
11 Thank BernardClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Grand Hotel des Balcons is such a great hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here, and I will book here again in the future. The ambiance was wonderful, and I really felt at home. The little balconies are so nice to go out on and look at the quiet street below. The view was very good, and the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovetotravel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, US
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Clean, comfortable and perfect location.

We would definitely come back here. I'm a bit late posting this review as I've just now joined Trip Advisor a year later, but this site was very helpful in assisting me to find this hotel, so I wanted to add my review.

If you want luxury, this isn't the spot, but its still a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastTravelers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsk Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This was our 9th year to visit Paris , so we had some idea what to expect from our Hotel
Every year we choose a different hotelbased mainly on our observations whilst there but also from Trip advisor reviews.
Yes the room was small , they always are , but this hotel excelled in cleanliness , friendleness, and despite the previous review about "Breakfeast" we found it to be by far the best we have experienced in 9 years.
My wife is a Coeliac and unfortunately had not brought her own bread , but nothing was too much trouble for the staff , who arranged ( I think with the owner) to have Buck wheat Crackers " available on our second day.
We do not need the 4* facilities of bars and restaurants , or lounge areas , but we do look for an hotel where we feel welcome and appreciated and Grand Hotel des Balcons
delivers all of this without compromise.
So next year we will break with tradition and return here again.
John & Gillian Clark Ireland

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medic63TulskIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

My husband and I just visited Paris for a long weekend for our 15th wedding anniversary, and found ourselves on a budget due to the dire exchange rate of the pound to the euro. We saved 10% by choosing an advance booking deal on the hotel website, though this is not refundable if you cancel. OK, our room and bathroom were tiny, and if one of us was walking around the other had to sit still so we didn't keep bashing into each other, but the bed was very comfortable and the whole place absolutely spotless. You can hear creaking floorboards, etc, but luckily there are no bars in this street with the noisy late night crowds that causes. I thought for about £100 a night it could not be beaten in this excellent location. Ironically the only disappointment was the reason I chose it in the first place over several others - we went down for the buffet breakfast a full 40 minutes before it ended and there was mayhem. The few free spaces were occupied by dirty trays. The supply of food was running low and we had to stand around helplessly for at least 10 minutes unable to serve ourselves because there were no plates, and we asked twice. The buffet area is very cramped if more than about 2 people are up there. The coffee machine was very slow and it wasn't up to much when it did arrive in the cup. Having breakfast here was a stressful let down, we skipped it the second day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Great location, though that's relative, of course, depending on what you want. But it's quite central in Paris, which was nice. The balconies were definitely charming, though pretty much every window in Paris seems to have a similar, small balcony. The negative things other reviewers talk about (small elevator, no shower curtain) are pretty typical for France, so it's hard to say they're a negative for this hotel in particular. The staff, though not overly nice, was helpful when we needed them to be, and everyone we encountered spoke English without a problem. Our room wasn't as small as expected, after having read other reviews before we went. When we checked in, the man said he'd given us a free upgrade, and I thought he was kidding, but maybe not. It was a nice size (for a European hotel, at least).
Overall, I'd say it's absolutely a great value and worth the stay. Definitely no frills, but still nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizzyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#728 of 1,802 in Paris
295 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#154 of 1,802 in Paris
430 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Delavigne
Hotel Delavigne
#878 of 1,802 in Paris
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#339 of 1,802 in Paris
561 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
688 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#646 of 1,802 in Paris
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Balcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Balcons

Property: Grand Hotel des Balcons
Address: 3 rue Casimir Delavigne | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#298 Family Hotel in Paris
#314 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#357 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel des Balcons 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Saint Germain district near the Odéon theatre, the Grand Hotel des Balcons is a family hotel. The decor in the lobby, panelling, stained glass windows and mirrors create a friendly atmosphere and give the hotel its special character recalling the Art Nouveau period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel des Balcons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing